Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
52
Parsley, Sage, Rosemary And Thyme
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERon 19 January 2005
With such classic songs as Scarborough fair / Canticle (a major American hit), Homeward bound (the only UK hit from the album, this was a ten hit on both sides of the Atlantic), For Emily wherever I may find her (sung solo by Art) and the 59th street bridge song - Feeling groovy (a hit for Harper's Bizarre in the UK and USA), this is yet another masterpiece from Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel.
The famous songs already mentioned are available on countless hits compilations of their music, so if you are thinking of buying this, it is because you want to hear the other songs. They are all of a high quality, notably Cloudy (with its incredible imagery), Big bright green pleasure machine (about TV advertising) and Dangling conversation (about cocktail party gossip).
Yet the most notable track of all may be 7 o'clock news / Silent night. With a peaceful Christmas carol as background, this track reflects on the state of the world back then as relayed in news bulletins. Of course, news bulletins generally focus on problems and tragedies, so a piece like this could have been recorded at any time. Despite world progress, news bulletins are always full of despair, never more so than while I am writing this, soon after the Indian Ocean earthquake.
If you are interested in more than just their hits, this Simon and Garfunkel album is definitely worth a listen.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2012
This very tallented duo entertained us with their brand of harmony and poetly; which never fails to bring back memories of when music had harmony and 'colour'. I wore my old LP out and so replaced it with this CD. I have also replaced the other Simon & Garfunkle LPs in my collection with CD versions, and continue to enjoy their music. I am not a musician, but I do appreciate the harmony and phrasing, both in their music and words. They were one of the best duos in the business, and I am glad to have their music in my library, as I can relax and listen to them again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2014
I love most of the Simon & Garfunkel records and this is no exception, along with the 'Sound of Silence' & the 'Paul Simon Songbook' are the ones I return to most. Recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2017
Excellent product and servive. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2009
I updated my collection of S&G music a couple of years ago, by purchasing the Definitive collection through Amazon ( I had this on tape) and Bridge Over Troubled Water on remastered CD, i read somewhere that Parsley Sage Rosemary & Thyme was an album you had to hear, so I ordered a copy, despite having the 'singles'. The whole album is amazing, i am boring my entire family by raving on about it and playing it to death. I love it all , but particulary at the moment 'Patterns' and 'Flowers Never Bend With the Rainfall' It is pure pleasure, the sixties relaxed folk rock sound in every song and yet another example of Paul Simon's genius.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2008
Hugely popular at the time but, as with much of Simon & Garfunkle's work, now increasingly consigned to the "interesting time-piece" category, "Parsley, Sage, Rosemary & Time" is quite simply one of the best albums from the 60's. If you haven't listened to it recently, get out your old copy and prepare to be amazed at the quality of the songs, the complexity and superb metering of their lyrics and the often stunningly beautiful singing - captured at its finest in the breathtakingly poignant "For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her". Sure, a couple of tracks sound pretty dated and a couple fall into the easy-listening "rock-pop" category, but most have a timeless clarity and sincerity that few of their contemporaries and equally few artists since then have mastered. And... if you don't own it but want to discover how good poetry set to music can be, well, it doesn't get much better.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2017
Great all round
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2017
In the mid 1960s there were some great bands, The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, The Byrds, The Beach Boys and many, many others.
However when it comes to duos no one can touch Simon And Garfunkel.
Their third album is as good as anything released in 1966.
There's Folk yes, Folk/Rock, yes again and it's all top quality and sometimes difficult to describe!
Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2002
A Truly wonderful album which just displays a feel for the time and place.From the Opening of Scarborough Fair to the beautiful Joys of Cloudy and the upbeat tempo of The 59th Street bridge song its as if you have been transported back to the sixties.Also included on the album is their top five hit Homeward Bound.A personal Favourite is The Dangling Conversation with its account of a couple drifting apart.The album ends with 7 O clock/Silent night.A grim reminder of the times that were being lived and a big comment on the state of America in 1966.The Bonus tracks of Patterns and A poem on the Underground wall showcase Paul Simons Raw and Personal direction.A great album.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2002
This is another fine re-master of a classic Simon and Garfunkel album from the mid-sixties.This was S&G's third album and consolidated their position as a most popular performing duo.The marvellous melodies and lyrics of Simon combined with the beautiful harmonies with Garfunkel are instantly likeable even after almost forty years.Garfunkel's talent is hugely evident, particularly in his solo rendition of the beautiful 'For Emily' and the development of Simons song-writing ability stands out in the memorable 'Dangling Conversation'.Simons deep thought runs right through the album and is particularly evident on 'Flowers Never Bend'(with its thoughts on life and inevitable death) and 'Patterns', with its suggestion that all in life is already set out for us.There are also light-hearted tunes, especially 'Feelin, Groovy' and the wonderfully breezy 'Cloudy'.I can't understand why the producers migrated 'Homeward Bound' from the 'Sounds of Silence' album to this as I think it sounds somewhat out of place.This album was always able to stand on its own merit.However all things considered this is a fine buy at the price for anybody interested in S&G and is thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Sounds Of Silence
£5.99
Bookends
£6.41

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)