Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
1,552
4.7 out of 5 stars
Canon EF 50 mm f/1.8 II Lens
Style: EF 50 mm f/1.8 II|Change
Price:£122.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 August 2017
Where to start with this lens?! It's probably the best value for money lens on the market, in my opinion. Bought this 4 years ago, the first lens purchase i made, if you don't count kit lenses. It really didn't disappoint!

Being f/1.8 makes it great outdoors and indoors, i took some of my first milky way photographs with this lens, and it's what really got me into astrophotography. The image quality is spot on, nice blurred backgrounds, if that's what you are after, and super sharp. Build quality? Well it is plastic, but it's taken a real beating and still works like new. My only real complaint is the focus noise, but for the price what do you expect!

Go on, buy one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
Cheap and cheerful (standard? ) lens for Canon. This lens equates to about 80mm when used with a crop frame sensor, as on the Canon 40D/50D. The faster f/1.8 aperture allows it to be a useful portrait lens. Okay it's got a plastic mount but is that really such a drawback? It will stand up to normal use fairly well I would think. Mine is a little bit noisy in focusing but otherwise does the job well. The optics are very good considering the price. Worth a punt I'd say.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2017
A really good Canon lens especially with a full size camera.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Super bit of kit, did exactly what we needed it to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2017
I have found it interesting to use. It has improve my understanding camera lens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Great sharp portrait lens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
I can not express how good this lens is. Fantastic results from a large aperture of f1.8. Fantastic portrait lens when used on a cropped sensor camera
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2009
There are plenty of reviews about this lens, and I echo the majority...

For the price, you'll be surprised how good the results are when using this lens...be that in low light conditions without a flash, or portraits, or just general shots that you want a good depth too...this lens does it all.

And okay, the build quality isn't great, but what do you expect for £80...all I can tell you is that the results are well worth every penny.

A must have for every budding photographer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Not just excellent for the price but REALLY very good. Previous reviews have mentioned the plasticky feel, but, to be honest, it's a camera lens so I don't intend to chuck it about. Looks good on my camera and takes great pics. What more could you want for a lens that's less than £90.00?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
Arrived on time (or even faster for a day). well packed and in a excellent condition. 1.4 lets me take photographs in a poor lighting, where I couldn't take anything before. 50mm is enough for taking portraits, landscapes or documentary.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 191 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)