Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
38
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2015
It's not like holding the album in your hand and having the words on the sleeve, but this is a great download. Thoroughly enjoying it in my music library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
bob marley at his best great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
No complaints with this product service was excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
We continue with the Marley's works still.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2016
Long overdue replacement for my ancient cassette copy of , for me , Marley's best album.
Excellent re-master with bonus track and much improved sound quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2002
Although this isn't as good as some of their other albums, it is still a classic. The remastered edition contains an extra song recorded by Bob when the Emperor of Ethiopia, Haile Selassie I was reported to have died. It is an excellent addition to this album, as Bob's voice sounds so emotional. By this point Pete Tosh and Bunny Wailer had left the band but a number of others had joined, including the I-threes, the new backing singers. The backing vocals by the I-threes on this album are excellent.
The album starts on a positive note with the great Positive Vibration and Roots,Rock,Reggae. Then the album takes on a more serious feel with the soulful Johnny Was. The vocals and synthezisers in this track really make it a classic. The next two tracks are of a very high standard, but are maybe the weakest two on the album. Crazy Baldhead is one of Bob's best songs in terms of the lyrics. Who The Cap Fit and Night Shift keep up the high standard before two more classic songs, War and Rat Race. The lyrics from War come from a speech by Haile Selassie I and is brilliant. The lyrics from Rat Race contain some of my favourite lines written by Bob.
"Don't forget your history
Know your destiny
In the abundance of water
The fool is thirsty."
If you want to listen to music that can educate and inspire you buy this album and any of the other albums by The Wailers.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2008
The great man had lots of great albums but this for me was his best.
This is the hardest.
Uncompromising lyrics backed up by solid rhythms.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2011
Nice classic bit of Marley. Some less known tracks which i like. Highlights for me "Rat Race" and "Crazy Baldhead". Glad I bought it, I shall be listening to it for many years Im sure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2016
Brilliant. As is usual with Bob's music this album is full of great philosophical thoughts. The musical instrumentation and vocal power is next to none.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2012
1976 and this came out. I liked "Roots, Rock, Reggae" because at a local Clapham pub just after this the house band "Jabba" played a rollicking version of the same. They were African and I think Mr Marley would have been happy with their take. However, the version here struts-I remember a writer describing Bob Marley's guitar playing as chicken scratching-more rooster strut but it does scratch around the rhythm. Rastaman Vibration is easy to listen to, with some scorching lyrics such as in "Who the Cap Fits" and "Rat Race". It is easy to only listen to Bob Marley compilations you know greatest hits stuff and miss out on that in his early seventies period he produced a whole range of great albums that basically introduced reggae to a rock audience. Hence Eric Clapton's neutered "I shot the Sheriff". No Eric, you would have missed-it was a song about freedom and oppression-like Linton Kwesi Johnson's "Sonny's Letter" on "Forces of Victory". Bob Marley forged a whole lot of good songs that have their own distinct sound. This is very much a journeyman album. Not classic but honest work and great storytelling and groove coming out of Jamaica.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)