Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2002
I do not see how Basement Jaxx was able to combine so many music styles into one album, and then make it all sound so great! They did it in "Remedy", and again in "Rooty". This is one of the few albums that I own in which I actually listen to every song. It is impossible to label one specific track as my favourite, as all of them are superb. Some of the ones that really stand-out, though, are "Jus 1 Kiss", "Get Me Off", "Where's Your Head At?", "Crazy Girl", and of course the most famous one, "Romeo". I think Basement Jaxx produces some of the most awesome bass-lines in music today and their eclectic style is quite unique, as very few artists indeed are able to do what they do. This album is perfect if you want to dance all night without buying a compilation CD or constantly changing CDs, because none of the songs sound the same. You could tell me that every track was by a different artist and I would believe you if I didn't know better. It is one of the most difinitive and best European albums of 2001.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2001
What can I say?? We've waited the release of the new Jaxx album and it's finally here. Two-way competetion between daft Punk - Discovery and the Jaxx???? Its a one way- Jaxx win all the time.
However, don't expect this to be the same style of album as Remedy was. Gone is the focus on minimal dance tracks suchs as Yo-Yo and Jump & shout and in are the more laid back tracks such as SFM. I was suprised yesterday evening when i placed the CD into my player and found such laid back tunes on the album. These harder dance tracks appear on the album later on, the first of which is get me off. The next track which is a very deep dance floor filler is Where's your head at? and features the vocal talents of none other than Erick morillo and junior Sanchez..established DJ's and record producers in their own right.
To sum it up, if you're looking for a dance artists album and you're fed up with the 70's inspired repetitive tracks offered by Daft punk then choose this for an insight into the different aspects of dance music.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2001
From hearing the excellent opening track (Romeo)to the finalle this is a brilliant album. Pretty typical for Basement Jaxx's genre but what makes the album so outstanding has got to be track 9 - Where's Your Head At? Loads of beats and some excellent melodies all topped off with some impressive lyrics so this album is a definate must buy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2001
Baseent Jaxx must have had a hard time trying to better REMEDY. Unfortunately, they haven't done it here. Don't get me wrong, there are some amazing tracks here. SFM and Broken Dreams are stand-out tracks, but there are too many lacklustre tracks, e.g. Crazy Girl. There are many varying styles, but all-in-all the album weighs in at a very unimpressive 42 minutes. You can see the potential singles a mile off. 'Do Your Thing' is probably a single and I guessed that 'Jus 1 Kiss' would be too. Buy it cos it is a good album if you like your dance music but don't believe the hype. The two interludes are outrageous. There are 11 tracks on this CD not 13.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 April 2003
Great second album from Basement Jaxx. A healthy mix of music styles and rarely do the experiments fail on this record. Where's Your Head At is a obvious highlight on the album with its drill-like basslines and shouting vocals combined orgasmically by a catchy hook. Romeo is more poptastic with its jumpy bassline and wonderfully girly vocals.
Broken Dreams is where the fun begins though, not sure if this is a cover (Ed?) but a timeless song sits comfortably on cheeky funky beat and I'm sure there's a Harpsichord somewhere on this track. But really, all songs are pretty strong and stand firm. Breakaway is characterised by sexy vocals and chopped up beats whilst Kissalude is even more sexier and dreamier and a melody that the Girls Aloud producers would die for.
There's even some time for funky dub on Freakalude whilst the lads get all jazzy on us on All I Know. Hearing this album, you know that Basement Jaxx have had pure fun writing it and the cheekiness and joy shines throughout. Yet the best bit is listening to Get Me Off and I still can't understand how a track can be so sexy that you feel guilty listening to it! Worth owning a copy if you're thinking of something fresh, catchy and yet clever.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2004
Maybe I'm just tainted by my deep love of their other two albums, Remedy and Kish Kash, but I adore this album. Sure, it's not as long or immediate as the other two, but give it a few listens and you'll be hooked. Oddly, it's the tracks that weren't pressed as singles that really grabbed my attention - Breakaway, Sexy Feline Machine and Crazy Girl really captured my imagination. If you love the Jaxx dearly, as I do, there's no reason why you shouldn't own this album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2001
Hmmm. Their previous offering was awesome, not least in that it had full tracks that followed some sort of coherent musical pattern. This one seems a disjointed affair, a lot of amusing sounds and weird beepy noises but not enough actual danceable grooves. They seem to have taken the idea of humour in music too far - lots of humour, not enough music. Sorry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
This is an excellent album in my opinion. There's something for everyone on it. Most of the tracks are uptempo and every song has a different feel, which for me, makes for a formidable record. No awful album fillers here. If you don't get this, you're truly missing out on a quality, amazing roller-coaster of a record. 5 stars from me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
Who else could use over the top ranting vocals over garage like beats and house melodies. The Jaxx have a truly unique style on this particular album that will go under the true dance classics. Buy this if you want funky, carnival style Garage-House
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2001
The buzz around the latest Jaxx production is growing, and some magazines reckon that it's a two way fight between this and Daft Punk's "Discovery" for dance album of the year.
It's certainly a pretty great album, but isn't as immediate as Remedy. It may take a few listens to totally get your head around it, but the Jaxx's high quality shines through with repeated listening.
The first single, "Romeo", with Kelly LeRock vocals is typical of the "grower" feel of the album and will take the charts on and win big in June, if the success of "Jump 'n' Shout" and "Red Alert" were anything to go by.
A mish-mash of radically different influences from disco, to dub and modern R&B/UK garage shine through on this album (all of which are obvious if you've heard them DJ) and are mixed together with the weird sort of Jaxx samples that made Remedy such an interesting album. This mixture of styles wouldn't work in the hands of lesser producers, but the Jaxx manage to make it work without breaking into a sweat.
Tunes of the album have to be the summery "Jus 1 Kiss" (watch the punters go mad for this in Ibiza) and Do Your Thing (Doop meets the Jaxx!? Sounds a terrible idea in theory, but works like a charm).
More experimental than Remedy, with more than a few nods to their excellent Atlantic Jaxx material make this a top album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)