Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
57
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2017
I love the Carry On...films, but this isn't one of my absolute favourites.

It's brilliantly silly and packed with laughs, but I personally prefer the contemporary 70s-Britain Carry Ons. The ones with a foreign or historical setting don't work quite as well in my eyes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
THE CARRY ON TEAM ARE AT THERE FUNNY BEST AGAIN WELL WORTH THE MONEY AN IDEAL SHOP.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
great item many thanks quick post
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
still hilarious
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
The tenth Carry on film was the most lavish they ever made (largely due to using the sets and costumes inherited from the extravagant production 'Cleopatra'). Its also one of the finest. The humour is so sharp thanks to one of Talbot Rothwell's best scripts. The cast are all clearly having a ball, with Kenneth Williams' as 'Julie' Caesar ("ooh, I do feel queer") and Amanda Barrie's Cleo really standing out.

And now, 50 years after release, we have the film in glorious HD on Blu-ray. So how does it look? In one word - fantastic. Compared to the previous SD Studio Canal DVD release this is a HUGE upgrade. The picture is exceptionally sharp and very clean. The colour is also much better than the DVD release, being washed out and over dark on the previous version. There is a fine grain evident throughout, as there should be for a film of this era, and it is presented in the correct ratio of 1.66:1. Barring a full negative restoration (which is sadly likely to never happen) this is the finest this film will probably ever look.

The special features were all previously on the DVD. You get the original trailer, stills gallery and an audio commentary from Amanda Barrie (Cleo) and Julie Stevens (Gloria) moderated by Robert Ross (Carry On expert). The commentary is a wonderful affair, with both actresses giving many insightful tales. The DVD also had some trivia info which is not on the Blu-ray, but it is no great loss (I would guide people to the Carry On Companion by Robert Ross for the full story behind all the Carry on films).

The packaging is a bit poor, with the cover picture appearing a bit blurred, and the running time stated as 95mins, despite actually being 92mins, but these are minor quibbles on an otherwise superb release.

Highly Recommended!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
I am very pleased to have this good quality DVD of a film enjoyed at the time of its first release and whenever showed on television since then. The seller will understand, however, why I shall refrain from making the obvious comment about the source of this DVD as I am happy to have it and to pay for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1964's 'Carry On Cleo' is a true British comedy classic, and one of the finest movies in the 'Carry On' series. It spawned one of the most iconic lines of any 'Carry On': ''Infamy, Infamy, they've all got it in for me!'', as spoken by Kenneth Williams in his element, and watching that short snippet alone never fails to make me smile. In fact, I've always believed that 'Cleo' stands up pretty well as a film in it's own right, and has aged rather well, unlike some 'Carry On' productions.

Poor old Caesar (Williams), he isn't having much luck these days, the British weather doesn't agree with him, he has a cold!, and worst of all, his general Mark Anthony (Sid James) has fallen for the charms of the loveable, beautiful Cleopatra (Amanda Barrie), and the pair begin plotting together to overthrow him.

What a treat this is from beginning to end, Kenneth Williams excels in his role, the choice of 'Cleo' couldn't have been better, and even the irregular 'Carry On' performers like Warren Mitchell, Sheila Hancock and Jon Pertwee really do shine as their characters. The script is one of the best, the visuals are stunning (thanks to the inspiration which came from a certain other film about Cleopatra), and the whole production flows like a river. Like all of the movies, it's pure nonsense for sure, but the best period piece ever made from the 'Carry On' team, which also includes Charles Hawtrey, Joan Sims (as Caesar's wife) and Jim Dale in the cast.

As with all the 'red' DVD releases of the 'Carry On' films, aside from 'scene selections', there are no special features at all. Psst, 'Cleo' has recently been released on Blu-ray: Carry On Cleo [1964] [Blu-ray] [1954]
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
You know the movie by now, so we won't go into that. For many it's the best of the series. I'd certainly put it in my top 3. Aside from that, what about the Blu-ray? Well, it's certainly clear that the film has never looked better. The only scenes that don't seem to have improved much are the early sequences between Jim Dale & Kenneth Connor in Ancient Britain. Those scenes still look a bit grainy. After that though, things certainly pick up. The sequences in Rome & Egypt are sharp, clear and look as though they were shot yesterday. As I mentioned in my Carry On Cowboy Blu-ray review, it would be nice if there were some extras and maybe even a booklet to go with the release as it doesn't exactly come cheap!
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
5 star
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
Beware the Ides of March! Infamy! Infamy! They've all got it in for me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)