Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
18
4.8 out of 5 stars
Fonteyn And Nureyev - The Perfect Partnership [DVD] [2011]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£15.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

VINE VOICEon 10 August 2011
I already had a video copy of this wonderful compilation. One I had recorded
from a BBC TV program so I was aware of the excellence of its content. This is
definately a recording to keep and introduce to others. Rudolph and Margo are
the finest example of a "Perfect Partnership" of ballet excellence there has
ever been and ever will be. One is priviledged to be able to see the finest ballet
over and over again. I will keep the video tape and the DVD for as long as I live.
I have already received so much pleasure from them. It is all there for all to
appreciate and enjoy.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
Pleased I bought it. Nice service from the seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2010
As an owner of the original version, I have longed to own this enhanced version for quite some time. But, as I am a resident of the U.S., my DVD player did not accommodate the European format.
I now have an all-region DVD player and am thrilled with this production showing video clips of "Giselle", "Hamlet", and that "Ed Sullivan-Swan Lake" clip. These two were really a dazzling pair and I would be grateful to be able to see the full 2nd act of "Giselle" or anything else that exists of their performances. If you know nothing about them, this DVD will inform and entertain. Any Fonteyn/Nureyev fan ( and there are tons of us in U.S.) would be happy to have this in their collection.

Wanda Garofalo
Chicago, Il
USA
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 August 2013
This remarkable DVD contains wonderful recordings of rare performances as well as interesting interviews which - although avoiding the more problematic areas of the star's lives - are often fascinating. Highly recommended - especially as an accompaniment to such biographies as Julie Kavanagh's monumental work on Nureyev or the Fonteyn biography. Yes a picture can be worth 1000 words....and this DVD certainly achieves that.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
faultless performances on one dvd - they were feted as much as the beatles in the 60's and to have this compilation on one dvd is great esp Marguerite and Armand
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
This documentary is very well put together giving a concise history of their time as dancing partners. The ballet sequences are PURE MAGIC showing how they were both inspired by the other. For me, those that were most emotional were films from the ballets Marguerite and Armand and Romeo and Juliet. I shall play these many times over as they have the power to bring tears to my eyes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
It was a fantastic film. I really enjoyed it. The portrayal of Fonteyn and Nureyev by the Actors was absolutely wonderful. I learned a lot about Margot Fonteyn's life behind the ballet, and never realised she was with who she was with. It was riveting. I would definitely recommend this film to anyone interested in the Ballet. Wonderful.!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
I saw Nureyev in London a few times & it was an amazing experience. Unfortunately I never saw him dance with Fonteyn so this DVD allowed me to see how dynamic the partnership was. Thank you
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
Beautifully executed during s period of their livesdancing together. Magic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
OMG! This is FABULOUS! I will, forever, regret, seeing Nereyev's last performance in Edinburgh some years ago. Absolutely wonderful Dancer. XXXX
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)