Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
15
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2001
This album is unlike anything Geldof has done before. And its strangeness goes as deep as its greatness. Indeed, the two are conjoined. It is, at times a difficult album to listen to. But it rewards close and repeated listenings. There are layers. The whole thing has a dreamy (and sometimes phantasmagoric) quality that is at once contemporary and timeless. Many of the lines bring to mind strings of words that are with you early in the morning in a time when you are dealing with grief or tribulition--they don't quite make logical sense, but they make emotional sense. Geldof fearlessly puts this stuff out there for us. He rages, he ponders, he meditates, and, ultimately, he copes--before our very ears.
There are moments of stunning beauty in all of this. I've listened to the album 5 times since I got it and the song "10:15" has twice brought tears to my eyes. And I'm not a weeper. The song is almost embarassingly personal. And devestatingly beautiful. "Pale White Girls" is also fragile and lovely.
"$6,000,000 Loser" is not beautiful, but it is the kind of song you can't get out of your head. That you keep coming back to until you come to terms with it. It is the most stream-of-consciousness thing on the album.
The whole album is deeply felt, powerfuly realized, hard to listen to at times--but even harder to stop listening to. Finally, it is a healing piece of work for anyone who has been in the depths of despair and clawed their way out. It leaves no doubt that someone else knows how it all feels.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2001
Without a doubt this is the best compact disc I have listened to all year. Why? Because of Geldof's brutal honesty in dealing with the issues that have held him musically captive during the past few years. Saint, sinner. Sir Bob is no stranger to either title. The lyrics are unforgettable and the aural landscape Geldof's band paints is truely haunting. The best songs on the album include "One for Me", "Pale White Girls", "Mudslide", and "Inside Your Head". It's been almost a decade since Geldof's "Happy Club", time really has a way of changing a person's perspective.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2001
The new Bob Geldof Album "Sex, Age & Death" is a masterpiece. It impresses with innovative music and profound lyrics. "One For Me" and "Inside Your Head" sounds like the songs from the previous Bob Geldof albums with the "Vegetarians of Love" and "The Happy Clubsters". But most of the songs of the new album appear in a new, progressive style. "Mudslide" and "Mind In Pocket" invoke the young Peter Gabriel. "Scream In Vain" is reminiscent of the "Happy Mondays" and "10.15" cite Leonard Cohen. "Pale White Girls" and "A New Routine" are strongly suggestive of David Bowie in his "Sound and Vision"-phase, when he recorded "Hereos" and "Low" in Berlin. "Sex, Age and Death" is a milestone for the pop music in the 21th century.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2002
This is without doubt Bob Geldofs best solo album.It`s brutal,it`s hard,it`s honest and it is brilliant.Listen to this album 2 oclock in the morning (as Bobs sugests you do)and feel where he is coming from.Listen to the background music,the lyrics,the sounds.It is nothing short of brilliant.There are 12 tracks on this album and they are all great(even the 2 bonus tracks)but my favourites are "One For Me","Mudslide" and "Scream In Vain".Do yourself a favour and buy this album.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2001
I'm not sure whether the correct description of this cd is to say that 'it is one that I really enjoyed' as if you read through the lyrics, they are quite deep and compelling. However I can thoroughly recommend this CD. For those unaware, 'Sex,Age and Death' (I suppose the title should forewarn you!!) deals with Bob Geldof's emotional upheavals over the last several years. However I'm unsure whether or not all the songs were written before Paula Yates untimely death. My faves and comments: 'One for Me' moves along nicely at a steady pace. This one is definetely growing on me and tells the story of how Paula Yates changed in from the person that Bob Geldof had known. '$6 Million dollar Loser' has few lyrics but is one of my favourite songs. 'Pale White Girls' is a very gentle moving song. 'Mudslide' definetly has shades of Pink Floyd and after starting slowly builds into a crescendo...another fave. 'Inside Your Head' is definetly the best and is almost worth the price of the CD alone. Having read the lyrics (superb) before listening, the song did not let me down. Finally the CD ends with a love song to Geldof's new love in his life. A cd worth listening to.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2001
A newspaper review apparently described the lyrics to this album as sounding like a series of dispatches on the way back from hell - well they weren't kidding.
The horrendous events in his personal life over the last few years means that Bob Geldof has pretty much been to hell and back and you can tell.
Especially the lyrics, but the overall tone of this Album is different from his previous work, this is somber and dark - you've heard of albums with angst - this is the real thing.
Not appearing this time is supremo Producer Rupert Hine but Pete Briquette (who shared Production credits on The Happy Club and also appeared on The Vegetarians of Love) takes over and does an excellent job, this album is every bit as well produced as before - no small task given Hines' sheer mastery.
While his previous Studio Album The happy Club was a much more upbeat affair this is still unmistakably Bob Geldof, even if they seem to have missed his first name from the front cover.
Bob Geldof has his own unique style and that hasn't changed, I don't think fans will be disappointed even if the usual smattering of happy tunes are missing.
It's not had time to grow on me yet but I've no doubt it will, slower, sadder albums are often the best.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2001
The CD is very much what you would expect from Bob Geldof. The content of which is very much driven by events that have happened to him over the last few years. It is great musically and lyrically and could surprise a few people that dismiss his music. It does however carry an explicit lyrics sticker so beware! He is not one to swear quietly. This CD proves that he is still the great songwriter that he always has been.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Bob's most brutally honest attempt to wear his heart on his musical sleeve. Easy listening it is not! Suggest you get the 4 disc great songs of indifference which contains this album plus bonus tracks plus his 3 previous solo efforts (plus bonus tracks). Amazon currently selling this at a bargain reduced price too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2007
Bob geldof has always written with a sense of realism and fun,especially with The Rats,this album is "no different"to his many truthfull lyrics of the past,it's who the songs are about,that make this album stand out,it's all about his love's and hate's,past and future,and he has achieved his best solo album to date.I've been a fan since 1978,and the man knows how to put anger and emotion into his songs,i only wish their were more songs on the album,i've seen him sing them live (06)and they're fantastic live.excellent stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2001
The album starts with the brilliant "ONE FOR ME" and takes you through songs like "MUDSLIDE,INSIDE YOUR HEAD,PALE WHITE GIRLS and so on.There are not any tracks where one can say " this song sums up the album". They are all differant and one must take of thier hats and say well done Bob. A brilliant album.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)