Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
122
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.95+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2002
I have evry blink album, and ive read about 20 reviews and they're all wrong- trust me. This album is easily on a whole blinks best yet. some songs like 2stay togethjer foer the kids" do remind you a bit of other songs like "adams song" and the album does get worse towards the end- but the overall quality of the songs beats any other album. Story of a lonely guy is an example of true genius, and toms acoustic "what went wrong" is full of teen angst that only blink can truly muster. First date is just a true punk classic and "rock show" is another tune which kicks out. Many have said blink arent punk any more after enema, but they soooo are, its just evolved from the total raw sound of cheshire cat into a far more musically accomplisghed sound, still punk, but with more talent. This album kicks ass, you may want songs like !"dammit" and "josie" to help lift it towards the end but it is worth every penny. The songs are not all as good as the best of blink, but all the songs are up there. top stuff
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2008
'Take off Your Pants and Jacket' was the first album when Blink started to write more mature songs. Earlier albums were more for humour and had funny songs. This album has those, and is still classic Blink 182, but shows a more mature side to the boys. In my opinion, this is a good thing, as they have come out with their best album. Tracks:

'Anthem Part 2': Good opener to the album. A classic Blink song with humour and a great one to sing along to. 4/5

'Online Songs': Another sorn with 'Josie' in it. Great song. Quick and to the point, its funny but slightly serious at the same time. 4/5

'First Date': Classic Blink track. Funny but you can hear how true it is aswell. One of Blink's best songs. 5/5

'Happy Holidays, You Bastard': A 42 second fast paced song with no real meaning, but it is hilarious. 5/5

'Story of a Lonely Guy': Great song. One of Blink's more mature songs that has real meaning to it and is very true. 5/5

'The Rock Show': What a brilliant song this is. One of Blink's best ever. Everyone knows this. Its short, but fast paced and addictive. A song that has to be sung along with. 5/5

'Stay Together For The Kids': Beautiful track that really shows how much Blink have matured. Really goes to the hard and you can hear the angst in the lyrics. 5/5

'Roller Coasters': Obvious Blink track that is simple but heartfelt. 4/5

'Recless Abandon': One of the weakest tracks on the album in my opinion. Its ok, but its nothing different. 3/5

'Every Time I Look For You': Ok track with a good chorus but is pretty weak apart from that. 3/5

'Give Me One Good Reason': Not one of Blink's best known songs but I think this is really great. It just shows everything that teenagers deal with and will realate to any teen. Great track. 5/5

'Shut Up': Another more mature song with teen angst. Great track about being annoyed at home and again, every teen can relate. 4/5

'Please Take Me Home': Good, simple track with a chorus that will stay in your head. 4/5

'What Went Wrong': Bonus track (on my cd anyway). Very good, a classic Blink song showing that they haven't matured completely. :) Good end to the album. 5/5

As I said in the title, I think this is Blink's best album. It has the perfect mix of classic Blink songs that are funny, but also mixed with more mature tracks that really get their point across. A must buy for any Blink fan and I think if you are just getting into Blink, this is a good album to start with. Definately worth the cash!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2001
I bought this CD the day it came out and having listened to it over the past few months so i think im well equipped to review it. When i first listened to the album online songs was one of my favourites but now i see it as one of the weaker tracks(but there really are no bad tracks!!!).
This album takes the pop sensibilities and irresistable melodies of enema and combines it with the fast punky hooks and riffs of dude ranch. This is the perfect combination for blink and the result is their best most balanced and diverse album to date. In the past they have been criticised for lacking variety in their songs and sound but this is no longer the case. You have the pure fast pop punk of gorgeous lead off single "rock show" and the catchy bouncy "first date" that reminds me of all the small things and could have been wrote with radio and mtv in mind.
They also have some touching slower mid tempo melancholy rock songs like "stay together for the kids" and "story of a lonely guy". Prime examples of their evolution into great songwriters who can write simple upbeat bouncy rock songs are "everytime i look for you" and "roller coaster". Also they have their typically punk rebellious anthems-"anthem part2" (no pun intended) and gimme 1 good reason". To cap it all off they have 2 gorgeous bonus songs in "time to break up" and "what went wrong". If youve ever been dumped or broken it off with a girl/boy you will relate to time to break up so much. The second bonus is a tongue in cheek acoustic ode to billy joe armstrongs good riddance and is rather good. If you liked the hilarious country song or family reunion from the live album then happy holidays and f**k a dog will cater to your needs.
Overall it is their most complete and best album to date. I was relieved it hasnt been as over produced and doesnt sound as fake and airy as enema. It has got the speed and punkiness of their earlier efforts but with better tunes and instrumentation(the type of which can be found on enema). Basically they still write about girls and troubles of normal life so being a teenager i can totally relate to them alot and thats why i like them ahead of the nu-metal falseness of portraying life as a living hell even after going multi platinum(cough, cough limp bizkit).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2005
I've been a blink fan since the early years but I have to say it doesn't get any better than Take Off Your Pants & Jacket. It combines the energy of earlier albums (eg Dude Ranch & Enema) with a bit of the maturity that was obvious in their last album. It also features my 2 favourite songs of all time. Story Of A Lonely Guy speaks on so many levels to anyone who has ever been in love with a girl and every kid of divorce should listen to Stay Together For The Kids. I waited through the night outside to be the first with my hands on it & it was worth every second! They really achieved punk/pop/rock perfection with this one!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2001
The album rules!!! It has more to it than their other albums (well, most albums have more to them than Buddha!!!) There is a better sound than in Enema of the State and the guys are on top form - guitar solos are brilliant and constant rousing chorus' keep the songs as alive and youthful as the likes of All The Small Things and Dumpweed. Anthem part 2 starts where the last one left off. Rock Show is probably the best on the Album and Tom DeLonge does s Billie-Joe-esque (Time Of Your Life) heartwarming ballad with What Went Wrong as a bonus track! Shame about the 'comedy songs' though (Happy Holidays - You B*****d and F**k a Dog) - Why oh Why, guys, why?!?!? BUY IT!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2001
This is the best blink album yet. The sound is closer to Dude Ranch than Enema, yet it is more refined. Once again all the song are great, with highlights being Reckless Abandon,Please take me home and Anthem(2). This album is much more 'adult' than any of their previous studio releases - like The Mark, Tom and Travis show, it contains a couple of extremely dodgy yet funny (for the first time) 1 minute songs. It seems Blink have found their market niche (blatant immaturity) and are making sure they fill it. Yes, this is their 4th full length album, but the Blink boys have totally failed to grow up, and are as funny as never. My only concern is that younger fans of Enema will be alienated as on that LP there were no hints of this dodgy side to the band. All in all, though, this is their best album yet, with a series of super-catchy punk rock riffs and great humourous lyrics.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2001
This is a class album, make no mistake.
Okay, the lyrics are a bit simplistic, but who ever bought blink for their lyrical genius? To give them credit they are not as juvenile as I expected.
There are some great songs - notably first date, reckless abandon and stay together for the kids and of course, rock show. This is a really catchy album; you'll be singing the songs for weeks.
Easily worth anyone's money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 December 2006
In their fairly long career, blink-182 created two brilliant punk albums, one that defined them - 1999's pop masterpiece Enema Of The State - and one that redefined and destroyed them - 2003's eclectic, untitled, final album - and in between came Take Off Your Pants And Jacket.

Ending up between the towering figures of those two albums does it a disservice. Without doubt, this album is crammed with great singles; 'First Date,' a wilfully dumb but loveable canter that's the pop-punk equivalent of 'Could Well Be In' by the Streets; the entertaining sugar-rush of 'The Rock Show'; and by far the standout track and signpost for the future, the divorce-themed heartbreaker that is 'Stay Together For The Kids,' one of their most mature songs.

There's also a couple of decent album tracks, like 'Anthem (Part II),' following on from its namesake, albeit in an inferior form; and admittedly, 'Happy Holidays, You Bastard' is hilarious, though it shouldn't be. However, the rest of this album is relentless filler at the best of times. This is the kind of material that blink-182 can write standing on their head, and it's unsurprising that they thought it a dead end, leading to Tom Delonge's side project 'Boxcar Racer' the next year and then the next blink album.

If you're a real blink fan, then you should add this to your collection, be it for completism's sake or simply to soak up the better moments. If you're only passing by, then all the songs you need from this album are available on the flawless Greatest Hits collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2001
Blink 182 return with 'Take Off Your Pants And Jacket', supposedly their most 'Punk Rock' record yet. Certainly, some tracks have a raw, hard edge - namely 'Give Me One Good Reason' and 'Shut Up' which back this claim up to a certain extent. But its a bit of a Jekyll and Hyde of an album. The first seven tracks are great singalong, melodic tracks not unlike what is to be found on the previous album, 'Enema Of The State'. But by track eight one finds Blink running out of ideas. The second half of the album contains no stand out tracks like the first half which sees Blink in top form on 'Story Of A Lonely Guy' and 'Online Songs'. Too often does on drift off and realise they've missed about three songs.
The immaturity remains, but occasionally Blink's potential as serious songwriters is allowed to present itself. 'Stay Together For The Kids' may sound like a poor man's 'Adam's Song' but it is touching and the guitars sound as good a ever here. The acoustic bonus track 'What Went Wrong' may be the most impressive moment, Tom DeLonge sounds genuinely bitter and hurt and the piano piece, though simplistic, has a moving effect and an emotional sound to it.
'Take Off Your Pants And Jacket' - a combination of the good, the bad, the ugly and the ridiculous.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2002
I went out and got TOYPAJ after hearing The Rock Show at my friend's house. I'd only just started to venture out of the world of pop music at that time, and on the first play of the album, I was pleasantly surprised.
It's a very upbeat, 'fun' album. It's always good to cheer you up - even the more 'sad' songs make you feel happier. 'Story of a Lonely Guy' is one of the album's high points, as is 'Anthem Part 2', 'The Rock Show', 'Stay Together for the Kids' and 'Please Take Me Home'. My least favourite track is 'Online Songs', but it's still something I'll more than happily listen to.
The songs are very catchy, and you just want to sing along to them constantly. It got lots of play at my friend's 14th birthday, 'The Rock Show' causing my best friend and I to jump around the room singing along, another friend playing the air guitar.
It's brilliant, and you really won't regret buying it - if you're anything like me, and this is the first Blink album you get, you'll find yourself madly saving up to get all the other albums!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here