Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
71
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 16 July 2017
Bought this because I enjoyed the TV series
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
loved dark angel when it first came out so gald to get it on dvd
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEVINE VOICEon 6 December 2003
I do not remember why I missed "Dark Angel" when it originally aired, but now that I have seen the first season I am willing to admit I made a big mistake (Mea Culpa, James Cameron). The story is set in Seattle, Wasington, in the year 2019, which is afer "The Pulse," an electromagnetic bomb that basically pushed reset on the United States. However, that is only the setting, because the star is Jessica Alba as Max Guevera, who at first glance has a day job as a bike courier, and at second glance works as a cat burglar at night, bit at third glance and closer examination turns out to be a genetically enhanced superhuman created by the government who escaped from a military training school ten years earlier.
"Dark Angel: The Complete First Season" has a couple of plot lines that make Max both the hunter and the hunted. Max is always on the lookout for her "siblings," the other kids who escaped from Manticore, while Lydecker (John Savage), the head of the secret program is trying to find both them and Max to return them to government service. Meanwhile, Max's days as a cta burglar are over when she tries to rob Logan Cale (Michael Weatherly), a rich kid who is the secret cyber-journalist known as "Eyes Only," who enlists her into his idealistic crusade to clean up corruption in Seattle. Of course, the two are made for each other, but we have to wait for them to catch out to this rather obvious fact. What really makes "Dark Angel" work is the extent to which this futuristic dystopia has been worked out. This is not so much a series where the mythology emerges over time as it is one where the premises are so strong that they sustain multiple episodes and provide compelling sub-text for the rest. Compare this to similar series that take a while to find themselves, and you can see why these solid premises allowed this one to be able to have so many solid episodes early on.
Creator James Cameron's imprint is clearly on this production, but mention should be made of the show's Vancouver crew, which obviously includes a lot of "X-Files" veterans. The production values on "Dark Angel" are pretty striking in creating the seedy world of post-pulse Seattle and its icon Space Needle where Max likes to go and contemplate existence. But the sense of style comes as much from the characters as the setting. Alba is truly stunning as Max, able to play hard, soft, or whatever the scene demands. Weatherly has one of the squarest jaws in television history, and Savage has fun milking everything out of the bad guy (he really does care for his children, but duty never gets in the way of such emotions). The supporting cast has some compelling texture types, from Normal (J.C. MacKenzie), the overbearing dispatcher at Jam Pony ("Bip! Bip! Bip!"), to urban philosopher Herbal Thought (Alimi Bllard), and everybody's favorite, Original Cindy (Valarie Rae Miller), Max's roommate and co-worker, who basically has the right attitude for every occasion.
After watching the complete first season of "Dark Angel" you will want to move on to the complete second season, which just came out and you will be disappointed that there were only two seasons of the series. However, when you see the overall drop in quality during season two, you will not be that surprised (it takes half of that second season for the series to really get going). But "Dark Angel" is one of the better science fiction series to be produced in the last ten years, and the first season does provide a complete story arc.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2003
When friends of mine told me they were into a sci-fi series called Dark Angel I was not really interested but I only had to watch one episode before I was compleately addicted. This series goes far beyond your average sci-fi, girl kicks ass show. Its blend of action, humour and warmth coupled with a gripping, conceivable storyline, fantastic characters and quality acting (especially Jessica Alba) ensures a series that has something for everyone. Such a crime that it was discontinued.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2003
I thought that this would be something similar to Buffy the Vampire Slayer or Angel when I started to watch it, but I was pleasantly surprised! This is a kick-ass programme, with an ideal heroine. It features a startling representation of what the world could turn out like in the near future, and the idea of there being genetically modified people amongst us is fascinating. It takes science-fiction and reality, blends them together in a mix that would be thought to be risky at the least, and throws out a stunning group of people and a storyline to astound the viewer and make them think!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2003
Absolutely compulsive viewing and up there with the best of the US fantasy series (at least as good as Buffy, and probably in many ways better than Angel and Taken). Complex and fascinating. You won't regret investing in both seasons. The only downer - what happened in Terminal City after they axed the series?? We should be told!! (it's a conspiracy?)
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2002
Dark Angel, directed by james Cameron, was a hit show on TV that was discontinued after its second season. Many fans were sad, and some outraged, that such a wonderful show was taken off air. Now you can enjoy season 1 of Dark Angel in your home, whenever you would like to view it. Dark Angel is about Max, (played by Jessica Alba) a girl whose genes are genetically altered when she is born, along with hundreds of others. The whole process took place at a building called Manticore, in which the "transgenics" were to be trained as soldiers of war, being that they could do things normally impossible. Max was one of the best of these transgenics, but she was very smart and independent. She lived at Manticore until she and some others escaped into the world. As the transgenics are trying to search for themselves, Manticore is searching for them. Max is all grown up, and she meets Logan, a man that is also known as "Eyes Only", for he works secretly in Seattle, exposing criminals to the public. Together they do incredible things, and Max begins to figure out who she really is. The problem is, Manticore is tracking her down, as well as some other enemies she makes with each episode.
Dark Angel is one of those rare series that comes once in a while. It never should have been canceled, but it was, and we are lucky to have the show released. The DVD and videos might be flying off the shelves, because it is such a wonderful hit by James Cameron. Anyone who thinks this sounds interesting should get themselves a copy, for they will be doing themselves a great favor. Dark Angel is a wonderful, thrilling series that is adventure mixed with excitement, a little bit of sci-fi, and enjoyment. Enjoy Dark Angel season 1 today, for it is a series made in the heavens.
0Comment| 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 29 January 2015
Super short lived series that launched Jessica Alba's career.

Plenty of action and at times quite dark.

Very good value currently.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
Excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2003
The First series of Sci-fi Programme Dark Angel is now available on DVD, which is a must for any fan, even if your not it's a great way to get to know the series, by watching the first ep and watching the Interviews with cast members. Dark Angel has romance, friendships, is funny, sci-fi and dramatic it also has fantastic action with Max's fighting skills.The only qualm i have with this DVD Boxset is there are not enough extras i would have liked to have seen more behind the scenes, bloopers etc.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)