Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
29
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
27
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2002
Definately the best season of any TV show in existence. And you want to talk conspiracy theory. There are a load of two parters to bring the idea of extra-terrestrial life right home. "The Blessing Way" and "Paper Clip" are absolutely brilliant as they conclude the three parter that was started with Season 2's finale "Anasazi". Skinner gets more involved in this season and we see other conspiracy episodes such as "Nisei", "731", "Piper Maru", "Apocrypha" and "Talitha Cumi". But also it has several brilliant stand alone episodes such as "Jose Chung's From Outer Space", "Quagmire", "War of the Coprophages" and "Clyde Bruckman's Final Repose" (which has a brilliant performance by the actor who plays Clyde Bruckman). This season is one for people who have seen Seasons 1 and 2 but you really don't have to have as everything is pretty much explained to you (if you know at least about Scully's abduction in season 2). Buy this box set and you won't be able to wait for Season 4!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2003
The X-Files really found its footing with the onset of its second season & saw an almost doubling in viewing figures between the end of season 1 and the start of seaosn 2.
Despite now being 8 years old these episodes are as impressive now as they were watching them on tv, first time round. Every episode is clever, slick, imagenative and slightly creepy (or very creepy in the cases of: 'Die Hand Die Verletz' and 'The Calusari').
Highlights from season 2 include:
Duane Barry (for which Chris Carter was emmy nominated for outstanding writing)
One Breath (which sees Scully's return after her abduction)
Red Museum,
Fresh Bones,
Humbug (in my opinion 1 of the few comedic episodes that actually works),
F. Emasculata (gross but brilliant),
Our Town (it'll put you off chicken for sure),
& the best season finalé of the entire 9 seasons - Anasazi.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2001
This DVD box set is an excellent way to enjoy Season 2 of the X-Files in the correct episode order and with many extras such as deleted scenes. To me, this is the series when the format really began to work. The characters of Mulder and Scully were fully developed and the supporting cast were firmly in place.
It does take nearly 19 hours to watch all 25 episodes on these 7 discs in one sitting and so I guess it will only be true X-philes who will have the staying power to watch in this way. I recommend watching one or two episodes at once and take time to view the special features and play the DVD-ROM game on disc 7.
I look forward to the release of season 3 which is equally as good in the near future.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2003
The second season of the X-files marks the perfect combination of the continued mythology episodes and the individual investigations, by consistently delivering original, intriguing and exciting plot twists. Building on the success of the first season, Chris Carter and his team were able to begin to expand and explore Mulder and Scully's relationship, but it is in the variety of the subject matter of each episode and the film-like production quality on display which really impresses in this season.
The first highlight is that of the two part episode - 'Duane Barry' and 'Ascension' which use the traditional UFO abduction formula but throws Scully into the action (the start of major plot advancements in later seasons).
Gillian Anderson's pregnancy in real life resulted in her presence being restricted in some episodes but this does not detract from the overall flow of the season.
Another stand out is that of 'Humbug' involving a circus mutant which uses scare tactics and humour for one of the first times in the X-Files, indicating a new direction for later seasons where irony and sarcasm are played upon to less success.
The DVD format of course provides instant access to each episode but it is the picture quality which is particularly impressive. Although the sound is only in stereo this does not detract from the tense atmosphere created by the stunning and eerie locales. When I bought this package I knew it was expensive but it is a long term investment to savour and enjoy and well worth the expense.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2003
Never was there a show better developed than the X-files and when it came to season three it was a major hit.
And the fact that FOX started to give X-Files more money is definatly noticeable when compared to prior seasons these sets and this quality mixed with still original writing of original ideas probably made this one of the best things out there in the magical world of tv.
The better sets and quality reflects on the speciality of the episodes and obviously made it easier for the actors to get into their roles.
Duchovny and Anderson get into their roles much better than the prior seasons.
It's better than the earlier ones simply visual.
And better than the latter because most the writing and ideas were a lot more original.
The myth apisodes are in one word grand and not boring even though the later ones would definatily become just that.
Questions are raised but not forgotten. A definate must for every lover of good t.v.
The package is beautifuland even though the price would seem high to some people the 1080 minutes of spedtacluar tv are definatly worth it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2001
Best thing I've ever bought! One of my fav seasons of The X-Files, as I think after the movie it goes downhill a bit. But to a non-xf fan it's better if you see all the eps in order - rather than seeing s2 first... so buy season 1 box set as well!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2012
Well , the first ever x files episode I saw was season 1 fire on weird night , which was one of the best nights I have had .I then saw some remaining episodes on tv of season 1 . I then fell in love with it when I got an x files vhs on the pilot episode and then season 2 came on tv , and that was it .Fantastic writing , acting , imagination and I love the FBI , mysteries , mythology so I am in my element here !! Buy from amazon!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2003
Season three is The X Files at it's best. After the brilliant season one and two seasons under it's belt and now recognised by fans and critics as the greatest show on television Chris Carter and co. were garaunteed a long future. With extra money and resources they were able to put together the puzzel of all the loose ends of the mythology of the previous two seasons while also introducing the famous "Black oil" story arc. This is one of the reasons this season was so amazing, they were able to come up with a new story arc that was completly origional and brilliant and also tell it in such a way that gripped the audience while at the same time you were left not really knowing what exactly was going on or where it was going.
The other reason this season was so good was the shere brilliance of the stand-alone episodes. From the horrofiing Grotesque, 2Shy, The Walk, Teso dos Bichos and Hell Money to thethrilling Oubliette, Pusher and Wetwired and the most enjoyable of the season Quagmire about Mulder and Scullys search for a Loch Ness like monster.
Theres also a terrific episode called "Avatar" which gives a good insight into the character of A.D. Skinner.
The comedy is also among the best the show has ever seen, the award-winning "Clyde Bruckmans final Repose" to killer Cockroaches in War of the Coprophages to alien abuction in "Jose Chungs "From Outer Space" and the hillarious and scary "Syzygy" where Mulder and Scully are constantly at each others throats, brilliant.
This is the season where The X Files went from a hit television show to a global phenomenon and it's not surprising at all, it is just out of this worldly good. There is not one bad bad episode in the season from the disturbing and scary to the thrilling and exciting to the shere comedy brilliance season three has it all. It is als a perfect place to start your X Files collection from. 10/10.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2001
Season 2 marks the beginning of the X Files true potential and success. Don't get me wrong Season 1 is brill but Season 2 takes a more darker twist to it with episodes like "Die Hand Die Verletzt" and "Fresh Bones". This Season focuses more on the ritualistic sides of things with episodes like "Our Town" while still giving us the weired science episodes such as "The Host". Also Season 2 incorporates the pinnicle momment in the X Files. Scully's abduction in the two pater "Duane Barry" and "Ascension". We see the Alien Bounty Hunter introduced in the episodes "Colony" and "End Game". And ending with the finale "Anazasi" which will leave you begging for the Season 3!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2001
This is my favourite season of The X Files. If you don't follow the X Files series then you really shouldn't buy this for yourself, because you won't have a clue what is going on. This contains some of my favourite episodes, but unfortunatly not my all time favourite "Chinga" from season 5. If you enjoyed this i advise season 1,2 and wait for season 4. I hope this was helpful.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse