Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
219
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 October 2014
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
A classic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
no comment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
Perfect !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Superb cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2016
Love it !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2002
Utterly derelict of originality, this album explains what a cover band of the Velvet Underground or New York Dolls would sound like: rank amateurs helped over their technical shortcomings by gifted studio hacks. A truly dreadful example of hype over content. Buy the Sex Pistols' "Kiss This" or anything by the Ramones for real excitement. This is ersatz garbage.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2001
Oh dear oh dear oh dear... Whenever a band is hyped this much, the eventual CD is always going to be a bit of a disapointment. THere has only ever been one exception to that rule in my experience and that is the truly magnificent Icarus Line, so I thought that The Strokes might just match my expectations. But they didn't. They fell well short. To be blunt, the only thing that distinguishes this album from most indie-rock on the market is the porr sound. I'm pretty sure that the only reason people like it is because the sound quality makes it different to the rest of the market. This however, can barely distinguish the difference between songs, with one exception: NYC Cops. This song is the best on the album by so far: it's chorus just makes you think that it might almost be worth the money you paid for it. And then you remember you've sat through half an hour of rubbish before that song. That one song is all that gives it my two stars. As Julian Casablanca of the Strokes said, "Never believe the hype".
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2010
Having surfed into the public conscience on a veritable tsunami of hype (due in no small part to the NME) I was expecting the Strokes 2001 debut album to have the same musical impact as G'NR's Appetite for Destruction or Nirvana's Nevermind. Instead, I was disappointed to find an album of boring, one-dimensional, indie-by-numbers songs, devoid of any real power, passion or emotion.

Is This It is a classic example of hype over substance and I simply cannot see what all the fuss was about. It is a sad indictment of the modern music industry that The Strokes can reach platinum status with this generic rubbish while original (and vastly superior) bands like the Wildhearts struggle for recognition. No doubt many will disagree, but consider this. If, as the NME claimed, the Strokes were the saviours of Rock and Roll, why have their sales steadily declined with each record to the point where now, in 2010, they are working on their fourth album and no-one seems to care any more? I rest my case.
33 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.49
£5.99
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)