Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
9
Welcome To Death Row [2001] [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 20 December 2014
Arrived earlier than expected. good fun entertainment. must have
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2015
Nothing to do with 'death row'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2003
Although not being the big rap fan I once was in high school, I have always been fascinated by Death Row Records and all of the controversy that surrounded the notorious record label since day one. "Welcome to Death Row" is a thought-provoking documentary that tells the story of how a dangerous and popular record label changed the music industry, and how it all came falling apart. The documentary is filmed with new interviews with Snoop Dogg, Dr. Dre, and other former Death Row artists, as well as interviews with big names in both the music and media industry. They tell their side of the story and reveal just what exactly went on while working for Death Row.
I found this documentary to be extremely fascinating and well-done. It seems to stick with the facts for the most part, instead of reverting to a bunch of conspiracy theories. There's enough respected people who appeared on the film, which makes it easier to believe. While it answers some questions, it doesn't answer all of them. We still to this day do not know who shot Tupac and for what reason. And although it reveals most of what went on at Death Row, I am sure there are more untold stories that have yet to see the light of day.
The DVD is really impressive for a documentary. It's shot in widescreen, which is something I wasn't expecting. The picture and sound quality is really good. The extra features are also very impressive and make their presence felt. Some of the features are extensive interview outtakes, commentary from the filmmaker, the trailer, and more.
"Welcome to Death Row" is an intriguing and interesting documentary. Filled with things we had known all along and things we never knew, this is a documentary worth watching over and over again. You don't even have to be a big rap fan to enjoy it. If you know enough about the record label's history and you are a music fan, I think you'll really find this all interesting. Very well worth the money and very well worth the time.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2003
This is the #1 documentary on death row records i have ever seen! The reason that i think it is so good is because for once, death row are NOT having stabs at dre and snoop. It is a well orchastrated dvd. The bonus features are also worth the price. It shows some good footage of 2 pac.Snoop gives an excellent interview about what went down at death row. This is found in the special fatures section. Any fan of the old death row should add this dvd to their collection or, if you are just curious about the controversial label, you ought to try and get it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2005
So much has been written and said about the East vs West Coast rivalry of the mid 90s and most of the books and films made all feature the same periphary figures giving the same tired view about the events leading up to the deaths of dozens of gang associates and most infamously, Tupac Shakur and later the Notorious B.I.G. Obviously this documentary focuses on these major events but it is unlike any other that I've seen in that it really gets begind the scenes of the organisation that was Death Row Records. Behind all the hype, glamour and violence that we know about was politics and events that were just as controversial but less publicised. Certainly the business behind this label was as dirty as the lyrics of the music it was promoting. Fascinating as an example of how the music business sometimes works, and obviously of special interest to anyone familiar with rap music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2005
So much has been written and said about the East vs West Coast rivalry of the mid 90s and most of the books and films made all feature the same periphary figures giving the same tired view about the events leading up to the deaths of dozens of gang associates and most infamously, Tupac Shakur and later the Notorious B.I.G. Obviously this documentary focuses on these major events but it is unlike any other that I've seen in that it really gets begind the scenes of the organisation that was Death Row Records. Behind all the hype, glamour and violence that we know about was politics and events that were just as controversial but less publicised. Certainly the business behind this label was as dirty as the lyrics of the music it was promoting. Fascinating as an example of how the music business sometimes works, and obviously of special interest to anyone familiar with rap music.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2001
Fascinating, inrtiguing & factual.
From inception to incarceration this is the no holds barred story of life on Death Row Records. Funded by a jailed cocaine baron & money acquired in dubious circumstances from the rapper Vanilla Ice, Death Row Records was the biggest & most controversial Hip Hop label ever.
For people who want to know the truth about NWA, Dr Dre, Snoop, Tupac et al then this film will open your eyes wider than you could imagine.
Even the bonus footage on the DVD is 1st class, including an interview with Snoop & the CCTV film of an incident in a Las Vegas hotel involving Suge Knight & Tupac Shukur hours before the rapper was shot to death.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2003
I thought the film brought out many unknown facts about Death Row Records, however it failed to inform people about the current situation of the Tupac and Biggie murder investigations which I think could have helped people understand the conspiracies believed to be explanations of the 2 rappers' deaths.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2010
Well what can i say .I think its all been said a great watch check it out ,if you aint seen it.A truly griping insight in to one of hip hops most notorious record labels.Powerfull documentry very good and well worth the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)