Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2004
Gangster Chronicle was what We had all been waiting for. As a young man, growing up in the backstreets of Hammersmith and Sheperds Bush and doing the things We did.This album gave Us a sense of belonging regardless of cultural background (I`m Irish and back in Ireland now)."All I wanna do is live like the `over `alf do" struck a chord with all of us. This album gave our teenage minds licence to do what the f*** we wanted legal or not, in order to attain this mysterious "other half lifestyle". Anybody who doubts the authenticity of either artists accent never worked in Harlesden. I find both Rodney and Bionic`s lyrics honest and refreshing still, many years after i first bought the album in a long gone record shop opposite Ozzy`s fish bar on the Goldhawk road!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2001
This album is the roots of many current UK artists, it can be traced back to these styles pioneered by Rodney P and Bionic MC.
The most striking thing about 'Gangster Chronicle' when it originally came out was the Reggae influences, they made it sound more authentic than other UK Hip Hop music which was basically all american accents. Good examples of London Posse's originality are the tracks 'Live Like The Other Half Do' and 'Money Mad'. The original 12" version of 'Money Mad'is better but it is probably impossible to get now.
This LP is essential to your collection and the additional tracks such as the corking 'Funky Rhyme...' make it really worth getting.
It makes you wish that London Posse had made more than one LP during their career.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2002
This ragga infused piece of hip-hop genius was created around a decade ago but still sounds as vitally fresh and important today.
The lyrics talk about living in the vibrant city of London and deal with issues that really mean something to the English listener!
The beats are hard and raw while sounding clear and precise - production is all good without being commercial!
Rodney P's vocals offer some rough ragga style especially on tracks like 'Money Mad' and 'Original London Styles'...
Definitely a classic! Big up...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2001
Don't get me wrong, this CD is really really good. I have one tiny quibble, but the rest is a shower of praise.
There is AT TIMES a certain feeling of going a bit OTT on the cockney accent or the ragga-based Jamaican-Brit accents.
Maybe this comes across as dated to some people, but it's because it's not a new album!
Very good, and it's the album that made Rodney P huge in the UK hip-hop scene.
Definitive, and worth owning for when UK rappers invade and outsell their high budget American counterparts. I wish.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2001
The London Posse, although not commercially known in Britain,....(infact anywhere really), are the best thing, musically to come out of the Uk, in terms of classic, old skool, hip-hop. This album is actually a re-issue but it's unlikely you bought it the first time around so now's ya chance. Hilight tracks being, "Money mad" co produced by Tim Westwood, and "How's life in London", this album is likely to get much rotation if purchased. I like this album because it is unlike anything that's ever come out of the Uk ever before, so if you are looking for something fresh and lively to cheer ya self up, try a dose of "Gangster Chronicle".
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2004
London posse's debut "gangster chronicle" is still as fresh and impressive today,13 years on,as a new influx of uk hip hoppers such as jehst and phil life cypher are taking uk hip hop to a new audeince and levels.The album blends the unique ragga sound,bred in lewisham and kingston,with killer basslines and unbeateable lyrics.RODNEY P, now firmly established as the godfather of uk hip hop raps about growing up in london and his experiences in the capital.BIONIC,now in drum and bass,produces some great ragga sounds and the combination of these two produces great results.of the tracks,"Hows life in London" is the standout track,with the unique cockney sound which so delighted crowds over a decade ago."liin' pancoot" blends brilliant basslines with jazz to produce another super track.I would say there is no weak track on this album,though the hyped up "Money mad" is not as great as many say it is.
All in all,this album is essential for anyone intersested in uk hip hop,cockneys,and ragga
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2001
I remember this when it first came out and the excitement of a decent English hip-hop album without the fake American accents. Great stuff, especially, the ragga hip-hop fusion on some of the tracks.
Highly original but it might be tough to get into if you missed it first time around. Big shame that UK hip-hop died a death shortly after this album came out.
One point: these guys aren't exaggerating their voices. Thats how people talk where they are from and I know plenty of people like them. In any case, it sounds cool to hear black people from England, rapping like black people from England, instead of US Clones.
One!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
cool melodic early uk hip hop from some of the uk's very finest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)