Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
20
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2015
I find that most of this music I really don't like to listen to, which is too bad, as I love The Piano score. I feel that this music is well suited to the films and programmes he created it for. It just doesn't make pleasant listening on its on. It seems to me that it is really linked to its intended application, so doesn't stand alone, even for someone with advanced degrees in music and a few years of music composition study.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
For those who only know Nyman for The Piano, this is the gateway into his other works. I would ignore what some reviewers have said about the first disk as it contains some of his best work, I do understand some people might find it repetitive but this is Nyman after all and it is the emotional nuances between the tracks that brakes the repetitiveness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
Michael Nyman is a wonderful composer. As a teacher, I have found that everyone enjoys listening to these simple yet intricately layered pieces and so many themes feel familiar upon first listen. An enchanting gift for all ages and musical tastes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
There are some good ones, but a few penny dreadfulls have been slipped in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
The music on disc one was disappointing. Too many of the same type - respective and monotonous tunes - one after the other. They would have been better more spread out. DIsc2 however, was much better.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2002
Michael Nyman's music is inspiring, if haunting. Although many of the cadences he writes are repetitive, this helps his music create a relaxed but pensive mood. Nyman's compositions for film are not written for those who filter music with a grotesque appreciation for the technicality of Beethoven or Mozart; rather, for those who appreciate alternative classical music for its contribution to mood.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Michael Nyman is a haunting composer, his theme from Wonderland simply mesmerising. I wish his latest piece which was written for the recent John Simm programme was included, and even though available desperately was not so EXTORTIONATELY expensive. Be fair on your fans Mr Nyman.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
Loved this music while watching the films so I got this. As a non stop album of music I found it a bit harsh and repetitious. It is interesting rather than hugely enjoyable. Some tracks attain ejoyability.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2004
It is "exactly what it says on the packaging" - film music. I agree with another reviewer that the second CD is better than the first. However, in my opinion the educated ear needs to be familiar with Michael's Nyman's work to fully appreciate the lesser-known soundtracks without the film.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2009
Exactly what I wanted - music for my drama group to use. Good variety on cds and reasonable price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)