Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 October 2000
A fantastic debut mini album from one of the greatest bands around. Every track hits you from six. Shade kicks ass, and was featured on the Sony Playstation game 'Gran Turismo'.
If you want a 22 minute blast of quality rock with infectious choruses and mighty riffs this is the CD of choice.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2001
With just 6 tracks you'd think that it's too short to bother with and spend money on, but it's just the opposite. Feeders' first commercially available CD is short but sweet. Two of the tracks ('Sweet 16' and 'Shade') also appeared on the Gran Turismo game for the PlayStation.
1: 'Sweet 16' - Great tune and the story to it is well thought out.
2: 'Stereo World' - Pure rock noise. Class. Personally my least favourite "Swim" track.
3: 'W.I.T.' ('Women In Towels') - Quite amusing lyrics and very catchy.
4: 'Descend' - Excellent slower track that bursts in and out of the chorus. Possibly the best track on "Swim", matched only by
5: 'Shade' - Excellent rock type indie song. Cool lyrics, cool tune, great ending.
6: 'Swim' - A deep and thoughtful acoustic track. If you don't like acoustic songs I'm sure you'd like this.
This mini-album has the lot!
Rock, Indie, Acoustic, Depressing, Soul lifting, Feel good songs, Amusing lyrics.....
What more could you want?! It's better than most full albums!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2001
what a great idea. sell millions of albums (echo park) establish a solid fan base and re-release a previous album with extra songs and added empf! feeder fans will not be dissapointed with the bands original style and contrast in musical tastes. people who are newcomers to the band will see a difinative awe that has surounded the group for some time now. whateva... u will be struck dumb with hard hitting songs such as ''sweet sixteen' and 'chicken on a bone'' which took off when they were used in GT on the playstaion. A fantastic album with catchy lyrics and musical ability, u will be amazed. HONESTLY!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2001
This is a stunning debut mini-album from a band that show so much potential. WIT kicks and from the opening note of Stereo World you know that it is going to be the best track on the album. I have never heard a better debut, and to not buy this is pure foolishness. OK, so its only 6 tracks, and not many people can play vinyl these days, but these 6 tracks on a proper record player capture the cream of todays rock/indie influenced music. The vinyl gives an authentic feel to the songs, and they do sound amazing. If anyone buys this and doesn't like it, come and see me so I can give you your money back. I'm that confident you'll love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2002
I heard the original record swim and i thought it was fantastic, however you may not think it is worth buying a 6 track album, now you really have no excuse. If you have recently started likeing feeder and you loved Echo Park you should definately try this, but it is a lot different...it shows their heavier beginning but it still has their classic feeder sound. A must have for all feeder fans.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2003
This is the re-release of feeders 1st mini album swim. It includes a few extra songs on it. The Main highlights are the fantastic Acoustic track Swim, Sweet 16 and Chicken on a Bone. However in my opinion, Forgiven is the most powerful and amazing song on the album. In fact with having all Feeders albums i can say that this song really does rank up there with some of the best. You must buy this Cd!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2001
One of the best rock releases around.Each song has amazing earcatching choruses which will never die.There is also a classic acoustic track, swim. The first song sweet sixteen will blow you away,you'll never forget it. Overall swim is just about the best 22 minutes around.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2005
Running on the Success of 'Echo Park', Feeder Release their EP 'Swim' with 6 extra tracks. opening track 'Sweet 16' is a catchy song, with quite haunting lyrics about stalking; "her mind filled as she loaded the weapon, her mind racing she cried". 'stereo world' proves to be a heavy poppy song, with a great riff and a brilliant chorus. 'W.I.T (women in towels)' shows yet more of Grants Quirky writing and catchy riffs. Haunting track 'Descend' Makes another appearence, after appearing on 'Polythene', whilst 'Shade' is a hard hitting Grunge tune that could hold its own in the charts, with a mix of everything really. a slow section, memorable lyrics and hard hitting riffs really set this track apart. 'Swim' is one of those songs that takes a while to get used to, as a slow acoustic song, but really shows grants great singing. starting on the added songs, B-side 'Elegy' Proves to be the slowest song on the album, and a great calm down song, but doesnt flow at all into the next song 'World Asleep', which is probably the heaviest song on the album. More quirkyness as 'Chicken On A Bone' makes an appearance, and 'Spill' adds to the heavier side of Feeder's work. Ending Track 'Forgiven' is another slower song, much akin to 'Elegy'. as a bonus for those with a PC (who doenst have one these days :P ) there are two videos from the 'polythene' release, 'Crash' and 'Cement'. Overall a great album to pop on, and one to show feeder haters who think feeder are 100% soft
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2007
this little mini album is great.
the songs a re a;ot simpler than what was to come owning much more to a punky/grunge mish mash.
all the pieces are in place for what was to come though....great melodies and catchy hooks all over the place.
stereo world will become one of your favourite songs....ever....fact!!!
yes they do sound immature in comparison....but well they are old songs written by a band finding their feet....most other bands would still be releasing their demo at this stage in their career but feeder had gottne themselves signed and have done almost all of their growing up in the public eye.
i love this album as its very close in style to polythene and alot faster and heavier than what was to come.
i would say its essential for the completist but not for the passing fan
if you are new to feeder through pushing the senses try the other stuff before this!!!
its a million miles away from where they are now
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
I bought this years ago when I was at uni in 1997. Feeder were my favorite band back in those days but I kind of went off them the more radio friendly and the bigger they got. I haven't listened to anything past Comfort in Sound bar the hits.

This though, is amazing. This is back when Feeder really rocked out. I have both versions of this CD and the red one with the extra tracks is obviously better. Grant Nicholas remains a suburb songwriter but this was back when he was raw and at the top of his game. The rock tracks, stuff like World Asleep, WIT and Descend are absolute stormers, while the slow tracks like Elegy are just beautiful. You're not a Feeder fan unless you own it and if you aren't a Feeder fan but you love rock you'll probably like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)