Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
32
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 August 2002
I first heard this in Jo Whileys show on BBC R1 and brought it just for the one track she played "A Drop in Time". All the other tracks are up to the quality of this.
I dont think MR got the respect they deserve for this album despite the mentioned track making the playlist. It is very, very good.
"The Polyphonic Spree, The Beginning Stages of ..." is also worth looking at if you like this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2003
It's very rare to come across an album where every track is superb. Bands often feel the need to pad out an album by tucking in a couple of trash tracks here and there, but not Mecury Rev. My favourite is "Spiders and Flies". Perfect Sunday morning music, and also good when you get in from a big night!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2001
You need not only listen to this fantastic record. Try to hum it too. You can only be moved by songs like A DROP IN TIME or SPIDERS AND FLIES which undoubtedly prove, if necessary, that Jonathan Donahue is a most talented songwriter.The underlying melancholia in each track will make sensible music fans ask ultimately the question: Do I listen to Rev's records because I am sad? Or does the listening of Rev's songs that makes me sad?
Anyway get to your nearest record shop and buy it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2001
Did you like "Deserter's song" you will definitely love this. This one is even better! "Dark is rising" is the most beautiful song you ever can imagine. The album title couldn't have been better, 'cause every song is a dream - they all have a very high standard. You just can't live without this one. Buy it now, there's nothing to meditate over.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2001
This album would have got 5 stars if it wasn't for the opening track. While the song itself is nice enough, the widescreen orchestral opening sounds like it's been tacked on because that is what people expect of Mercury Rev. Other than that, it's a very good album. 'Nite & Fog' has an excellent strained chorus, and 'Lincoln's Eyes' is wonderfully spooky with a gorgeous bowed-saw coda. The highlights for me, though, are 'Little Rhymes', with its angelic choral backing and slide guitar, and 'Hercules', which slowly builds to a magnificent climax.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
It's very chilled,thought provoking and the vocals are weird and wonderful.
The album is great from start to finish.
Nice to sit down and stare at something while listening to this in the background
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2011
Is it a dream or a nightmare.To me its a dream I can understand why some people hate this band and I can understand why me and others love this band. Ok there is high pitched singing and sometime over the top music, which is what mkes this album great in fact all their albums great. If you can't get passed the high pitch slightly out of tune singing then you are perhaps not very musically adventurous. So go back to your Celien Dion CDs.
To sum up, this album is different and you will have probably never heard any thing like it before, but don't let that put you off, because you might find you are missing somthing very special.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2001
there are a few adjectives that have slipped far into cliche - check out record company ads full of 'stunning' 'cinematic' and 'orchestral'. It's time to reel them out again but this time with feeling.
mercury rev's vision looks back to the 60s with their neil young and buffalo springfield nuances, and then further as jonathan donahue conjurs up images like black and white silent movies suffused with victorian melodrama.
the music moves from full-on film overture (the opening track dark is rising) to the rock-out finale of hercules, a close releative to neil young's hurricane.
in between they get the bow saw out (an old deserters songs favourite) and deliver a handful of potential singles in nite and fog and little rhymes. a typical allis dream song : grasshopper's lyrical guitar lines weave in and out of string arrangements, whilst jonathan sings of spiders in his unique style.
and the whole lot comes in on time like albums used to, with no excess baggage.
a meal in itself, and contender for album of the year, not that it matters
yours, smugly in advance.........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2007
I liked Deserters Songs but found it hard going at times. After hearing The Dark is Rising on radio I decided to take the plunge with All is Dream - and I'm glad I did!

If you like the Mercury Rev sound demonstrated on Holes and Goddess on a Highway, from Deserters Songs, then you will love All is Dream. They have taken that affecting side to their sound and developed it further. All is Dream is to me an astonishing, beautiful thing. I would rate it in my top five albums of all time.

If you don't "get" Mercury Rev (my wife hates them) then avoid it. If you do, you are really going to enjoy this one...a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2001
Anyone who was worried that they would not live up to the pressure of belated commercial success (with Deserter's Songs) need not have. 'All is Dream' is quite simply a masterpiece. There is nothing quite as accessible as 'Goddess on a Hi-way' but each song has great depth and beauty. The whole album sounds like a soundtrack to a film you wish David Lynch could make. Put simply there will not be a more atmospheric and delightful album released this year.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)