Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
57
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2017
This remake often seems to come off worst because of the much-loved original with Dudley Moore and Peter Cook. For some reason, Elizabeth Hurley doesn't seem to get cred generally as a comedy actress. I'm not a film buff, I don't really know. I love the original, I love this one too, I think Liz Hurley is a great comedy actress and i don't mind looking at her either. I think this film is a great laugh and stands up well, with the original.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
I have never seen this movie in TV, mostly because I don't like Liz Hurley. But I must say, in this movie she did a quite good job.
The movie itself is very funny, had me laughing out loud quite a few times ("Ay, cocaina!!!) would recommend it to anyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Good movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
There is no doubt that the enjoyment of this witty, hilarious film, is based on some knowledge of at least one, romantic motif: the pact/bargain with the Devil.
During Romanticism the Devil's bargain was a very popular motif for stories. They were, and are,stories with a message. Classic, Romantic stories always are.
'Bedazzled' is based on such a classic, romantic Devil's bargain. The Romantics did not invent it, they just found new use for it.
According to 'forgotten lore' the Devil will try to buy/corrupt the souls of innocent, young men, in order, it is believed, to gloat over, and tease, God.
Now, Romantic stories usually give us a clue as to how we may recognize the Devil.
In 'Bedazzled' we learn that the Devil may take on many, different shapes, and that of Liz Hurley, too!!
And God, or his Messenger, may be found in the most surprizing places.
In the old, Romantic stories, the Devil will tempt you with a purse full of gold, or, like in 'Bedazzled', he/she will grant you a number of wishes to be fulfilled.
But be careful what you wish for, you just might get it!
AND there is payment in kind, like your shadow, your mirror image, or even your soul.
All important parts of you, which cannot be spared.

Brendan Fraser plays the naive/blue-eyed Hero, who needs to learn som lessons in life in order to become a man, and preferably with his soul intact.
The process of his growing up, and learning the essential lessons in life, is really funny, and entertaining to witness.
See this film, if you have not seen it already, there is existential wisdom behind the comedy.
There always is, when Romantic motifs are in play.

Bodil Marie - On an all-time High of Laughing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2002
I kept the tape of this film for months because I wanted to see the original first. Now that I've seen both, I have to say that the new version is a lot better than I expected. Only using the basics of the original, rather than doing an out-and-out remake, we have a film which is highly entertaining in its own right.
Its main strength lies in shrewd use of the actors. Fraser performs well in a wide variety of roles, while Hurley gives an Anne Robinson-like performance between the fantasy scenes, while her appearances in the fantasies themselves is restricted to popping up occasionally, saying little and looking pretty. To her credit she does a great job between scenes of conveying the Devil's enthusiasm and delight for everyday acts of mischief.
The new Bedazzled avoids the main flaw of the original, namely that whatever the scene, Cook and Moore effectively played out their familiar personae over and over again. Here, Fraser handles a series of roles brilliantly, while still letting us believe that he's the same character underneath. This is most notable in a scene where he plays a basketball star frustrated at only being able to speak in cliches ("Give 110%", "There's no I in TEAM" etc). In fact, even as an avid Peter Cook fan, I have to admit that the bulk of the film is actually slightly funnier than the original, something I never in my wildest dreams expected. Although it's a shame that certain key scenes from the original aren't recreated, particularly those which explore the relationship between the two characters, it's good that it doesn't try to stick to the original too much (besides, you have to suspect that Hurley would make a mess of such scenes).
There is a but, though. While the orignal's ending is excellent, the new ending is absolutely appalling. After an embarrassingly bad scene in which a giant Hurley holds Fraser in her hand and berates him for refusing to cooperate (forcing Hurley to act, and inevitably failing), while the closing monologue, far from Cook's promise that to fill the world with all that's bad, is a sickly-sweet sentimental lecture about how it's up to us to build our own Heaven here on Earth. Oh please, this garbage would look over-the-top on Sesame Street, never mind something that features Peter Cook's name in the credits. Far from Moore's Stanley Moon telling the Devil to "Get stuffed", we actually see the two parting on good terms, and Elliot dancing off into the sunset, which seems firmly against the spirit of the original.
Considering that I was expecting a catastrophic rehash of the original, the film was a very pleasant surprise. The relationship between Hurley and Fraser seems a little forced, but that's only because it's hard not to compare them to Cook and Moore. It's not over-Americanised, although the ending is a distinct piece of Hollywood slush, and overall I see no reason not to recommend it even to the most sceptical of Cook & Moore fans.
BUT - Why on Earth hasn't the original been re-released?
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
For most people, the conversation goes like this... ‘Have you seen Bedazzled?’

'No, what’s it about?’

'It’s got Liz Hurley in it.’

That would be where the conversation normally ends. It’s fair to say that Ms Hurley is hardly known for her acting abilities. And good reason for it. Yes, she’s a pretty face, but her looks don’t always translate to talent on screen. However, in Bedazzled, she doesn’t come off too bad. No, no one ever said that her failing to win an Oscar for her role as the devil was a travesty, but the whole package is watchable enough if you’re in the mood for something lightweight and frothy.

Brendan Fraser is the star – playing a socially awkward geek who’s desperately in love with a girl he works with. Naturally, he has no chance, until Ms Hurley (or the devil, but without the trident and horns) shows up and offers him seven wishes (for the minor price of his soul). He accepts and we’re treated so a kind of extended clip show of what his wishes would be like. Of course, by dealing with the devil, nothing really goes how he would like.

It’s hardly deep and meaningful. Every time Fraser makes a wish, the devil makes it go wrong. Rinse and repeat. Yet it’s still pretty good fun to watch. Fraser is as good as he ever is and naturally endearing for the role. Hurley still struggles to portray real emotion, even with the limited script she’s given, but this is truly a case where her looks win us over. She really looks like the devil (might, if the devil was a hot woman) and so can be forgiven for her acting shortcomings.

If you’re in the mood for something daft and reasonably amusing to watch together on the sofa, this is definitely worth an hour and a half of your time. I wouldn’t say buy it on Blu-ray and keep it forever, but if you’re in the right frame of mind, it’s not a bad way to waste time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Bedazzled is a surprisingly smart, genuinely funny movie about the wishes we all make and the fallacy of our belief that wealth, fame, love, etc., will truly make us happy. Taking the Dr. Faust theme to unheard of heights, the devil takes the form of Elizabeth Hurley who is indeed constantly bedazzling in a long list of outfits taken straight from the minds of adolescent teenaged boys (and a few of us who used to be adolescent teenaged boys). Gorgeously naughty, she is the epitome of temptation. Brendan Fraser gives a terrific performance as seven characters all wrapped up in one. Elliot Richards is a socially inept computer nerd who is not even very good at being a loser. He tries way too hard to make friends, and he even does the one thing that losers must never, ever do: admitting his crush on a woman who doesn't even know him. This leads to public embarrassment, as I could easily have told the guy, and soon Elliot unwittingly dial's Satan's number by saying he would give anything to have Alison Gardner (Frances O'Connor) in his life. Elizabeth Hurley looks nothing at all like the traditional devil, but she has comparatively little trouble convincing Elliot of her identity and getting him to sell his soul in exchange for seven wishes; I mean, what guy wouldn't give in to the seductive delights of Elizabeth Hurley?
You really have to be specific when you are making wishes, as Elliot soon learns as a series of fantasies fulfilled quickly fall through: fame, power, and marriage to Allison is dangerous as well as unfulfilling, the life of an unbelievable star athlete comes with its own little problem (wink, wink), intelligence and savoir faire misses the mark, and becoming the most sensitive man on earth is quite simply a big mistake. Elliot, his sweetie Allison, and his co-workers all appear in these separate wish-fulfilled lives, each actor adopting a number of very different roles over the course of the film. The results can be hilarious, and there was at least one surprising wish fulfillment that never appeared in any trailer. Fraser has always seemed to be something of a stiff actor to me, but he shows great versatility in his performance here, taking the challenge of his role and running with it. Frances O'Connor is an increasingly sweet delight, as well, and Elizabeth Hurley is simply fantastic and utterly enchanting.
There are lots of special features on the DVD. Besides a theatrical trailer and several TV spots, you get two commentaries by the director and actors (including Hurley), a quite impressive featurette hosted by Hurley herself on the making of the film, a still gallery, and a look at the impressive costuming that went into the making of the film. Best of all, though, you get an extended scene of six minutes featuring Orlando Jones and Toby Huss offering post-game commentary after Elliot's amazing NBA debut. The scene is hilarious in the movie, but the extended scene takes the hilarity to absurdly funny levels. Every so often, you can hear a direction pointing the guys toward a certain type of comment on the game, but Jones and Huss seem to be ad libbing the entire commentary, constantly outdoing one another with some truly inane babblings. The only thing that disappointed me about this Special Edition DVD was a lack of deleted scenes. My favorite couple of seconds from the trailer was not actually in the movie, and the featurette informs us that there was originally a scene with Hurley taking on the guise of a French maid. The filmmakers obviously didn't realize how cruel it would be to tell us of such a scene and then not include it anywhere on the DVD. That one omission aside, I pretty much loved Bedazzled; it's just a smart, funny, and sexy movie.
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2001
This movie is about a guy who's so unpopluar with everyone around him, until the day he meets a mysterious woman, who claims to be the devil. She is willing to grand him 7 wishes, in return for his soul, and this is an offer he can't refuse. But it seems he's forgotten the old saying 'be careful what you wish for' and things just don't quite go the way he planned. A funny movie, not too similar to any other movies I've seen. The things I like the most about this movie, are the funny scenes, and the unpredictable story. You just can't predict what happens next in the movie, since it's quite unrealistic, in a good way. You shouldn't miss out on this movie.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2010
Brendan Fraser's an easy actor to like, due to his ability to portray everything from chiselled and heroic to dweebish and clumsy with equal ease, and here he manages to make ultra-geek Elliott a likeable character despite a catalogue of social awkwardness and hanger-on behaviour that's hammered home with ruthless intensity. Luckily Harold Ramis is a director who knows when to stop, so it always stays the right side of the boundaries. When Elliot is humiliated by his colleagues while trying to chat up co-worker Alison (Frances O'Connor looking rather like Jennifer Love Hewit), he makes a wish and accidentally summons the devil.
Showing up in the form of Elizabeth Hurley, The Devil makes Elliott an offer - he can have seven wishes for anything he desires, in return for his soul. Finally the lovesick Elliott agrees, and the games begin properly. This is where the movie begins to soar. Hurley is camp and deliciously evil and feline as she sabotages every wish in some outrageous and comical way, and Fraser is game as he changes image radically in each segment to play first a frazzle-haired Columbian Drug Lord, and then a multitude of other characters. The comedy largely comes from Fraser's innocent being plunged into one scenario after another, never quite knowing where the ludicrous twist or sting in the tail will come from, and gradually wising up to the fact that the deal might be a little rigged. While only 'laugh out loud' funny in a couple of places, it's so delightfully enjoyable and light-spirited that it keeps you in a good humour the whole time, and you come out of the finale feeling that you watched a funnier film than it actually was. A very kind-hearted, funny, well made comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2003
I bought this DVD in a 'buy one get one free' deal, so I expected it to be complete pap. But, it's not.
Some of the situations are very funny (especially the scene where Fraser is a writer)- and you just can't help but laugh. However, at the same time, there are some scenes that start off funny and just get so over-done that you get a tad bit bored.
But the performance from the stars is, I think, overall very good. Brendan Fraser is very comic in his various states (and hairstyles), and makes you giggle.
And, suprisingly enough, so does Liz Hurley. I thought very little of her performances before (also of her films ie- Austin Powers), but in this she is very purswasive. Unlike Fraser at times, Hurley is not too silly. She keeps her accent and character the whole way through.
I especially like the relationship between her and Fraser; they had good chemistry.
So, all in all, this movie is fun- and is to be taken (very) lightly. I reccommend watching before buying, though!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)