Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
76
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2017
Good staff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
5.1 good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
une belle remasterisation du " STAND UP " et du concert de 69 : le TULL a ses debuts , quelle reussite ; un must !!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
Well I have had this album since the original pink i label (This I still have), then 8 track cartridge, next a cassette. then a dodgy 80/90's CD. Then at last 2001 a remastered CD (These I no longer have). Next up was that 2001 version from Japan with a mini replica sleeve. 2010 the deluxe 2 CD & DVD(These two I still have). I thought that would be the last version, then what happens Mr Wilson got hold of it, remixed it added the Stockholm show another “Bouree” & a DVD & very impressive book of 112 pages the biggest in the Tull upgrades. This is the best sounding version with drums & vocals centered up a bit, so now things are sounding fantastic on headphones. So I put the new Disc with the pink i label in the Japanese replica sleeve & took the Carnegie Hall DVD from the 2010 deluxe set as this is the only complete version, I hate the edited cd & put it into the space I created in the Elevated Edition. So is this the last version I get of this wonderful album....? Well ....Er ...... no I just got the vinyl LP too, so it seems that I have gone full circle.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 May 2001
Stand Up was literally the point in musical history when Ian Anderson stood up as Jethro Tull's leader after the departure of rival Mick Abrahams. Every song is written by Anderson and the stand out playing is by him - flute, mandolin, balalaika, harmonica and acoustic guitar. The album, recorded around 1969, contains classic Tull tracks still featured in the set - Nothing Is Easy, Bouree, New Day Yesterday and the variety of arrangement and playing show Anderson's amazing virtuosity. There are some rough edges and a slight lack of homogeneity(?) because of this but there's no denying the power and passion. Barre's brilliant lead guitar work and the wonderfully tonal bass playing of Cornick are well to the fore. Not to mention the trademark breathless gasping and moaning on his flute. Tull here still showing blues influences but mainly it is heavy (progressive) rock and lighter acoustic ballads. A must have for Tull fans.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2008
The replacement of Mick Abrahams with Martin Barre enabled Tull to play a much wider range of music, and they didn't waste any time in doing so. The only blues track is the opener 'A new day yesterday', a nice link with "This was". Lighter acoustic numbers 'Jeffrey goes to Leicester square' and 'Fat man' mix with the harder rock of 'Nothing is easy' and 'For a thousand mothers'. 'Reasons for waiting' is the first example of orchestral backing in the Tull catalogue, while the instrumental 'Bouree' is the only track not written by IA, though the jazzed up version here is not exactly what mr Bach had in mind, some nice flutework and excellent bass have made this a favourite number (both studio and live). 'Back to the family' is a softer rock number, while 'Look into the sun' and 'We used to know' are both mid tempo numbers employing a mix of acoustic and electric guitarwork, the latter building up to include some fine wah-wah, and is my personal favourite Tull number.
Soon to celebrate its 40th birthday, but it still sounds fresh, no need for the philosan.

The addition of 'Living in the past' and 'Sweet dreams', plus their respective b-sides as bonus tracks, cover just about everything from that period of their development.

A well balanced album that was responsible for Tull's rise to fame, and for anyone who hasn't heard them before, this is the best place to start.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2010
The sound and style that Jethro Tull created for this album (flute/guitar/vocals) is a great leap from their more bluesy debut of the previous year and Ian Anderson really got into his stride as a songwriter. I like every track on 'Stand Up' and the four bonus tracks (including their hit 'Living in the Past') are very welcome additions. Jethro Tull are one of the most 'whistle-able' ever!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2017
great set, could of done with a proper case for one of the disc's ( its just slipped in between 2 bits of paper )
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
As Described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2001
This is a stand out album from Tull as they were finding thier own path and leaving the more bluesy material behind.I originally bought this after hearing Living in the past/Driving song (thier first single that got big) being played all the time on jukeboxes in amusment arcades throughout the summer of 1969. I bought the album in the autumn of '69 when it was released and it was never off the record player. A bonus was the original cover which had a pop up Tull when it was opened up. All the tunes written by Ian Anderson, Bouree a standout instrumental which showcases his flute skills. Look into the sun a nice relaxing acoustic song, Nothiing is easy has a nice walking bass line, and We used to know which uses the same chord structure as the Eagles, Hotel California.All in all a great album nice to hear it again without the dust in the grooves. Well worth buying
11 Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)