Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 17 July 2017
love the smiths and was a great birthday present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
Great tracks throughour
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2017
Great album fro a great band and great service fro the vendor!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
Fantastic arrived asap...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
Excellent value. Cleaned the case, now good as new. Will order again. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
its The Smiths.... of course it was good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2008
If you don't own a Smiths album then you could do worse than buy this. They're my favourite band and this album isn't enough for a fan, indeed there's very little point owning it if you're a fan as all the songs are available on other compilations.
But the casual listener will get all their UK and US released singles plus a few other gems so in that sense it beats The Singles or any other single-volume compilation out there.
Any fan could list at least another 20 or 30 "essential" songs missing from this album but you could never get them all on.
Except for the omission of the album version's intro on Stop Me If You Think... (which would have spoiled the flow of the album had it been included) these are the full 12" versions; thankfully they've not used the shortened 7" single versions of That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore or How Soon Is Now.

Now the big moans on here seem to be that:
1) there are already lots of compilations; fair enough if you own them don't buy this.
2) the packaging is bad. Well i've seen better but Charles Hawtrey is in keeping with the general theme of Smiths cover designs.
3) the songs have been spoiled by remastering. Now i have several of their albums on vinyl as well as CD and trust me that the original albums don't sound as good on CD as they did on vinyl as they weren't digitally recorded.
The remastering is barely noticeable on most tracks BUT i don't like the way This Charming Man sounds on this album. As one of their greatest songs that's quite a big thing but the casual listener probably won't notice the difference.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 August 2007
This is an excellent introduction to The Smiths, and is similar in content to the earlier "Singles" compilation. It contains 23 tracks compared to the 18 on singles and there's not a weak track on here, with Morrissey's brilliant lyrics and Johnny Marr's excellent guitar work.
How soon is now, There is a light that never goes out and Panic are but 3 standout tracks and I totally agree with the Amazon reviewer that they make the likes of ColdPlay and Travis look positively witless.
The 80's were in my opinion a poor decade musically(with a few notable exceptions), and the Smiths were just the sort of musical kick up the backside we could do with in 2007, as things seem to have got a bit bland again. I'd give it 7 stars if that were possible. Essential.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2001
While the songs included are all terrific, I can't help but think that a new collection of material should have revolved around rare or unreleased tracks instead of yet another collection of previously released material that can already be found on a number of other common discs. Yes, this is a good place to start for the new fan or casual listener but that ground was already covered with Best 1 and 2 and the Singles collection. Couldn't they have just given the longtime fan a small reward and released all the rare tracks on one single disc instead. That would have been far more worthwhile.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)