Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
207
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2004
It is a shame that this film is not as popular now with younger children as it once was with children when it first came out. It remains one of my favourite Disney Classics, along with The Sword in the Stone, Aladdin, Pinocchio, Beauty and the Beast and The Little Mermaid. You can't help but fall in love with Penny, Bernard, Bianca and Penny's cat and you can't help but hate Madame Medusa and her cronies. This one will be enjoyed by those who love Disney and those who have never seen a Disney film before. One for all the family.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2010
Possibly my favourite Disney film, though I'm also fond of The Sword In The Stone and Basil the Great Mouse Detective. They're all classics that have sort of fallen off the radar, not as well known or celebrated as Bambi, Snow White, Beauty and The Beast etc, but as a child they were my favourites. For the most part The Reascuers is a very sweet film, about two little mice who are part of a society dedicated to rescuing children in peril. One is Bernard, a chubby, bumbling former janitor, who is charmingly awkward and nervous, and his glamorous and exotic compainion Bianca, who loves excitement and adventure.
They set off to rescue a sweet little girl named Penny, with a cute lisp, who is an orphan who's afraid noone will ever want her (awwww!). They get help along the way from a sweet old cat named Rufus, and a boisterous albatross who runs his own airline with himself as the plane.
It's all very nice, but as usual a disney film is really only as good as its villain, and the film really comes alive with the arrival of the fabulous Madame Medusa. She is a flame haired monster, with a hilariously pronounced sexy walk and disproportionately prominent rear, a wonderful array of facial expressions and a perfect voice for expressing contempt and bad temper. I used to fall about laughing when ever she snarled 'oh, shuttup!' at her hapless accomplice, Snoops, which is something she does fairly frequently. She is just a wonderful work of character in animation, whether she is driving recklessly in her demonic, exhaust spewing car, attacking her pet crocodiles with a broom, or persuading Penny to go into a dark, flooded cavern to retrieve a diamond; my favourite Disney villain, just a little above the gloriously self absorbed Gaston and the evil professor Rattigan!
Its a great film for children, but I have to be honest, I watched it just the other day and still loved it as much as ever, so either its an ageless classic, nostalgia got the better of me, or I haven't matured a day since primary school.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2003
"The Rescuers" has got to be one of the best, dramatic, dark-atmosphered films that Disney has ever created. You can't help to fall in love with the sweet tale of a little orphan girl taken away from the orphanage and used as a slave in life-threatening underground missions. That piece of storytelling, on it's own is tear-jerking, but how emotional can it get? Very.

Beautiful, dramatic melodies that sound like lullabies are carefully added as finishing touches to the most warm scenes, beginning with the artistic musical sequence "The Journey," which opens the film in one of the most heart-calling ways Disney has ever done, to the soft "Someone's Waiting for You" in which the young girl Penny, loses and regains her faith and hope once again, you can't help but feel the urge of crying during scenes like this. The scene in which Penny says her night prayers before going to bed was carefully crafted to bring up a bit more emotion to the upcoming climax.

Songs like "Rescue Aid Society" and "Tomorrow is Another Day" are nicely added to allow the viewer a few moments of happiness during the charming film.

Besides the music, Disney has added several moments of action and suspense, including one in which Madame Medusa, the kidnapper, lowers poor innocent Penny into a dangerous and humid cave at the shore in which the girl's life might be threatened enormously, Medusa could care less about that, making you hate her even more, which makes her a fantastic villain whom from the first moment of the film's opening, she is motivating the story.

A lot of humor, fun and colorful and lovable characters are added to take you away from the dark atmosphere once in a while. The ending is one of the happiest among Disney's finales and certainly leaves you hoping for a sequel, one in which you can be sure Penny is happily living and away from harm's way as it would have happened in early development of "Oliver & Company" and not at all what we got in the lame "The Rescuers Down Under."

Overall, "The Rescuers" along with "Dumbo," "The Fox and the Hound" and "Bambi" is definitely a charming story anyone can enjoy. Disney's currently releases of the film leave a lot to be desired, especially the picture quality. Hopefully Disney will soon release this film properly like it deserves to be.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
This is a great kids film! The songs are catchy but not too annoying (Think more in the background like Toy Story). It's a Classic!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
I have always been a huge fan of the film's sequel Rescuers Down Under, with this one always merely being fun to me, however I was still excited when heard this was getting the blu ray treatment, and I was not disappointed.

Film - the film itself is a classic, and contains an interesting balance between the sweeter side of Disney as well as some of it's darker more forgotten about elements that push the limits of a child-friendly film. However that said, having grown up watching this and darker installments, I don't think it would have any lasting effect and if anything works as an ideal starter for your child to grow curious about darker films as they get older.

Transfer - the transfer looks great, with only minor distraction being how crisp and clear the visuals looked mixed with the slightly scruffy line art style of film characters itself, but this is easy to settle in to.

Extras - comes with a deleted song, sing-a-long, and two animated shorts which are relatively fun for a fan. As well as an introduction to Blu Ray with Timon & Pumbaa, and of course the Disney Movie Rewards card to redeem on the site and earn points towards a free title.

So overall, although this is not the most amazing visually, or crammed with extras of the Disney catalogue, if you enjoy the film or wish simply to see how it holds up, this is notably superior to the dvd equivelant, and worth the money spent.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2001
This is Disney at its best !
Younger kids are guaranteed to be watching this movie until they know every word, and sing along with every song.
The 'older kids' will be appreciating the truly mastered animation and non-violent storyline. Disney has always had its way of making the audience feel for the characters. Nobody knows how they do it, but they manage to turn a series of drawings and sounds into a magical, emotional tale like no other. 'The Rescuers', once again, pulls it off and leaves everyone satisfied.
A 'pure' Disney-adventure, suitable for all ages...
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2016
I remember this from when I was a child and it is still a nice film to watch even if it is a tad dated now. My 6yr old sat and watched this despite there not being any big musical numbers or Princesses so definitely worth a shot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2001
This is a story well-told, with lots of charm, humour, pathos and excitement. There is a wonderful team of goodies pitted against a delightful team of baddies - Disney does great baddies! A little girl has been kidnapped, and two heroic mice, with lots of animal help, set out to rescue her. The story is a visual delight, in the best Disney tradition, and still has my family on the edge of our seats many viewings down the line.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2010
"The Rescuers" is still a movie shown to animation students everywhere; the animation in it is simply that stupendous and magical. This 1977 animated movie still delivers. Strong characters and story help it to shine as brightly today as the diamond on which the whole story centres.

At the Rescue Aid Society in New York (beneath the UN Headquarters), a message in a bottle pleading for help is examined. Bianca, a foreign representative, takes the case and selects timid but moral janitor Bernard for the job. They set out to find the girl, Penny, and help her all they can. That the two are mice won't distract them from dealing with larger-than-life foes such as the incredible Medusa, her bumbling partner-in-crime Snoops and alligators Brutus and Nero. Penny, whom Medusa uses to search for the legendary diamond the Devil's Eye due to her small size, needs all the help she can get. But the Rescuers are up against formidable foes.

The Rescuers is a short movie, only about 75 minutes, but it packs its punch into its short time frame. The characters really make the movie shine. Bernard and Bianca work wonderfully together, as does the troupe of supporting characters such as the swamp rodents. The only character I don't like is the mosquito whose name I keep forgetting, and who has a large part in the movie. Penny is adorable and we totally feel for her in the horrible situation she finds herself in.

However, the star of the movie is Medusa, the sort of character who only occurs once in cinema. She is despicable and repulsive, yet beautifully so; she is fascinatingly and charismatically evil. Here is a person who has pet alligators and deals with rodents by shooting them with a shotgun. Geraldine Paige nails the voice role, but it's the animators who bring her so fantastically to life. Disney was using another sort of production style at the time, where they xeroxed their drawings, resulting in the rough pencil style also seen in the Aristocats and Robin Hood. Some reviewers here don't like it, and I couldn't disagree with them more. I personally love this style, as it draws out the true rawness and beauty of the animation; it isn't trying to hide the draftsmanship behind it all. As I stated above, The Rescuers is still noted for its animation. More than once, in my animation school, have my teachers liked to show us Medusa's first clip, on which you could model a whole animation class. Medusa's gestures, moves, looks and little mannerisms represent a level of animation that only a master can stout at possessing. What did you expect, from someone like Milt Kahl? All this makes Medusa not only a marvel in animation, but a timeless and electric character that will live on in our minds for a long, long time.

Interestingly, the villains in the movie attracted all the best animators. Not only Medusa but her "sweetheart" Snoops is fantastic. Pet alligators Brutus and Nero are then simply astounding, doing for animal animation what Medusa does for human animation. The scene where they're playing the organ is simply delicious to behold.

The Rescuers is an amazing animated movie for the ages. It's got something for everyone; great story, awesome characters, stupendous animation (which brings both of the aforementioned to life). This is one of those times when animation fully reveals its potential. Let it be forever heralded.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
An amazing story that are both hit you in the heart at first but can make you laugh in the end as well. If you're a fan of animated films, whether Disney or not, this classical disney DVD is worth getting. You'll never get movies like these anymore especially with the classical disney touch. A real favourite for families and I am delighted to have bought this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse