Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 2 December 2016
As per usual good customer service and prompt delivery correctly packaged.

This is the last in the brilliant series, so well written that some moments are in danger of being too true to be funny. Still you have to have it if you're a Blackadder fan as it has dozens of the best lines, most outrageous similes, gloriously played running gags and cunning plans - you won't forget about the pigeon, the name on the bullet and many more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2015
Blackadder Season 4 has always been my favourite, and the last episode is pitch perfect, with tragedy and comedy hand in hand.
The final frames when the battle field turns to a field of poppies is one that I have long remembered.
Critically praised I would recommend it. The comedy is typical Blackadder with an excellent cast.
I have it both as a DVD but now also on a download. The download is excellent quality and nothing is lost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2018
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2017
Always remember the first time I saw this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2013
A true comedy classic, one moment you're crying with laughter then almost crying at the horror of the subject; why can't they make TV like this anymore....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2010
yet another brilliant comedy from rowan atkinson&co. i think this is the best of the blackadder series they did over the years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2010
I was never a fan of the original series. Blackadder's character then seemed to be a portent for the future Mr. Bean (a travesty after the entire Blackadder set). The Tudor event was terrific. The Georgian one seemed impossible to equal the Tudor but to me, it did. However, I waited many, many years before bringing myself to countenance humour from the Great War. Finally I did. I rest my review on one word; 'superb'! The humour is delicate, sublime, sympathetic and ultimately, poignant! Anyone who has a nervous disposition concerning the notion of humour about 'the war to end all wars' should overcome that thought on this occasion.

Ian Hunter.
Author of The Early Years e-LOVE E-Dreams [(E-World)] [By (author) Ian Hunter] published on (August, 2011) Three Interludes Love's Anatomy Conversations Pets: An Adults' Tale
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2004
For me, this is the best of all the Blackadder series. The tone of this series seems to be different to all the others and your opinions of the characters is different accordingly.
Blackadder is for the most part a snide and somewhat cruel and unpleasant character, but rather than dislike him for the way he treats his couterparts, in Goes Forth, you just feel for him, placed in this desperate situation and trying anything he can think of to get out of it. Who would not, given the circumstances.
Making a comedy out of the tragic events of WW1 shows great skill and the writers manage it tremendously. They are helped by an incredibly good cast - there really are no weak links. For me, Stephen Fry playing the dimwitted General Meltchett is the standout, though an excellent cameo in one episode by Rik Mayall as flying ace Lord Flashart runs him close.
What is truely brilliant is the end. After all his attempts to escape, Blackadder is sent over the top, we presume to his doom, though we are never shown for definate, as the screen fades to show the battlefield in modern times. This could have been handled so badly, but it was in fact, perfect.
22 Comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse