Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
106
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2017
Purchased to replace an old tape version. Lods of hits and overall a good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Wish I could give this more than 5 stars.... Blasted in the car singing my heart out.... Fantastic x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2017
probably one of my favourites
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2016
Music to my ears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
I just love this cd i bought it in my twenties im now in my sixties .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
good stuff, as per sold as.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
As I've said in previous reviews, it's difficult for younger generations to udnerstand what impact the release of early Madonna albums had on the youth worlwide, particularly girls. This was released as Madonna changed her image from the exciting Crucifixes / lace tights/ crop tops one, to a much more subdued, jewellery-free one. It shouldn't have worked - she cut her hair, put on less make-up, almost became a tom-boy - it was such a drastic image change you couldn't imagine any of today's stars doing it. But she made a success of it because she is Madonna and she had attutude, but also because the music was just as darn good as that we'd loved on the Like A Virgin album. Madonna was exciting because she was constantly evolving - becasue she showed that not only could a woman be fresh and influential, but she could hold her own with the men when it came to making brilliant music.

So we all awaited this LP with bated breath - woudl it be as good as Like A Virgin? What could possibly top Into The Groove? Would she go back to the long hair and Crucifixes before too long? And this is what she answered us with.

This is, quite frankly, one of the best, most defining albums of the 1980s. Not only did it macth Like A Virgin, True Blue surpassed it. Love Makes The World Go Round, White Heat, La Isla Bonita, Papa Don't Preach, True Blue - all are excellent pop songs of a quality you just don't get these days. Madonna fans knew the instant we heard it that this album was her gift to us - that she hadn't just rushed out some cod disco pap to capitalise on her fame. No, she had taken her time over this, and given us a great album full of pop highlights. We may no longer have been singing Like A Virgin and declaring ourselves Material Girls for a laugh, but we were amazed at the message in Papa Don't Preach, and the great beat behind it. In Open Your Heart, Madonna made the simple removal of a pair of gloves into a sexy move. Every girl wanted to be Madonna in those days.

I don't think any female singer will ever again have the impact Madonna did. She not only gave us great music, but she became a massive part of our popular culture - in fact, she threw up our pop culture and turned it on it's head. Suddenly, in the greed-driven excesses of the 80s world, it was good to be a woman. We weren't second-class citizens anymore - we had a voice and we'd shout until we were heard. Getting noticed was no longer bad manners. And above all else - above the Poison Penn tabloid stories, the Like A Virgin video, the rumoured Marilyn Monroe obsession - Madonna helped us to express ourselves by giving us the perfect soundtrack to our lives. Purely excellent pop.
1313 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
An excellent album and since everyone else has written pages about it I'm not going to say "me too".

I bought this to replace an extremely aged cassette. Unfortunately the remixes just don't seem to live up to the original, particularly on the opening track where it feels a little like someone has just discovered how to use the delay/repeat feature.
33 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Madonna's third studio outing stands as one of the greatest pop albums of all time. Taking a different direction from her first records, addressing a variety of issues, and incorporating many genres, "True blue" built on "Like a virgin"'s solid foundations, and established Madonna as the ultimate pop idol and a global superstar. Complete with its creator's new, more subdued image, it had all that was needed in order to engage an older audience who might have been skeptical of her music and attitude back then. The string of 5 singles off this album ("Live to tell", "Papa don't preach", "Open your heart", "True blue", "La isla bonita") is arguably among M's most successful as well as her strongest. Demonstrating her skills as a songwriter and entertainer through its poignant mixture of topics and great tunes, the album became her rite of passage between girly pop and adult pop, and the archetype of '80s and early '90s pop music, marking an era where music and fun were genuine, innocent, carefree and meaningful. At that time, it was only Madonna and Michael Jackson who presented such brilliant records, with spectacular accompanying videos, creating a buzz that extended beyond just the music. M was "Causing a commotion" so great that, by the time her tour came to an end, noone asked "Who's that girl" because she was so famous that could be recognised even with her back turned! This brand new 180 gram vinyl reissue is faithful to the original pressing of this career-defining highlight. June 30th, 1986: 30 years on, "it all seems like yesterday, not far away"...

Blue facts and stats:

- Madonna dedicated the album to "the coolest guy in the universe", her then husband, Sean Penn, who also provided the title for it, from a favourite expression of his
- The album opened at the top of the UK Albums Chart, making it the first album by an American artist to debut at No. 1 in UK chart history. It remained at the summit for 6 weeks and on the chart for a total of 85 weeks
- In the US, it opened at No. 29, but soon went to No. 1, where it remained for 5 weeks and on the chart for a total of 82 weeks
- It topped the European Top 100 Albums chart for 34 consecutive weeks, a record that has yet to be broken
- It reached the No. 1 spot in 28 countries across the world, and has sold 25+ million copies, making it one of the best-selling albums of all time
- The song titles on the album's back sleeve and inside booklet do not feature M's own handwriting but Jeri Heiden's, the album's cover designer
- The album's original photo was taken in black-and-white, however, in order to go along with the title, a hand tinted blue-toned version of the image was chosen as the final cover artwork. The cassette tape edition featured a longer picture than the LP and CD album's cropped image
- In the US and Canada, the cover did not have any logo, but for the European nations, Warner felt that M's name was needed, as they did not want to take chance with her popularity
- "La isla bonita", a tribute to the beauty and mystery of Latin American people, was written for Michael Jackson's "Bad" album. Similarly, "Open your heart" was originally intended for Cyndi Lauper
- The album gave M her first appearance on the Guinness Book of World Records. M, also, became the first female artist to receive the Video Vanguard Award at the 1986 MTV Video Music Awards in recognition of her impact on popular culture

***** for the album
**** for this edition
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Classic album from 1986 which contains 4 of my all time favourite Madonna tracks, Open your Heart, Live to Tell, Papa don't Preach and La Isla Bonita. Madonna changed her image radically prior to this album but the music for me is even stronger than ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)