Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 6 October 2017
This is a brilliant album a must for any record collection. It is a pity the Witches Promise did not make it on to this particular edition. However this is one of JT's strongest albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2013
There is no doubt in my mind that 1970's 'Benefit' album is one of Jethro Tull's finest with the opening quartet of 'With You There To Help Me', 'Nothing To Say', 'Alive And Well And Living In...' and 'Son' standing out as Tull classics in my mind. Yes, there were possibly more famous and more sophisticated Tull albums to follow but for sheer power alone this takes some beating. Buy this and turn the volume up loud!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2017
fantastic vinyl excellent service from amazon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2005
After hearing a few Jethro Tull tracks (and obviously loving them from the start!) I decided to purchase an album and chose Benefit purely on the simplicity of the cover. I'm so glad this was my first proper introduction to Tull - I LOVE THIS ALBUM! Every song is simply amazing and beautifully well written. I especially like 'Play In Time' , 'With You There To Help Me' and the suitably placed last track 'Teacher'. 'To Cry You A Song' always makes me think of the wonder that is mushrooms! Having purchased Songs from the Wood, Stormwatch, and Minstrel in the Gallery since (all bloody great albums!), Benefit still remains my firm favourite and is a must have for all Jethro Tull fans.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2014
Tull progressed well without any whistles or bells or announcements of a new dawn.

Benefit was a solid offering of quality songs, moving into a more folkier groove with none of the blues roots of This Was. Arguably the material isn't quite as strong as on Stand Up but there are a number of interesting technological innovations such as backward loops and some typical Tull offerings like To Cry You a Song which gave definite hints of the kind of material to follow on Aqualong.

Again this was a collection of songs rather than the overblown prog that was to come in the form of Thick as a Brick and A Passion Play. The band was evolving quickly, but this was no mark time effort.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2012
Ian Anderson was able to stretch his versatile creativity on "Benefit" and the production quality improved dramatically. He has an uproarious time on flute and acoustic guitar. Martin Barre is dynamic on lead guitar churning out one brilliant riff after another. Clive Bunker on percussion along with Glenn Cornick on bass provide the driving rhythm. This is perhaps the finest album with this line up. The guest musician John Evans provides a wonderful piano accompaniment. Anderson is excellent on flute and his vocals are full of theatricality and vigour.

Many of the tracks became part of Tull folklore and appeared frequently on concert set lists. Highlights include 'With You There to Help Me' with the flute and baritone vocals along with Barre's wizardry on guitar. 'To Cry You a Song' became a Tull classic over the years with its powerful guitar and strong melodies, it drips with folk nuances and blues guitar. The heavy guitar work of Barre is a key element and he really gives it a work out on this master work. 'Teacher' is a beautiful song with frenetic flute playing and soulful vocals. Once again the track became a favourite and can be found on most compilations.

"Benefit" is definitely the beginning of greatness for Tull when the magic came together and it paved the way for the classic masterpieces to come.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2013
I bought the vinyl LP of this when it came out in 1970 and loved it. I was a huge Jethro Tull fan at the time and Ian Anderson to me was this wild, force of nature. However, I got rid of a lot of my Tull and other LP's in the mid 80's by which time I had lost interest in the band (frailty thy name is rock fan). Just recently I started wanting to hear to this album again and after downloading and listening to it again I can honestly say that this is my favourite JT album and I have listened to most of them over the years. The songs on 'Benefit' seem to be on a more personal level, lyrically, than Ian Anderson's later work and they still sound fresh to my ears. I had almost forgotten what a formidable talent Ian Anderson was. This is a great album.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2007
This, the third Tull album, followed This Was and Stand Up. In its time, Benefit as well-received and it sold well, although Stand Up did perhaps have a little more popular acclaim. Stand Up had been an album of rather more gentle melody but Benefit was a little harder-edged: an album with rather more electric guitar. Although not fundamentally a blues album as had been This Was, one can still hear that the band is really not that far removed from the blues, especially on the track 'to cry you song,' which is Tull at their best, and not in the least dated.

I always remember a contemporary 'top 100 of all time' list which contained a review of Stand Up and Benefit in which these albums were described as containing 'tight, riffy songs, full of melody and ripe with wit.' This is still the best description of Tull that I have ever heard, and one which I still retain in my memory. Without doubt, this was the fresh, golden age of the band. Benefit, for me, is still their pinnacle, and along with Stand Up, Living in th Past, Aqualung, Songs from the Wood and Heavy Horses, contains their best work. I regret tht I am not keen on the mediocre albums from the mid seventies ('Brick' Warchild, Minstrel and Passion Play), nor on the very heavy and muddy style found on Stormwatch and Broadsword. I do quite like the lighter and more clean melody of Under Wraps, but the rest of the eighties stuff leaves me cold. If you are starting to listen to Tull, go for Benefit, Stand Up and Living in the Past. These I have never tired of, not even after 35 years.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 May 2001
When I first discovered Tull's Benefit in 1974 I thought it must be some obscure live bootleg but over the years it has given me more satisfaction than most of Tull's other albums. The songs are uniformly well written, arranged and played - the production is much tighter than Stand Up and with John Evan making his first major contribution this was arguably Tull's strongest ever line-up. Anderson's flute takes a bit of a back seat for most of the ride - more subtle and melodic, with only a few sporadic wild breathless outbursts and it is very much a multi-layered guitar album. Anderson's acoustic guitar work is superb - listen to Sossity and Michael Collins and his singing was maturing into that distinctively melodious voice which is such a feature of Jethro's best work. Cornick and Bunker were a fantastic rhythm section, tidy, inventive but solid. Barre's solos are controlled and excellent but there are lots of little flourishes and tasty accompaniment which is just as important. Stand out songs, apart from those mentioned are With You There to Help Me, Alive & Well & Living In (replaced by Teacher on the US release) and Inside, although they are all good. Benefit is a class album, ranking along with Stand Up and Thick As A Brick as my Tull favourites. Essential really.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 18 February 2007
After the bluesy first two albums (which are fun but no better than the competition) comes this extraordinarily beautiful jazz/blues/rock music - Benefit.

This is the album which defined the Jethro Tull sound - flutes, guitars, piano and the wonderful bass and drums... Quite unique, especially with Mr. Anderson's tremendous voice.

Afterwards came Aqualung (almost as good - but a bit "preachy"), and then the wild worlds of "Thick as a Brick" and "Passion Play" - all truly wonderful, but not as ground breaking as this "Benefit".

All the tracks fit together so well (it reminds me of the perfection of the Who's "Who's Next") - it is a concept album in terms of sound, feel, style rather than any specific concept.

No outstanding track - they are all perfect. Oh, for those halcyon days of the early 70's - live them again here...
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)