Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
25
Tales Of The Inexpressible
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 July 2017
Great ambient techno trance album on mp3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2017
best cd thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2015
This is the album where Shpongle came into their own and left their mark on the music scene in general. If you're new to the band, then make this your first purchase - ideally with "Nothing Lasts... But Nothing Is Lost" and listen to them both back-to-back. You will be taken on an epic sonic journey, through a rich variety of beautiful and detailed soundscapes - up-tempo and chilled out in equal measure - with the love, enthusiasm and sheer hard work which obviously went into creating them, shining through from beginning to end.

'Dorset Perception' is the track that 'everyone knows' from this album, but 'Around The World In A Tea Daze' is the one that has grown on me the most over many listenings, although I'd say that there aren't really any duff tracks or 'fillers' on this album.

Even if you're a mature prog-rocker, raised on the likes of Pink Floyd, Genesis, Hawkwind, Yes, ELP, etc., then this album and its follow-up should blow away any pre-conceptions you may have had about this genre and are absolute must-haves for any lover of popular music - absolute mind-blowers!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2005
Who would have thought that Raja Ram, counter cultural hero and once the flautist in the excellent Quintessence would have turned into a sly kind of cultural revolutionary waving the flag of Terence mcKenna, rave culture, hallucinogenics .. and found a new soul buddy Simon Posford? Well, thinking about it, I guess it was on the cards..old hippies can shape shift like the best of them.
The other surprise is just how good this album is. It leaps from its box and defies categorisation. Stoned revelrie? Sort of. Trance? A little. But in fact this album transcends genres. it is relentlessly inventive, and just when you think the tracks are getting a bit monotonous,up comes another aural trick which enchants the mind.
It is just as it is billed - a psychedlic circus that has pulled up on your front lawn, assaulting your ears with such a battery of twists, turns, spoofs, rhythmns that in the end you just want to chuck what you are doing and dance along, too. It is utterly fantastic and one of the few albums I can think of where you realise your jaw has well and utterly dropped when it finally ends.
Buy this immediately and as the CD says, "your body is a nightclub, as well as a temple".
If you want to see what happened to the other creative genius of Quintessence, Shiva Jones, checkout his "Shivas Quintessence" album released in 2005. Also excellent, though very different from this.
Now go get your jaws dropped.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2001
From the uplifting melody of Dorset Perception to the serene vocals of Once Upon the Sea of Blissful Awareness this album is absolute genius.
But then what would you expect, Shpongle were real heavy weights in underground music well before this latest venture:
Simon Posford and Raja Ram are more famously known as The Infinity Project, the pioneers of psy-trance and Simon on his own is also otherwise known as Hallucinogen, writer of the underground trance classic LSD. (Indeed both artists are currently featured on Paul Oakenfold's latest mix, Voyage into Trance.)
However, don't be fooled into thinking that Tales of the Inexpressible is going to be yet another mindless, tuneless psy-trance spin off. It is in fact a detailed, perfectly mixed voyage into the fusion between organic and inorganic sounds which has been achieved with both melody and interest. This is genius to a different level. Along with BT and Hybrid, I reckon Shpongle are up there as some of the most completely under-rated dance artists arround. Buy it, I absolutely promise you'll be blown away.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2002
From the uplifting melody of Dorset Perception to the serene vocals of Once Upon the Sea of Blissful Awareness this album is absolute genius.
But then what would you expect, Shpongle were real heavy weights in underground music well before this latest venture:
Simon Posford and Raja Ram are more famously known as The Infinity Project, the pioneers of psy-trance and Simon on his own is also otherwise known as Hallucinogen, writer of the underground trance classic LSD. (Indeed both artists are currently featured on Paul Oakenfold's latest mix, Voyage into Trance.)
However, don't be fooled into thinking that Tales of the Inexpressible is going to be yet another mindless, tuneless psy-trance spin off. It is in fact a detailed, perfectly mixed voyage into the fusion between organic and inorganic sounds which has been achieved with both melody and interest. This is really is genius to a different level. Buy it, I absolutely promise you'll be blown away.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 February 2009
For me and my household this became more than just an album. It's been the soundtrack to two summers of amazing parties, sun-drenched dance festivals, clubbing excursions, cooking for a big house crammed with guests and endless visitors, and just general nutgone fun. In fact, I've had to stop listening to it lately while I get my head back together. But if you're riding a big one then take this along, cos it's never inappropriate. The music is rich and endlessly inventive, in fact it's a miraculous piece of production. It's chill, but it's active, getting it together chill, more than blown away, 5 in the morning chill. It's silly, it's funny, it's sexy, it's great. Though the Doc tells me my party days are done, I will never forget this beautiful album till the party really is over.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2001
Having been through journeys through my conciousness, this recording strengthened every realization I've come across. Starting off strong with getting onto your feet and shaking yourself silly, then creeping into the unknown and bringing you through swells of enlightenment and fantasy. The deepening of Tales of the Inexpressible makes for a seemlessly never ending musical escapade of great beauty and light.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2009
I have a list, a list of the top ten pieces of music I have ever heard. It has been many years since a new album has entered that list. I am, after all over 50 yrs old with some very stringent tastes . This album entered that list with ease, the variation, the fluidity from one astonishing track to the next and the pure genius makes it required listening. Please listen to it but listen hard, or you will miss all its subtle nuances both in melody and lyrics.
Wonders will never cease, as soon after hearing "Tales....", I discovered William Orbit's "Hello Waveforms", but that's another story.
Buy "Tales..." and drift among the pleasure nodes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2012
Tales of the Inexpressible is up there with the very best of the great albums by the biggest household names.
I'm talking right up there with Kind of Blue, Sgt Pepper, Led Zep IV, Dark Side Of The Moon, Grace etc, whatever your fave may be... Musically Its nothing like any of those but it
has the same timeless great sonic quality, it deserves to be on your 'best of' list. You will find it worthy.
Get Shpongled!!.
Shpongle is a household name where i live :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)