Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
26
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2001
WOW indeed! Intensify is a more complete work compared to their self-titled first album. Breathtaking production and, for the first time, vocal tracks and sweeping atmospherics add to the overall effect. My highlights are Secret, The Fall, Mindcircus, Hypnotise and UB devoid (although from the original album I still think the end of Domination is WoWs finest hour to date ;-). Let's just hope it's not another four years before we hear again from Nick and Jody.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2002
This is one of those rare albums which you will never get bored of, no matter how many times you hear it. 'Nuff said.
Well, maybe not. It's worth pointing out that while all the tracks are at the peak of quality dance, there are three which really stand out. "Secret" takes a few minutes to get going, but once it does, it really gets you hooked. "Mindcircus", as most people considering this album probably know, has infectious lyrics and rhythm and I've yet to find a single person who doesn't like it, even garageheads. What most people won't know is probably the finest track on the album, "Stealth". Smooth and rhythmic, Jody Wisternoff's lyrics are even better here than they are on Mindcircus, and it's that sort of track which you hear once and will always be playing it back in your head. This one rarely goes far from my CD player. Buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2001
Just picked this one up - what a great ride. Intensify and Mindcircus are the ones that rock my boat. First six songs are deep and powerful - these get you rocking for harder block rocking beats that arrive at the closing of the album. Really enjoyed it - worth the cash. Also, check out the Secret as well.... enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2001
Way Out West's follow up to their 1997 self -titled debut has certainly been worth the wait. Intensify is a remarkably singular achievement without peer or precedent. It is particulary noteworthy for the way it builds upon Wow's interim experience as world renowned remixers and dj's. Indeed, Intensify both operates and succeeds on a variety of different levels. Despite wide ranging sounds and varying moods, Intensify is a curiously distinctive and cohesive ALBUM. Whilst it is usual to single out individual tracks, Intensify ingratiates itself by the way it builds mood and gathers momentum. It works best as a sequence - witness the way Secret, Intensify parts One and Two culminate in a glorious soundscape. On the way to this enthralling trifecta, we are treated to an initial sequence of individual songs that most artists would usually leave for last (in fear of peaking prematurely). The Fall might set the pace, but Call Me, Activity and Hypnotise collectively render you speechless. Normally you might be distracted by the sound of your own jaw hitting the ground, but Intensify will be turned up so loud that you won't even be able to hear the police answering a neigbour's complaint at your front door . The only problem with this record is that it will be categorised as mere 'dance' or 'trance'. Don't be misled by your own (or anybody else's) misconceptions. Intensify sets out to defy easy catergorisation, and succeeds without self consciousness or pretence. It deserves the widest possible audience and support. It certainly provides the standard by which to judge others for many years to come, irrespective of musical style or sensibility. In case you think I'm just a 'techno' head getting carried away with his own enthusiam or agenda, please note that my prefernces encompass alt.county and hardcore hiphop. Consequently, please file next to Spiritualized's Let it Down and Mercury Rev's All Is Dream as a bona fide album of the year/s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2001
After banging my head against the impatiently for six months its finally come and its absolutely mindblowing. Way Out West are one of the few acts in the cubbing scene that defy being classified into one music type (BT is the only other name that springs to mind), yet surpassing the other veterens in their own styles. from the trancey The Fall (which samples Coldcut Autumn Leaves)the proggressive house of Sharkhunt and Activity, the breakbeat of Intensify pt. 2 to the chilled out vibe of Stealth with Kirsty Hawkshaw the quality shines through. Then theres Mindcircus which I dont know what style it is but its bleeding fantastic. This is my second favourite track next to presence that is Hypnotise (that ending!). The only slight quibbles i have are with Call Me, as i feel it lacks inspiration (and the annoying voice reminds me of the unwanted attentions of someone that kept ringing me up non-stop) and Stealth, which although great is basically Kirsty by herself, the electronic side feels a bit empty. I recommend this album to anyone who is looking for something beyond the latest cheesy trends buy it now!!!
P.S. If you like this I would also reccomend W.O.W.'s first album and B.T.'s Movement in still life (although his previous albums are great too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2008
One of my favourite electronic albums. It has a richness and depth to the production that means that the music is always at the forefront. See 'Mindcircus' for the best example. The beat is absolutely fantastic, but it's that piano hook and the vocals that really stand out. Absolute quality from first to last.

'Secret', 'Sharkhunt', 'Intensify pt 2' and 'Activity' are my personal highlights, but the whole thing is top notch.

Dance has a stigma attached to it as being repetitive and lacking in real quality, thanks to people like Eric Prydz. This is a million miles away from the dross that ends up in the charts. Shame it'll never be widely heard... Magnificent stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2002
I picked this album up, having been waiting for ages, on my return to England for Christmas, and, it is absolute quality. Much more of an album than the first WOW album (although also class) in that the songs combine to take you on a real journey. Highlights have to include The Fall, Hypnotise and Mindcircus, although to pick any out is difficult. You could listen to this before a night out or after a night out. My advice though would be, take the phone off the hook, turn out the lights, set a few candles, put it on a decent stereo, and sit back and enjoy the ride.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2001
It's been a long wait since their debut album, and although this was mooted to be out 6 months ago, a change in record company has finally allowed it to hit the streets.
It's a classic album, from the dark 'UB Devoid' which adds a rougher edge to the progressive house of WOW, through to the anthemic 'The Fall' which has graced many recent compliations.
In short, nice one Nick and Jody, well done on getting it finally released.
Apparantly one of my favourite words is now out-of-date, however I'll still use it here - "wicked" - a clear 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2001
Well once again this Bristolian born lad has come up trumps, supplying your ears with the soul moving hunky dory funk that every human being requires to get on down.A good mix of both old and new tunes suppling the most resiliant of critics with something to chew over. A classic starter to a good weekend. Go on buy it Im sure you'll like it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2006
I can't believe that this album has eluded me for so long!! It is I.N.C.R.E.D.I.B.L.E. I cannot fault a single song on it, it seems to go from strength to strength. Track 7, UB Devoid, just blew me away.
And I thought Deep Dish were the ultimate in this genre.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here