Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
10
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 December 2001
Although this album is fantastic with great remixes on the 2nd CD, its should be called the singles & remixes, certainly not the best of.. Buy this and you won't be dissapointed, buy any other of his albums (Gadget/Tovey) with the exception of easy listening (which is hard work to say the least)you won't be dissapointed.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2006
Frank Tovey, leader of Fad Gadget, died tragically in 2002 of a heart attack.

The first band to be signed by Mute Records, they missed out on the fame that most of the electronic bands earned in the early 80's. Depeche Mode can thank Frank Tovey for the fame they ultimately gained. Ricky's hand, the most commercial of singles from Fad Gadget, can be heard in a lot of Depeche Modes early sound.

If you like your music synth industrial sounding, like later Mode and Nitzer Ebb, then this is perfect for you to be introduced to one of the best bands of the last 25 years.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 March 2005
I first heard of Fad Gadget when I went to Depeche Mode a few years back, they were the starting act for the gig and utterly blew me away. I find it hard to try and explain their music but I suppose it's best to describe as dark synthesiser music although some of it is border line dance. If you are a fan of 80's music you'll probably like this but I'd also suggest that if you like a harder adge to your music than this may also be for you. Either way, if you're into synthesiser music in any form than this album is cracking as well as being individual.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2010
i saw fad in liverpool in 82 and couldnt believe it!he was years ahead of his time.unfortunetly hes no longer with us which is a real shame.just before his death he supported depeche mode and was on the cusp of becoming huge.this is a great compilation.though some who may find this a tad weird maybe better starting with under the flag album.includes all the greats.my favourites being rickys hand and fireside favourites.a pure genius cut down in his prime.r.i.p frank.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2010
One of the best compilation albums for any 80's band ever. But then again Frank Tovey (aka Fad Gadget) was one of the best 80's artists ever.

This album brings the best of his groundbeaking music together in one place. Not only a must for Fad Gadget and Frank Tovey fans, but also a must for anyone who listens to alternative and 80's music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
I love this CD..as one of the 1980's crowd this CD takes me back to my youth it was a good price excellent condition and arrived in good time thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2011
I was introduced to this album by a colleague and I keep coming back to it time and time again. Dark, disturbing, pulsating, melodic. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2002
FOR ANYONE INTERESTED IN ELECTRONIC MUSIC THIS IS A MUST HAVE CD
THE WORK OF FAD GADGET ESCAPED MASS MEDIA ATTENTION WHICH FAD GADGET SHOULD HAVE BEEN REWARDED WITH ,AND SINCE THIS RELEASE SADLY FAD GADGET AKA FRANK TOVEY HAS PASSED AWAY SUDDENLY
HE WAS DUE TO WRITE NEW {WHAT I BELIEVE WOULD AGAIN BE GROUND BREAKING MATERIAL} FOLLOWING HIS SUCCESFUL SUPPORT? ON THE DEPECHE MODE EXCITER TOUR
BUT HE HAS LEFT US WITH THIS COMPELLING WORK OF ART
FROM THE DARK BACK TO NATURE THROUGH TO THE ELECRO BEAT OF RICKYS HAND AND VERY UPTEMPO LOVE PARASITE{ SO AHEAD OF IT'S TIME}COLLAPSING NEW PEOPLE YET ANOTHER GEM AMONGST OTHERS
THE ONLY WAY TO APPRECIATE THE GENIUS OF THIS ARTIST IS TO BUY AND LISTEN FOR YOURSELF
WHAT MORE CAN I SAY...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£7.82

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)