Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 16 January 2015
I LIKE IT! Starts off funktastic stylee and starts to get a little off the wall from then on. As it progresses it gets a little hiphopy and then chilled feel good. It's not mindblowing but's its nice. People do bang on about mixing and I love a good mix myself but when you have such an array of funk classics then any good music appreciator will know that mixing is not required. Dropping tunes in and Blending is fine and this is fine to me. I have so many mixed cd's but I also have many blended and faded ones and when you know your s*** you are better off blending with rare groove music. So, not bad and it also shows me exactly where Howie B get's his influences. 4/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2002
As the other reviewers have mentioned the quality of the mix is not great, if it is existent, but the quality of the tunes themselves are enough to make up for it by a long way. But whos to say anyway that the album has to be mixed nicely to be enjoyed? Howie B obviously has the talents to mix a few records together but with these selections he obviously feels the album can only reflect the tempo and enthusiasm of the songs by switching from one top the other 'just like that'...
Its not such a chilled out record though. Even listening to it in the office i feel like jumping up and grooving.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2001
a couple of real discoveries on this cd and a few like the frankie beverley track that one dug in a disco in the early 80s and was too drunk to find out what it was called. only bad track is probably howie b doing under the boardwalk which might have looked fun on paper. only thing: theres not much mix about it, the tracks just cut into one another like he put it together on cd architect or something. no problem, the man has great taste in deep medium pacers. best playinthecar thing ive bought.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2002
Save us from these sad, sad people who denigrate an album because it doesn't cut tracks off just as they are getting to the good bits, and isn't padded out with dreadful "dance"tracks that are only included because the bpm allows it to be used to segue one earlier track into a later track.
I now own most of the "Another Late Night" series, as well as the "Back To Mine" series, and they have been an education. And Howie B's is just about the cream of the crop (although MJ Coles BTM selection pushes it close)
No! It's not mixed!! Shock! Horror!! But a finer groove than this album gives will be very, very difficult to find.
PS: Isn't it about time someone let "The Streets" loose on one of these albums
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2003
The tracks on this album are great, they really are chilled out and fit in well with the style of the complilation series. Theres something for everyone and in particular for me the highlights were the 'Love's Theme - Love Unlimited Orchestra', 'Walking In Rhythm - The Blackbyrds' and 'Summer Hot - Curtis Mayfield'. However, the way some of them are 'mixed' together really detracts from the album as a whole.
Having read the other reviews below I was encouraged by the comments about the tracks and paid little attention to the complaints about the lack of mixing.
The album would have been fine if the tracks died away rather than being flung in abruptly into each other. Dont get me wrong some tracks do slip in together but others are just horrendously switched mid song which is very unpleasant listening.
All in all the album is worth buying for the tracks alone but be warned about the mixing
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2001
Who cares how the tracks are mixed - I didn't notice anything jarring in it. The tunes are excellent and it's a very good soulful collection to chill to, including both old soul nuggets and new hiphop and electronica tracks - very very good.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
I must confess I hadnt heard of Howie B before I bought this album. It was a nice surprise, some really good tracks and well mixed together to give it quite a fresh outlook and something a bit different. I have several anotherlatenight mixes and this one is added to the collection for continued use. good work!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2003
This was an overall disappointing listen for me. I expected great things given Howie B's reputation and the other releases in the excellent 'Another Late Night' series.
While the selections are on the whole good and varied, the mix is inexistent, which grates and doesn't lend to chilling out, and to cap it all his version of 'Under the Boardwalk' is terrible... Maybe he did it as a joke, but whatever, it doesn't help the overall notion that this was a few tracks he flung together in an afternoon rather than thought out carefully and mixed lovingly, the impression you get from the other albums in this series.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2001
This is awful! Not particularly because of the songs that are on it but more because of the transitions from one track to another. It isn't mixed at all it's simply faded in volume from one track to the next sometimes Howie B just moves the cross fader straight accross giving the listener a near heart -attack. Definitely not conducive for chilling to. It would scare the life out of you.
Another late night? Another bag of shite.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2001
Being a bedroom DJ and a lover of music, I was shocked to hear this "mix" by Howie. Although the selection of tunes is mostly good, there's no order, and certainly no mix, not even the fading in and out of tracks. There is no way you'll be able to chill out to this CD.. Very disappointing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)