Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 23 April 2015
An amazing soundtrack by Mariah which deserved much more recognition for it's quality. It may not be her best work but it isn't her worst. It's actually really good.

1. Loverboy Remix 9/10
Not as good as the original version but the rappers included aren't necessarily bad as they suit the track

2. Lead The Way 10/10
One of her best ballads ever. So glad this got brought from out of the Butterfly era and onto this album. It's stunning

3. If We 10/10
So catchy and one of the finest songs on the album, also grows on you A LOT

4. Didn't Mean To Turn You On 9/10
Incredibly catchy and fun, however it does have a moment where too much is going on but this doesn't ruin the song

5. Don't Stop (Funkin' 4 Jamaica) 10/10
Another catchy hit single which deserved recognition. Brilliant song!

6. All My Life 8/10
Not one of the albums best moments but not bad, still good

7. Reflections (Care Enough) 10/10
A brilliant ballad in true Mariah style, brilliant vocals and melodies

8. Last Night A DJ Saved My Life 10/10
Classic rendition of a classic hit single. Highlight!

9. Want You 8/10
Just like All My Life, this is still good but not a stand out track in any way. Worth the listen though

10. Never Too Far 10/10
One of Mariah's best ballads ever. Absolutely stunning with beautiful vocals

11. Twister 10/10
You can tell how personal this song is, I love this one!

12. Loverboy 10/10
The original is much better, amazingly catchy and a great follow up to the Rainbow era. So overlooked! Worth listening to

As a whole this is a very good album which was unfairly pushed down and forgotten. Must buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2002
ok, ok, so the film got v bad ratings, but dont let that put you off buying this. I havent actually seen the film so whether its as good as the soundtrack i dont know. The album itself is quite a different style to mariahs last few albums (rainbow, butterfly..) and most of the tracks have an 80's influence, which is a great change which works! the highlights for me are If We, a collaboration with the mighty Ja Rule, and Dont Stop with Mystikal. an all round good album, (with a couple of classic mariah ballads!!) buy it despite what you thought of the film.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2004
This album is automatically considered to be a flop by many people. However, it was a concept album and a soundtrack. For a soundtrack it actually did very well. Not the best of Mariah's career but it still has some great tracks on this and she sounds great! 'Loverboy' is a great opener. Many say is has no tune but this is due to Jennifer Lopez using the Yellow Magic Orchestra's song 'Firecacker' in her song 'I'm Real'. Mariah had originally planned to use this as the basis for 'Loverboy' but JLo got there first so Mariah based 'Loverboy' on Cameo's 'Candy'. If you listen to 'I'm Real' you can actually sing the lyrics of 'Loverboy' over the chorus! Other great tracks include 'If We' 'Don't Stop' 'Lead The Way' 'Didn't Mean To Turn You On' and 'Want You'. All in all a great album that is overlooked by the bombing of the accompanying film (which isn't that bad either!!).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2001
It would not be unfair to say that since her separation from Sony hot-shot, Tommy Mottola, Mariah Carey has been the focus of a lot of negative media attention. Ironically, while many have criticised her yearning to break free of her once "girl-next-door" image, this very longing has allowed a more innovative and artistically liberated Mariah to emerge, making her music so much more interesting. God only knows that had Carey churned out another four or five "Music Boxes," her career would have been dead long ago.
Thankfully, "Glitter" is a fine example of how Carey is unafraid to keep evolving as an artist, experimenting with new - and old - sounds. Here, Mariah brings the eighties back in a big way. Scarily enough, the barely-touched remake of the 1984 hit "I Didn't Mean To Turn You On," actually sounds cool, as does her remake of "Last Night a DJ Saved My Life" (a sure club hit). Carey also continues on with the "hip-pop" culture she initiated back in '95, with grooves such as "If We," and "Don't Stop (Funkin' 4 Jamaica)."
"Want You," a duet with Eric Benet, is an absolute gem, and is a smooth, seductive tune, reminiscent of the '96 remix of Always Be My Baby featuring Da Brat.
Of course, the ballads are all here ("Lead The Way," "Reflections (Care Enough)," "Never Too Far," and "Twister"), showing that when it comes to the power ballads, Mariah still knows how to deliver.
The awesome "All My Life," is arguably the most unique track on the album - or even in Mariah's career. The production gives it a "live" feel, and provides a soulful groove that is sure to blow many away.
However, no Mariah album is complete without the all-important 'first single' - always track 1, always upbeat, and never more than one word in the title (a tradition she has kept alive since the #1 hit "Emotions" in 1991). But unlike most of its predecessors (i.e. "Fantasy," "Heartbreaker," etc.) "Loverboy" takes a few listens to appreciate its somewhat 'hidden' qualities.
Overall, Glitter is a step in a totally different, and exciting, direction - it is NOT Rainbow Part 2 (or should I say, Daydream Part 4?) However let's not forget that this album is, more than anything else, a soundtrack to film set in the 80's, and is most likely, simply a momentary venture into new teritory before returning to continue in the tradition of "Daydream," "Butterfly," and "Rainbow."
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2001
Mariah is back with a new album, a cross over between 1980's funk and 2001's hip-hop. She is a true genius, not only does she have an outstanding voice, she also writes the most wonderful lyrics and helps with the production of the album.
Loverboy (the remix): a fresh hip-hop funky summer tune with the inclusion of an array of rap artists.
Lead The Way: A slow piano based ballad with Mariah's trademark whispering vocals leading to more trademark Mariah power vocals.
If We: Starting off like a nursery rhyme leading into a relaxed heavily hip-hop based song. Featuring Nate Dogg and Ja Rule.
Didn't Mean To Turn You On: Penned by Jam & Lewis this 80's funk is something you'll shake your booty to with infectious funky beats and guitar riffs midway through.
Don't Stop: A mix between hip hop and a jazzy pop song, there's a very hip hop feel with the beats and from the inclusion of Mystikal, but the sparkly jazz melody... the result is a catchy hip hop floor filler!
All My Life: The most pop track on the album, this is pure disco. A very catchy chorus and wonderful 80's flute sounds and Mariah's strong vocals make this song just well sparkle.
Reflections: Another ballad, this time more catchy. Again Mariah showcases her vocal ability from switching between her whispy and diva voice.
Last Night A DJ Saved My Life: A hip hop version of a classic disco anthem, with the heavy inclusion of Busta Rhymes and a funky hip hop beat going on makes this a work of art. The mix between Mariah's heartless vocals and the funk of the hip hop touches make this one of the stand out tracks.
Want You: Another 80's funk style songs... with great backing music. Mariah and Eric Benet compete with their vocals, a very strong song. But unlike the other 80's songs, this is more laid back.
Never Too Far: This has a beautiful string intro leading to Mariah's strongest ballad on the album. She pushes her voice out to make this more dramatic.
Twister: Another ballad, this time a short but sweet one, very mystical and much like a tragic lullaby.
Loverboy: Not as good as the remix, but with cameo taking a cut of the limelight, this seems slightly more classic than the remix.
Loverboy (MJ Cole Remix): A garage style remix, jazzing up loverboy. A Great ending to a great album.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2001
This album is absoloutly fantastic. With a collection of 80's style tracks and sweet ballads. 'I didn't mean to turn you on' is a classic- a very powerful song with very powerful notes.
The whole album is excellent and there isn't a dull track in sight. As like RAINBOW mariah has hooked up to write with 'Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis( Janet Jackson, Mary J blIGE ETC. lOOKS LIKE SHE'LL TEAM UP WITH THEM AGAIN AND AGAIN- THEY BOTH MAKE EXCELLENT MUSIC.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2001
Mariah is back! She got a very good album. Although her last album "Rainbow" is better, Glitter gets to keep the quality of her work. The tracks "All My Life", "Lead The Way", "Never Too Far" e "Loverboy" are fabulous! Her voice shines! I just didn't like the central photo, she wasn't fotografed the way she is in real.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2001
This album is a fantastic album and Mariah has outdone herself again. Everysong on the album is great with the RnB feel she has in her music and is well worhth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2001
Glitter opens with the single 'Loverboy' a catchy, sparkly, funky piece of pop with a hip-hop edge. The album has four stunning ballads, 'Lead the way', 'reflections', 'never too far' and 'twister' all are filled with mariahs emotional and touching voice, Reflection being the best of the bunch with it's catchy chorus and tragic lyrics. The rest of the tracks are funky disco songs again with a hip-hop edge brought by the many rap artists mariah has collaborated with on this fine album. The catchiest of these songs are 'Don't stop', 'All my life' and the remake of 'Last night a DJ saved my life'. Overall this album is very funky, and the title does say it all, it's a glamorous album full of heart felt emotional lyrics, vocals along with funky yet infectious disco beats. This album is not one to be missed, i strongly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2001
This is the Mariah we all know and love. Glitter reaffirms Carey's position as the worlds top female vocalist. From the melancholic Never Too Far, to the stonking dancefloor remake of Last Night a DJ saved my life, this album demonstrates Carey's inate ability to sing ballards, R'n'B tracks and dance numbers without appearing out of her depth in any genre. This album is a must. Every track could easily be a single. Gone are the gimmics, just great vocals. This album demonstrates that behind the gloss, (and hot pants!), all that Glitters really is gold
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)