Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
49
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2015
Being a JCVD fan since a kid I remember watching Death Warrant on my dad's vhs player. I loved it. It is a great story and it will get you hooked. Its a typical 90's prison movie. There were quite a few at that time. Van Damme does a great job and the lady that helps him is intelligent and gorgeous. Now I own the dvd version and I was very keen to try it on blu ray. Surprisingly it looks very good. The quality is all there. For the age of the movie the detail is super. You can see high detail on the facial features. I was surprised and I must say very happy with the quality of the upgrade. It sounds great too with the English 2.0 DTS HD sound. I recommend this movie to anyone. You will enjoy it and on blu ray is even better. For the UK buyers you will be glad to hear that this will work on Region 2 (B) blu rays as well. I had no problems with it. Great seller. Fast delivery from the US and I am really happy. Thank You
review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
Fast delivery so please thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 January 2013
It seems that Double Impact was the movie that made Van-Damme a star, while the martial arts-based B-movies that preceded it merely built his fame ever-so-gradually. Death Warrant is the odd-one-out in that regard as it is neither a Kickboxing tournament flick nor laughably awful. It seems to be set in some semblance of reality though the story never seems to be quite sure of what it wants to be or where to go.

Lewis Burke is a kickboxing Canadian Mountie (there's a sequence of words you never thought you'd read) who, in the opening moments of the film, guns down and kills demented serial killer The Sandman at point blank range with a .357 Magnum. Some time later he is sent undercover in an extremely corrupt prison to find out who has been serial-killing the inmates. Helping him out is Amanda Beckett (Cynthia Gibb, looking exactly like Emma Watson...only prettier) a lawyer who poses as his wife and feeds him information from the outside. Meanwhile, it turns out that The Sandman ain't quite dead (despite being shot many times with a .357 Magnum) and is seeking revenge. There goes Burke's cover.

Death Warrant (meaningless title, btw) was the first screenplay by acclaimed writer David S. Goyer (The Invisible, The Dark Knight trilogy) and you can identify his surreal trademark even at this early stage. However, the film builds and develops like a supernatural horror, yet is firmly grounded in the 'prison thriller' genre. The eventual revelation is very weak, and belongs in a totally different movie. If it had the nerve go all the way with the supernatural element it would have been much better. I would rather a movie aim for something higher, and fail, that aim for something low-wattage and dull (which Death Warrant unfortunately does) and 'succeed'. Patrick Kilpatrick (an edgy, nervous actor who you might recognize as Finn in Last Man Standing, or as the mercenary who unwisely challenges Penn's authority in Under Siege 2) is brilliant as the Sandman but he's given little to do. His presence in the movie feels out of place.

Deran Sarafian's slick direction makes a lot of use of light, shadow, and creepy cinematography, but with such a schizo script there's only so much he can do with it. A disappointment, but decent entertainment nonetheless.

MGM presents the movie in great-looking 1.85:1 1080p with decent DTS HD-MA 2.0 sound. The only extra is a trailer. While the movie is squarely average, the Blu-ray is certainly worth the money for fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 July 2003
Although this appears at first as a typical prison drama, probably to better Stallone's 'Lock-up'. Van Damme, does some Damage as detective Burke sent in to investigate the mysterious deaths of prisoners and wardens alike. Terrific performance from Robert Guilliame (Benson) in an unfamiliar role. Van Damme's acting is well, Van Damme's acting, but the rivalry with 'The Sandman' makes this a tense rollercoaster of Martial Arts with Van Damme at his most fierce here. Definitely one for the Van Damme collection.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
Hi let's review the blu ray this US disc is region free but please note their is a region A on the back of the box.

Pq is good with no signs of print damage which looks like it has been re-mastered.

The film is presented in 1.85:1 aspect ratio.

Sq is dts-hd 2.0 which does sound good but i think this movie deserves a 5.1 remaster

The disc has a bit-rate of AVC@30MBPS.

if you are a fan of the movie it is worth importing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
Not bad. If there's one next, I'll be looking forward to it. The performance of all the actors is very realistic. The plot is exciting. I watched this movie with my father. The ending is not perfect, but I like it very much. The filming was excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 June 2013
They gave Van Damme more lines in this one but he still sounds like he's eating a boiled sweet. They had a crack at a decent script too and for once he's not just a meat head getting by on fight choreography, well he is for the most part, but the storyline is much better than his offerings to this point. They even surrounded Van Dmme with decent actors you've actually seen before, Cynthia Gibb and Robert Guillaum crop up for instance. The plot has him going undercover in a jail to suss out why inmates are dying by the bucket load. Things are going swimmingly until an old adversary shows up to expose JC as a cop and take him out; as you can imagine this makes Van Damme very cross and he sets about wiping the floor with the nasty new arrival. Although it's forgettable stuff, it's above average for an early Van Damme and originally went under the title "Dusted".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2017
[MOVIE | 3 out of 5]
Run time: 88:52 mins. (PAL Format) | Production: 1990
DEATH WARRANT is your typical undercover-cop-goes-to-prison-to-uncover-criminal-activities-there-flick with all its cliches. It's all been seen before (and after) this film, and DEATH WARRANT merely replaces the actors. This time it's Jean-Claude Van Damme's time as a Canadian cop.
Better performances by Art LaFleur and especially Patrick Kilpatrick, portraying the antagonists (yeah, we also get the sadistic warden cliche here, of course).
JCVD fans will no doubt have a better time with this film, as they get what they crave for: kickboxing martial arts and Van Damme in top form, although maybe not his best film overall. If you are - like me - not a fan of his you get a decent, well-paced action-martial arts/prison flick, nothing more and also nothing less, but definitely among the better of his works. Quality 1990s low-budget filmmaking and the first script written by David S. Goyer (DARK CITY, BLADE II). Directed by Deran Sarafian (THE ROAD KILLERS, 1994, with Christopher Lambert).

[VIDEO]
Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1 (Anamorphic)

[AUDIO]
- English Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround
- French Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround
- German Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround
- Spanish Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround
- Italian Dolby Digital 2.0 Mono

[SUBTITLES]
English HOH, Danish, Dutch, French, German HOH, French, Italian, Norwegian, Spanish, Swedish

[EXTRAS]
- Theatrical Trailer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
This is pretty much what you would expect. The fight scenes are very similar to the fight scenes in many of his other films.
It isn’t that realistic but it is quite similar to many other prison movies just not quite as good.

The Sandman makes quite a good villain though again he doesn’t really fit into the rest of the film.

This is just about watchable but very forgettable.

( I am just reviewing the film and not any version in particular).
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Was dubious buying them, as several write-ups stated may now work on uk players, but worked without any problems and was great seeing it in full hd . Worth every penny
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.84
£14.98
£9.98

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)