Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 15 November 2001
Of all the Potter games I have played through (GBC, GBA, PSX), this is the best. It follows the plot of the book very well, it's fun to play, and it has great re-play value too.
It is slightly disappointing that you can't play Quidditch, but there are plenty of other fun 'minigames', and if including Quidditch would have compromised the rest of the game, then leaving it out was a good decision. (Real Quidditch fans should stick to the PSX version.)
The standard RPG format works very nicely: 'random' battles leading to turn-based combat, combat-experience improving your character, money earned being used to buy items, and the occasional 'boss' fight to really challenge you, all fitting in cleverly with the plot of the book.
The most interesting feature of the game is the 'Famous Witches and Wizards' cards. There are 101 (yes, 101!) to collect, and each one comes with a nice image and a bit of text on the witch/wizard it depicts. Early on in the game, you select a 'deck' to collect: most of the cards can only be collected if you are collecting the deck that they belong to (the rest are common to all decks). This means that in order to 'Collect them all' (ahem) you will either have to play through the whole game four times (once for each deck), or do some trading with a friend (make sure you collect different decks!). The best part is that the cards are not there just to look at: throughout the game you can receive 'Card Combos' which allow you to use the cards to cast extra-special spells in combat. With about 50 different combos to find and use, this game has a lot of longevity!
Overall this is a surprisingly deep, involving game, with solid gameplay and well-thought-out detail. It's amazing it fits on the cartridge.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2002
This game is the best game I have got. The games you play in are fun and exciting and the bosses and enemys are quite a challenge. Even though you cannot play Quidditch in this game it is still the best game for me. Absolutely amazing game and I woild certainly reccommend it to other people.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2007
i bought it and played it when i was 9,(im currently 11)enjoyed it very much,i think this harry potter game is better than the GBA version....ok about the game....

Graphics:9(good graphics for this system)

sound:9(some musics are very memorable and gives the atmosphere of this game)

gamplay:10(liked the turn-based battling controls were easy,and collecting 101 cards is very hard!)

Replayablity:5(this game can get good at replaying,but i only replayed it once)

over all:10

very good game.....recommended game for such an old handheld!(if i were u i would buy this as this game is very good and excellent!!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2002
Fantastic game.It does take a bit of working out but it is great fun even if you haven't seen the film.I am a 32 year old mum and used to race my 7 year old son to play it.Very addictive and very enjoyable.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2002
Harry Potter for Gameboy color is great.Harry does lots of real life things like:sleeping and talking but the best thing is being able to talk.Quite a few things are hard but once you get into the swing of things its a great game and definately worth buying.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2012
I got this game when it first came out in 2001 when i was 9 years old, i am now 20 and it is still a game that i am replaying over and over again.
It sticks with the story line in a very detailed way and has plenty of tasks to keep you busy.
The new Harry Potter games they are bringing out on DS are nothing compared to the original game boy colour versions, including Chamber of Secrets.
I strongly recommend both games.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
I remember this game when i was a kid! loved it so much and no other retro games compared to it. It has a lot of hidden details and features for such an old game!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
I absolutely love Harry Potter so when I got a gameboy I had to get this. The game is actually harder than I thought it would be but that makes it more fun!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
As always, this is another great product and it has completely met my expectations. As such, I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2002
I have also played Harry Potter on the Playstation and much preferred this to the gameboy colour variation. Yes, it follows the plot of the book but there is far to much time spent in one to one combat. Also very difficult to see the screen in the night time scenes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)