Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
70
4.1 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 2|Edition: Veronica X|Change
Price:£14.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2017
Superb efficient order placing and delivery the game itself though retro is brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2001
With the exception of the terrible, terrible "Survivor", the RE games have been the finest games of the last few years, establishing the survival horror genre as a force to be reckoned with. REC:V therefore had a lot of expectations to live up to when it was originally released on Dreamcast, but it managed not only to meet all expectations, but to shatter them and build new ones instead for the forthcoming RE0 and RE4.
The graphics are not exceptional, but this is basically a direct conversion of the Dreamcast version, and besides, I'd rather play a great game with average graphics than vice-versa. The sound, though, is superb (discounting a significant portion of the voice acting), and adds more to the atmosphere of the game than any corridor of lurching zombies ever could.
My only gripe is that the 'horror' part of survival horror has always been a bit of an innaccurate label: the game may make you feel shocked or startled, but rarely terrified (Most notable exception for me involves a Licker and a 'magic mirror' in RE2, which scares the bejesus out of me even when I know it's coming). REC:VX is no more scary than its predecessors, so you'll jump while playing certain sections, but you'll never be too scared to open the next door in the way that Silent Hill managed to scar a generation of gamers.
Basically, BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT because it's going to be the best game on PS2 at least until the release of Silent Hill 2, and with the sheer lifespan of this beauty, you'll probably still be playing or replaying it when MGS2 hits the shelves and blows every other game in the world ever EVER out of the water.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2001
Resident Evil Code Veronica X is one of Capcoms finest games yet, bringing lots of tension and horror, and also an immense level of game play for any player. It's also been graphically improved, considerably for the PS2, giving gamers a greater feel for the 3D landscapes and environments. Unlike the pervious R.E. games Code Veronica X has a much greater life span, which previously was a major let down, so you won't be completing this in a day (unless you don't sleep).
The game is set in two different locations and you play as Claire & Chris Redfield (from the previous R.E. 1 & 2 games). It begins with Claire being captured and as the plot progresses she happens to get stuck in the middle of it all, along with her brother, Chris. Claire also meets a brand-new character called Steve, who has some serious family problems. This game is great for any none fan, of the series and a must be for the fans, as old favourites are back, including Chris' nemesis Weskers (from R.E.).
With a great storyline and non-stop action you won't ever regret buying this game and it soon will become a favourite game, in any ones collection.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2001
The other person who gave this game one star obviously doesn't know how to play the games properly. You only end up repeating entire sections due to lack of ammo if you just don't know what you're doing and generally cannot play the game properly, maybe being a bit trigger-happy. A bit bitchy of me, maybe, but having played the game, (and loved it completely), I know that it's ture. The reason it doesn't get the full five stars is that it can, obviously, still be improved. In Nemesis, you didn't have to press 'x' to walk up/down stairs, for example, whereas here you do. Also, one of the most fun aspects of the resident evil games is no longer here - the ability to blow zomnies' heads off/ in half/etc. Boo! More gore!! Blood, guts!! Etc. Obvioulsy, the gameplay and story are most important, but given the choice between seeing a zombie's head explode when shot with the magnum, or not - I know which one gets my vote...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2001
OK. Nice packaging and full motion video, as well as the acceptable in game graphics makes this a very well presented horror RPG. As usual for this genre the number of 3D monsters is limited as is the type of challange and the environment gets a bit 'samey', but some variation is included thanks to bases blowing up.
The actual story line is simple, and none of the puzzles is exactly challenging (one was solved by pulling drawers out randomly). However, the lack of ammo and the generic dearth of healing keeps you nervous enough.
So, good enough and worth borrowing if a friend has it, and certainly more than a 'filler' if your waiting for a specific game, But quite a short game (I've just finished it after 3 weeks of fairly inconstant play) which I suppose is OK if you are the sort that likes to replay the game for better rankings.
I actually quite like it and have started playing it again. I know I can get a much better rank, and I reckon I can kill the giant spider in less than 4 shots
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
It seems that my Resident Evil reviews have struck a chord with people, so to keep this happy vibe going, and because this series is probably the only one to which I demonstrate any shred of loyalty, I've set myself the goal of reviewing every Resident Evil game ever made (with the exception of the Survivor series, which I rank somewhere between Katie Price and a bad case of piles). Anyway, here we go with Code Veronica X.

Code Veronica kicks off with an action packed intro depicting Claire Redfield trying to infiltrate Umbrella Headquarters in Europe. Needless to say, all goes awry and she's soon captured and packed off to a prison on some remote island. But before anyone can say "Pick up that soap", the island comes under attack, the lights go out, and Claire escapes. From then on, its your job to venture out into the darkness, find out what the hell is happening, and get out. Along the way, you have to fight off zombies and other nasties, forage for weapons, ammunition and key items to progress to new sections. So far, so Resident Evil.

But wait, things have changed. Sort of.

Code Veronica is the first Resident Evil game to feature fully 3D environments. Well, the camera is still largely based in static locations, but will now pan around the room to follow your movements, and occasionally move to keep up with you if you're wandering along a fixed linear path, like a corridor. All good, you might think, but there's a downside to this brave new world.

First, the characters. They all have this weirdly stiff, unnatural quality to them. When you run, for example, it's like you're gliding across the floor rather than putting one foot in front of the other. You also move at about the same speed as an obese man on the home stretch of the London Marathon. Secondly, the polygonal surroundings, while pretty much as well realised as the PS2 hardware would allow, look bland and soulless. The 2D backgrounds might not have been ideal, but at least you know they were drawn by a real artist. Thus, these two flaws combine to limit the sense of immersion I normally feel with a Resi game.

Still, it's not all bad. The plot is intriguing enough to keep you motivated, and it's actually quite fun trying to figure out what the hell everyone is up to. The only thing that bothers me about this game is that it tries to provide an overly elaborate backstory to the T-virus. In the original game, it was just a weaponised virus created by Umbrella that got out of control. Fair enough, but now we've got to deal with a whole load of needless exposition the Ashford family and their obsession with bees and incest. No, I'm not kidding.

You spend the first half of the game with Claire, but it's not long before big brother Chris muscles his way in to sort things out. Although it's kind of jarring to switch characters mid-game for no particular reason, I had to admit it was nice to take control of Resident Evil's main hero again (though there's sadly no sign of Barry "Master of Unlocking" Burton this time around). But Chris isn't the only character from the original game to make a return. After a two-game absence, everyone's favourite sunglasses-loving villain Albert Wesker is back. His return is kind of explained in the course of the story, but basically you can chalk it up to the writers deciding it was a bad idea to kill him off in the original game. He's much more menacing and dangerous than before, which is just as well, because the game's other bad guy, Alfred Ashford, makes Alan Carr look like the epitome of masculine power.

On the gameplay front, weapons and enemies are standard Resi fare. There's your usual zombies, dogs and hunters, plus a few obligatory bosses including a new Tyrant. Likewise, your weapons include the normal selection of pistols, shotguns, assault rifles and grenade launchers. Fights are challenging enough to hold your interest, but should rarely trouble experienced players. I have to say though that the puzzles are actually quite good in this instalment. Some of them are tough enough to make you think hard, but never so obscure that you'll get frustrated.

Summing Code Veronica up is a bit of a tricky one, because it's a game that always left me with mixed feelings. On the one hand, I recognise it as a bold effort to take the series in a new direction, but on the other hand, I feel that its flaws keep it from reaching the lofty heights of Resident Evil 1 and 2. Any fans of the series should definitely play it, if for no other reason than to experience the next step in the Resident Evil saga.

As for the rest of you, why aren't you fans of the series already?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2001
This Resident Evil game was as good as the previous ones but sadly much shorter. As it was a PS2 game I expected it to be at least as long as the previous games, if not much longer. The graphics and puzzles are excellent. On RE3 you could choose the level of difficulty you wished to play at, you cannot on this game and it is like playing on easy mode, not as challenging as expected. I really enjoyed the game but was most disappointed that it was so short. The freaky Norman Bates psycho-man brother/sister was a nice touch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2008
I bought this game as part of a Resident Evil nostalgia-fest, after playing the new Umbrella Chronicles game on the Wii and the Resident Evil Remake on the Gamecube (both of which are excellent). I used to own this on the Dreamcast many years ago, and I remember really enjoying it. Oh, but how gaming has moved on since then. The graphics are passable, but it's only after a few years of playing more well-developed games that you realise how truely awful the control system and fixed camera angles are. And this really does pummel the fun out of the game because there are many instances where speed and accuracy are paramount. The story however is excellent and delves more into the relationship between siblings Claire and Chris Redfield, and also the devious motivations of Albert Wesker. While cheesy, the script and voice actors are great and all in all, Code:Veronica does justice to the Resident Evil canon. However, as sad as I am to say this, I think this game is terribly outdated and with the re-imagination of the series with Resident Evil 4 back in 2005, there really isn't a place for Code:Veronica anymore.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2001
If You count Yourself as one - do not read this review - just buy the game and start playing! It's got all the elemenst from the earlier games plus it's much better looking, the story is complicated on the n-th degree, and You'll get to see Your favorite characters and vilains again! If You're not a fan of Resi series, and have a PS2, this is the game to try, but compared to some other 3D adventure games it may not be Your favorite. Resident Evil has it's own logic, it's own puzzles and it's own style - and You'll love it or hate it. It also has it's own enemies who are without exception gruesome, so this game is not for he faint of heart (or stomach). So if this is Your first time with RE - try before You buy. If You like exploring hidden rooms and killing zombies and uglier creatures with a big arsenal of weapons - don't hesitate.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2001
This is the best Resident Evil game, with great, full 3D graphics and, for once, decent voice acting (especially Steve and Rodrigo). The story is the game's main plus: you get lots of answers to questions in previous RE games, and the timeline and continuity of events makes this the true sequel to RE2 (as opposed to RE3: Nemesis). The usual Resident Evil mix of zombie-wasting and puzzles is on offer, though most of the puzzles are logical this time around. The extras are there too, in the form of a first-person perspective mode and battle game you can unlock after completing the game. And here comes the bad stuff: RE: Code Veronica on the Dreamcast was an excellent game, supposedly a DC exclusive at the time it came out. Compared to it, this new version is the same game with some extras: for instance, the character models are somewhat more detailed - see Steve's hair for example. Apart from that the graphics look a bit worse, due to the lack of antialiasing I suppose, but the real problem is the smaller screen size in the PAL version: what was wrong with the full-screen Dreamcast game?!? Another thing: the DC version featured a health display on the VMU screen so that you could check your condition without entering the inventory screen. Was it so difficult to include a health display in a corner of the screen on the PS2 version?!? I suppose it was, since the screen is smaller...
The final word: buy this game only if you don't have the Dreamcast version. And, now that PS2 is out, developers should give us players (and PAYers) some respect and not the usual "machine limitations" excuses!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)