Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 10 February 2018
This sequel to the absolutely brilliant The Lion,The Witch & The Wardrobe has more dark and grown up moments than the first movie. It broods on the nature of deceit, greed, and hunger for power. It also has a brutal one-on-one swordfight and extensive battle scenes that are portrayed as bone-crunching, metal-clanging, sword-lancing riots. All of the main characters, except Lucy, are responsible for many enemy deaths. That said, the movie is relatively blood-free: Though characters are pierced by arrows and swords and fall to the ground (many are injured, and some do die), little gore is shown besides the odd cut on the lip or cheek. Children may notice and be unsettled by the menacing tone throughout most of this movie which includes a fantastically scary appearance by the White Witch (Tilda Swindon) though it's relieved fairly frequently with funny scene/dialogues from the various characters. Like the original, this sequel includes Christian imagery and allegorical storylines, and the characters learn clear moral lessons by the end.

The movie starts with what I would describe as an ecstatic scream and doesn't let up from there. When a baby son is born to Miraz (Sergio Castellitto), his nephew, Prince Caspian (Ben Barnes) must flee for his life: Miraz wants the throne, and now that he has an heir, he wants Caspian dead. Caspian heads for the enchanted woods on horseback as Miraz’s henchmen are in hot pursuit. In dire need of help, he blows an ancient, magical horn, summoning back the kings and queens of Old (who, at the moment, are stuck in a London subway station). And so the Pevensie siblings, Peter (William Moseley), Susan (Anna Popplewell), Lucy (Georgie Henley), and Edmund (Skandar Keynes) return to Narnia, hundreds of years after they left in the first movie.

Prince Caspian doesn't offer as much whimsical magic as the first installment, dealing instead with darker matters, notably that of Caspian's fight to keep his throne, which is stolen from him by his scheming, power-mad uncle. The Narnians, under siege by the Telmarines, are rougher around the edges this time, too; they're more cynical, angry and tired of persecution. To win their freedom, they must fight often, and sometimes to their death.

As a major fan of the first installment, Prince Caspian is a really good sequel and a must watch for both kids and adults alike, and for me is definitely a classic. Thanks to well-paced moments of levity, many of them instigated by a swashbuckling mouse called Reepicheep (Eddie Izzard) the long journey (the film is just over two hours long) doesn't lag too much. Some dialogues do take you out of the time period; the kids, for instance, refer to one of the dwarves as "DLF," for "dear little friend," which, although it's straight from the book, somehow sounds a little out of context in the movie itself. The fight scenes are taut and swift, and fantastically choreographed. The acting of all the cast members (particularly Henley) and the breathtaking sceneries elevate the movie. You'll be ready to book your own Narnia adventure by the time the movie reaches its climax.

A real good lovely movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2015
Just to get this out of the way, when I first watched this film I was quite taken aback by the amount of artistic licence taken with such a beloved tale for the big screen. However, as I do know, it is very hard (and this is true) for any director to make a film that gives a direct image to loyal fans of a literature classic. That the book that C.S Lewis wrote has been made into a film is an achievement in itself because both go at very different paces; the book slows it down as of course it is meant to, with the four heroes vanishing for a good amount of the story before setting out anywhere, whereas the film cuts straight to the action and thrusts them into it. I, therefore, being a fan of both a slow and relaxing read and an epic and fast paced movie, like both.
This film, "Prince Caspian" is as fabulous as "The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe", with its very own added scenes, suspense and alterations, but not without reason. For me, it actually furthers, fleshes out and explains the events throughout the movie. I particularly like the emphasis on the Telmarines; the casting choices for them are just brilliant. What with their natural Latin looks and accents, Sergio Castelitto, Alicia Borrachero, Damian Alcazar and Pierfrancesco Favino turn their characters of Miraz, Prunaprismia, Sopespian and Glozelle into people with whom you can both be captivated and also sympathize; particularly Prunaprismia when she (and Caspian) find out exactly what her husband did so determinedly so he could be King. The sheer size of their fortress, the arrows flying and the chase at the very start of the film is a great taster of the Telmarines' formidable force; it makes for an even bigger, good looking and yet heart wrenching nighttime sequence somewhere in the middle of the film and the final battle near the end.
I love Ben Barnes as the title character. He is Prince Caspian because he both looks and acts the exact same age as Peter; somewhere in their early teens, but with an innocent and sympathetic air that lends him an unusually compassionate aura for one coming from so formidable a nation. Yet it also takes getting used to, for the Narnians and for Peter. He is the High King, after all. It takes far more time for him to move to the same cause as his people (with Caspian's leadership and identity in the balance along the way). When set next to Peter, however, you have to admit that Caspian is equally handsome and strong, in heart, mind and soul, and even a little in romantic love.
Lucy is, as ever, completely faithful to Aslan. Yet when she at first appears to see him, that is exactly how it is supposed to look because if you just look, the others are actually facing in the same direction as her. They just don't have that undying faith that she does, which leads to an insightful conversation between her and Peter later on in the film when he admits that he no longer has all of the capacity to believe, tainted as it is by his unintentional scepticism.
Perhaps the one character out of the four Kings and Queens of Narnia to feel far less for Narnia is Susan. She is just very practical, although not nearly as sceptical as she is for a good portion of "The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe", which makes a nice change. Anna Popplewell just gets the character of Susan, because this is how she appears in the story of "Prince Caspian", and just that bit further here in this film adaptation. This is where you finally see, if you are a faithful fan of C.S Lewis' "The Chronicles Of Narnia" why she is not counted among the "Friends Of Narnia" in the final book, "The Last Battle" after having left Narnia in this story, and far more so than in the televised version by BBC.
Edmund, well, what can I say about Edmund? He is no longer nasty towards Lucy, and nor is he a victim. When things really get desperate and it looks like Caspian might be going in a different direction after feeling let down, Edmund saves the day. He becomes more of the hero that emerged when he struck out at the Witch in the first film.
Also, there are some new faces among the Narnians; keep an eye out for the good, the bad and the ugly!
The Special Features over on the second disc are fantastic. There are some real insider looks into the duel between Miraz and Peter, the man behind Nickabrick the Dwarf: Mr Warwick Davies who also starred in BBC's "Prince Caspian", "The Voyage of the Dawn Treader" and "The Silver Chair", a variety of deleted scenes and other great extras.
Overall, this is a well directed, well acted, highly recommended fantasy film not to be missed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 November 2017
This is a pretty good sequel to the first film, although the tone is a little darker the film feels bigger and I think has a bit more depth of character than the first. The children have returned to Narnia and it isn't looking in good shape at all, having been ravished by war and defeat during the 1500 years that have passed since the children were last there. The children's characters and relationships are developed much more and the film is quite engaging on this front but there are also plenty of great fantasy action sequences with good effects and my two nephews I watched this with really enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 February 2016
In this 2008 high fantasy, a year has passed since the first novel and the four Pevensie children are magically whisked away to a Narnia where 1300 years have passed. They have been summoned by the rightful heir, Prince Caspian, after he avoided an assassination attempt and fled, but exactly how can the children help?
Chronologically this is the second Narnia story published, but fourth in the Narnia timeline, but that’s mostly irrelevant as it’s basically a stand alone, and while it helps to have seen ‘The Lion, the witch and the wardrobe’, it’s not essential. Full of dry, wry and often ironic humour with plenty of adventure, this will please many, but critics will have a field day with the numerous gaffs and errors. Others will be irritated by the ‘school production’ acting of the four human characters. The pace is exciting, the sets and special effects are skilfully produced and the battle scenes surprising and impressive for a PG rating.
The first disc opens to a language selection screen [also offering English audio descriptive] before going into the usual overlong Disney adverts. Thankfully this was the last of the Narnia movies to be done by them. The main menu offers play, scene selection, audio commentary, set up [languages and subtitles] and sneak peaks. I’m about 20 minutes in and the film hasn’t even started yet! The second disc is full of extras, making ofs, bloopers etc.
As a sequel of sorts this had an uphill struggle to maintain the ‘novelty’ value of ‘LW&W’ but does a credible job. Youngsters of all ages will be enthralled by the story and animation, but the older teenagers and the ‘20 somethings’ in between will probably snigger. Also, forget the book and view this as the fantasy it’s meant to be and you’ll find it exhilarating –if a little cringe worthy in places [lose a *], otherwise you’ll most likely be enraged especially as this is overlong for many youngsters and is much ‘darker’ than the first instalment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2018
My 7 year old has been desperate to watch this after reading the books and watching The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe and for him it didn't disappoint! It was definitely a lot darker and more grown up but the fantasy element went some way to diluting this. He found some of the battle scenes slightly upsetting but having read the books he understood the storyline and so it wasn't a shock to him and he could process why it happened. The scenery and special effects are amazing and the animal characters are brilliant. We watched this as a family (7, 9, 37 and 40!) and all thoroughly enjoyed it and now my son can't wait to see 'Voyage of the Dawn Treader'. Just wish they had carried on and made all the other Chronicles of Narnia into films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 November 2010
This second film in the Chronicles of Narnia series, adapted from the fantasy classics written by C. S. Lewis, assuredly did not prove as popular as the first film, "The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe", but is that reception justified or can the first film's greater success be put down to the simple fact that of all the books, TLTWTW is by far the most well-known in popular culture?

The special effects show a leap in improvement in this second film, due to recent advances in technology. You can still tell what's CGI and what isn't, there's just an indefinable quality that marks it out from what is real, but the match is closer than ever before and will undoubtedly continue to improve. However, the computer graphics and special effects are not used as much as in TLTWTW, where they were used to create the epic battle between the White Witch and Aslan and the Pevensies. Perhaps this is partly because "Prince Caspian" lacks an epic battle on that scale - Caspian and the Pevensies lead a much reduced Narnian force, and they're up against an army of humans, not magical creatures - but oddly in a way it does make "Caspian" feel less impressive in the special effects and computer graphics department. However, that's not to say that Caspian's special effects, where they are used, aren't of the highest quality.

Perhaps the most pressing question that concerned me was can the plot match or top the TLTWTW film? Granted this issue is more to do with the books (which I loved as a child). Like the first film, "Caspian" also features a journey, but in this case it is the journey of the Pevensies to join up with Prince Caspian. The journey is not nearly as lengthy or epic, and does not have the urgency of the White Witch on her sledge following right behind them all the way. The battle at the climax of the film is also not as epic as its prequel, as aforementioned. However, one mustn't forget that watching the same old format of massive epic battle at the end of the film does get clichéd and tired. Given what the Narnians also have to work with here, the director, screenplay writers, and indeed the original writer himself, C. S. Lewis, have very cleverly worked to produce a climax that is different to TLTWTW and fits the expectations of the available forces but is also as exciting a climax to the film as any I've seen. Perhaps the best part of the final battle was by far the duel to the death between Peter and Miraz. It definitely held a sense of seriousness and gravity about the situations of our heroes that has not perhaps been lacking in the first film, but hasn't really hit home until this second film. Peter asks Edmund what he thinks might happen to their bodies in their own world if he is killed by Miraz in Narnia, and the duel is much more about hand-to-hand combat than it is about swordplay, displaying a real brutality in its dirtiness, its grittiness and the blood and the sweat. William Moseley as Peter conveys fantastically well the fear and realisation that he is a youth yet to reach the peak of his physical powers that he once had as High King and that his opponent has a far greater strength. Adding Prince Caspian into the mix by giving him the choice of life or death over Miraz added in a further, extra element of magnitude and enormity.

Anna Popplewell portrays Susan, and I would say simply gets her performance spot on. Everything is just right, perfectly timed and just subtle enough without getting lost. Skandar Keynes plays Edmund, and I think there's a noticeable improvement in his performance here from the first film. There's always a danger with child actors that their performance will lack the subtlety of an adult's performance and come across as too scripted and thus cheesy. Skandar pulled off Edmund plausibly in TLTWTW but this time he's in the full flow of things and really knows his character, potentially precisely because he is a little older and more experienced in his craft as an actor. Georgie Henley plays Lucy, and the danger of child acting also applies to her, but in this film she treads the line very well, never veering into cringeworthy territory despite some challenging scenes and her obvious youth, she always pulls it the right side of believable acting. That is a very tough thing to do for a child actor, so big plaudits to her. A final word must be said about the cast of supporting actors, who also did an amazing job in their roles as Narnians and Telmarines.

But perhaps the most satisfying thing of all in this film is that it answers that compelling question of "what happened next?!" which so often plagues films/books like TLTWTW which could easily stand on their own as one-off productions. This film (and indeed of course the original book) answers those questions. It may be tinged with bittersweet, but ultimately one cannot deny that such a marvellous opportunity to return and answer that question is a satisfying one. Is "Prince Caspian" better than "The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe"? Arguably, yes. Good acting all round, great graphics sparingly used, clever and grittier fight scenes, and wonderful new character dynamics and struggles. Eminently satisfying. Judged on the basis of it being a film mainly for younger audiences, I give it 4 out of 5.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2014
After the success of The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe, it was inevitable that the series would continue, and continued it did with another underrated adaptation, this time with Prince Caspian.

Now when it was announced that Prince Caspian would be the second film, I wasn't surprised, but. I little skeptical as like most Narnia fans, I consider Prince Caspian to be the weakest of the books, as not a lot actually happens in the book. However, the film in my opinion surprisingly manages to surpass the first film with a slightly darker story and gives more character development than even the book managed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2016
I can't believe that this DVD is now only £4?? Of course, the movies are not as good as the books but they are great family movies. The books, be C.S. Lewis had a total of seven (7) volumes but they only made three films. If it's adventure, mystery and the wow factor from the children, buy this and the other two and you will keep the whole family occupied for many hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2012
I thought that this was disappointing at first until I watched it again. I re-read the books recently and to be honest I thought there wasn't much going on in the book - the Pevensie children seem to spend most of the book trudging around to get to Prince Caspian - I think that changing the story for reasons of the film were probably the only thing that could be done in the end. The only thing that really did get on my nerves was the whole Peter/Caspian conflict (as mentioned by many other reviewers - they made a huge mistake turning changing the characters like that)and it just wasn't necessary - didn't add to the film in any way. Other than that - for those who perhaps haven't read the books or who aren't too concerned with the films not being absolute copies of the book - then this was a decent enough film to watch with the kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2011
I took a quick look at the low-starred reviews and they all appear to be written by adults.
Let's get this straight, it's a kids film and all the kids I know have thoroughly enjoyed it.
My (9 year old) daughter is making her way through my old collection of the books and seems quite happy with the fact that the film deviates from the book.
The additional depth of the blu-ray is well worth the outlay, the cinematography is stunning, (most of) the acting is good and as a family we found it FUN - which after all is the point. I'm sure they will be discussing the deeper meanings behind the books at school.
A couple of them did comment on the 'funny accents' but really, the vitriol is quite unjustified.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)