Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2017
This book will grip your imagination and inspires sympathy for its main character, whatever your political view. It is very well written, considering the possibility that an elected (left wing) government might be toppled by the 'powers that be'. Although I think that the end could have been more of a battle, I heartily recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
A page turner of a fictitious novel, with lots of truth, as to where the power really resides within our country.One can relate to similar true to life protests given as fiction in us book.
I anticipated the outcome, wished it was different,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
Despit it being written in the 80's it's still very relevant to the political situation today. Read it for my reading group but would not have been my personal choice of a read but it is interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
This was written many years ago and made into a TV series again in 2012. What's worse is that the manipulation you will read in the book by civil servants and the media is probably worse now than was predicted in the book. It's frightening close to the truth when it comes to the old boy network maintaining their world order. A great read and one that will keep wondering who will be next in real life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
A brilliant concept that started really well but flattered to deceive. The story became becalmed a third of the way through and never really recovered.
When a book is written where the outcome is pretty obvious from the earlier chapters it needs more energy to hold the reader.

Over rated!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
How true is it today?.....pretty damned close!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
Quite a disturbing tale. If this is based on 'true life' politics we are all in trouble! A good, if disturbing, read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Great! After the style of House of Cards, a good read, if you like political thrillers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
no problems
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
I read it the week of the election. Astonishing how it mirrored the rise of Jeremy Corbin! Could the outcome have been similar if he had won!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)