Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
38
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2003
When the term 'comedy' is attached to modern films the first thought that often springs to mind is one of rude innuendoes and clichéd movie sketches. Not that this is necessarily always bad, however, but if you are the type of person who enjoys a sophisticated comedy filled with the intricacies of personal relationships, then this film is a must-see.
When Owen (Danny De Veto) and his teacher, Larry, (Billy Crystal) get their wires crossed it leads to disastrous consequences. Owen mistakenly thinks that once he has killed Larry's ex-wife then Larry will kill his mother. Of course, Larry didn't agree to this. After pushing, pestering and persistence does Larry succumb to Owen's pleading? Or is it after meeting Mrs Lift (Anne Ramsey) that perhaps Larry would enjoy to kill such a woman?
The film is filled with suspense, tension and laughter from beginning to end. This truly is comedy at its highest level!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
Still one of the funniest films with Danny DeVito. The "momma" is brilliant - a raging, dominant, matriarch with a tongue like acid. Nobody can play the part of a scheming psychotic funnier than Danny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2003
To be short, this is a most worthwhile sit-com. It is very funny in parts, and has a few moments which are truly moving, such as De Veto showing off his coin collection. I do not possess hundreds of movies, but this is one which I keep where I can get my hands on it. The plot is, amazingly, one which I have never encountered before, and is actually engaging in its twists and turns. If you enjoy the sit-com type of commedy, this is a real treat. I doubt you will be disappointed in storey or performances.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2011
a very funny and underrated film about two would-be writers, both total misfits; Owen (Billy Crystal) going through a messy divorce, and Larry (Danny DeVito) smothered by his mother. they make a pact to bump off each others' problem woman, but when one of the women goes missing, the situation spirals out of control. there are some laugh-out-loud scenes with DeVito's nightmare mother (Anne Ramsey gives a powerhouse performance), and in places it is surprisingly touching as both men face up to their many failures in life, and struggle to become published authors.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2003
They could not have picked a better cast for playing the roles in this film, they are sure to have you in stitches as well.
A hilarious look at people letting their personal and professional lives get to them too much and the often crazy length it drives them to.
Plus it's worth buying just to see the "The stupid poop, whad'ya do that for" line.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
I really enjoy this movie. I'm not saying it's a laugh a minute but this is a black comedy, as are most films by Danny DeVito. I've watched it 3 times and enjoyed each the same. The Hitchcock film on which it's based also features some dark humour and I think is one of his best, that's Strangers on a Train for anyone interested.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2012
i love dany de veto this is the 3rd time i have watched this
and i nver tire of it, also dvd a lot cheaper than buying from a store.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2011
Throw Momma from the Train is a very well made comedy that also has good thriller elements. The comic timing is perfect and the cast pull off this well edited movie perfectly. Billy Crystal and Danny De Vito are both at their best and the supporting cast are equally excellent even Captain Janeway(Kate Mulgrew) as Billy's Ex. I also enjoyed the subtle moments such as the train references(notice Kim Griest when she's in bed reading the train book). A fun well paced comedy that hasn't dated at all.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
So So funny a very clever well worked film you will laugh lots great performances by the three main characters an ever lasting classic !!!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2010
Danny De-Vito stars as poor, friendless Owen a story-writer who is serving a sentence of Penal Servitude caring for his domineering Mother, Mrs.Lift played by Anne Ramsey who would give new meaning to the word harridan!
Finally after years of torment and suffering from his belligerent Mamma he cracks and decides he can take no more.He and the rest of the writing group hear their teacher, Larry (Billy Crystal) scream out that he could kill his ex-wife because she has plaguerised a book he wrote, taken not only all the credit but had it published AND earned millions of dollars for it;When Owen soon after sees an excerpt from Hitchcocks Strangers on a Train he begins to think about him and Larry swapping murders also.He gets a mixed-up Larry to agree to the plan, though Larry doesn't REALLY mean it or think Owen is serious. However, when Larry's ex-wife is reported as missing from a cruise-ship next day and Owen makes several calls to say he's kept his part of the deal, Larry suddenly realises Owen WAS serious and what's more Owen now expects HIM to get rid of his Mother? How? Will he do it? Will Anne Ramsey go quietly? Will SHE get rid of THEM?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)