Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
91
3.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2016
This has to be the worst Blu-ray transfer I have ever seen, down there with Freemantle's Straw Dogs abomination. The DVD was poor to start with but somehow this HD "upgrade" is even worse. I'm all for a bit of natural grain but the dark scenes here are so smothered in white dots it's like trying to watch the film through a snowstorm. I can't comment on whether the 3D version looks any better as I don't have the technology to watch it but it's obvious that Universal haven't done any restoration on any the three Jaws sequels for Blu-ray (although films 2 and 4 were decent enough prints on DVD and so fare much better in HD).
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2017
The Blu Ray transfer for Jaws 3 is terrible really grainy it has to be one of the worst Blu Ray transfer ever! Had the picture image been good I would have given this Blu ray 2 or 3 stars, the movie is okay to watch on a Sunday afternoon if there is nothing else on TV , Jaws was a classic movie but don't waste your money on Jaws 3 blu ray, I would suggest you buy the DVD of Jaws 3 as the picture quality is superior to the Blu ray.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Well, I bought this as nostalgic purchase. I had fond memories of this film. A rubbish cash-in on the 80s 3d fad. So bad story and the use of 3d is unsophisticated, however, I did not buy this film expecting quality script, plot, editing etc..
Expect lots of in your face 3d, a few scares and underwater sequences. Not a fantastic transfer but that did not bother me.

Buy the original Jaws, which still remains top of my top ten list. One of the first summer blockbusters, not perfect but for plot, tension and watchability, I highly recommend.

I saw on an outdoor screen two years ago and still it had people jumping at the scares. Classic scenes such as the Indiannapolis night time scene are classic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
I bought this for the 3D and let me say, some of the pop out effects for me are the best i have ever seen. You'll find yourself reaching for the opening credits and that is where i will leave you. There are about 3-4 amazing pop moments in the movie, and they really do pop better than any 3D movie i have seen so far. If you love 3D its a must for your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
as a young shark is caught in a marine park the owners catch it and try to keep it alive ,not knowing that's its 35 foot mother is trying to get in,cocky English shark film makers come in and try to capture the mother after the young one dies,and all hell is broke loose,a great trio of films from the 70s
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
Legendary film!!! Love it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
Not the best Jaws movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Got this as a curiosity to see how it played in 3D. While the movie is not great, the 3D works fairly well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 November 2010
Oh dear is this film bad? Jaws is a classic, Jaws 2 is a strong, worthy sequel but this drek is just so pathetic. Though I must say it's nowhere near as bad as the notorious Jaws The Revenge.

In the space of 5 years the Brody kids have gone from kids to total grown-ups. Dennis Quaid is Michael and he now works at Sea World (one would imagine he would have a fear of the water by now) in Florida. They've just opened up their Undersea Kingdom (y'know those glass tunnels) and ignorant park owner Calvin Bouchard (Academy Award winner Louis Gosset Jnr. at the start of his downward spiral) is so full of himself he doesn't even realize a massive Great White Shark has sneaked into the lagoon and plans to munch on divers, swimmers, skiers etc. Luckily for them a renegade naturalist (Simon MacCorkindale from TV's Casuality, looking EX-ACT-LEE like Thomas Jane) is hanging around to convince everyone that getting in the water to torment/trap/catch the poor beast is the best idea. His fate is firmly sealed as soon as he opens his mouth. Which is a bit of rip-off considering he risks his life many times through-out the film and Calvin Bouchard jeopardizes so many but escapes un-eaten.

The shark coverage is down right terrible. The underwater photography sucks and is badly spliced with stock footage of sharks that look nothing like the clumsy foam rubber monster in the close-ups. The 3-D effects come off as the WORST you will ever see. Even in plain-old 2-D you can see that they were pretty much the most unimaginative and unsubtle attempts at reaching the audience ever. Even the 3-D tricks in Friday the 13th Part 3 were much more fun and natural than this.

I first saw Jaws III on ITV years ago. It's best to see it on DVD as the 2.35:1 picture adds loads to the sides of the frame for those of you who suffered the pan and scan video. Plus there is a few extra gory shots that ITV and some video releases saw fit to censor. But the picture quality is real nasty with some dirty grainy scenes and annoyingly soft focus others. The sound is simple Dolby Stereo but don't expect any Oscar winning sound mixes this time. Even John Williams shark theme is all but vanished and some guy called Alan Parker's score is generic and unengaging.

Extra feature(s) consist of a trailer (methinks originally in 3-D shown before Friday the 13 Part 3 began, in the previous summer). And then there's something Universal call 'Recommendations'. Click on it and what do you get? Still photos of the DVD covers of the other Jaws movies. Duh, thanks! The only interesting thing about this film is the fact that Sea World actually allowed their name and logo to be defamed in such a ludicrous way. Jaws may have been born into greatness but it died very, very quickly as a franchise. Now Jason Voorhees has lasted much, much, MUCH longer and the first Friday the 13th film was hardly a masterpiece.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2016
We all know the film is awful but I'm writing the review based on the 3D version which is included with this disc so if you don't have a 3D blu ray and TV I'm not really talking to you.

I remember in 1983 when I was 7 friends having seen Jaws 3D at the cinema in 3D and telling me about the fish head popping out and Jaws coming out of the screen and wishing I could have seen it. Since then I have seen it many times as Jaws III on TV, enjoying it as a child, recognising it as rubbish as an adult but always thinking the lingering shots of random things with big black mat lines were just odd. Now I finally get it. This is an event movie designed to be seen in 3D and it's not about depth like modern 3D movies it's about pop. There's so much coming out of the screen at you, you forget that the story and characters are nonsense.

I loved it. Some of the 3D effects are too poppy out and make you go cross eyed but if you're expecting them on the second viewing you can adjust your eyes and it works more effectively.

Shame about the lack of extras- only the trailer which isn't in widescreen. It would have been good to have had a documentary or talk track.

I've not watched the film in 2d so can't comment but it won't have improved.

If you own a 3D TV and blu ray player buy this, it's proper old skool 3D.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)