Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 December 2008
Benchmark recording of great emotional depth which goes beyond the mere display of grand musical force and show, which other recordings like those of Osawa, Bernstein and others represent. The music is very emotionally felt. There are other recordings with bigger choral forces, but this one is heavenly in its sentient intelligence. The recording is an ADD transfer with very good final sound quality, with some fuzziness compared with an original digital DDD recording, but excellent all the same.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
I have the Vinyl versions from 1974 but time has not been kind they have gathered phtts and cracks and other strange noises even though I've treated them lovingly with a nice light cartridge touch, the careful clean before playing & a beautiful steady turntable. I find the Philips & DG vinyl pressings don't weather anything like as well as DECCA or EMI. The time has come to replace them with CDs & this one is an excellent transfer, I see that what was once Philips is now Decca but what's in a name. The sound is clear but what, you say, of the performance. Sir Colin was on top form with this recording, this is heartfelt, majestic, beautiful, a spare, ascetic Berlioz that does full justice to his vision. I call your attention to the Sanctus/Hosanna which I've never heard better. Get this recording: enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
I bought this the best part of a year ago and must have played it about a dozen times since, the most recent just last night. To use the expression "definitive" can so easily be a cliché, but occasionally it's the right word - like now.

I've rarely been moved so much by hearing a particular performance but this set has that effect on me, similar to the set of Klemperer's performances of Wagner I got last year and reviewed, and these CD's have that same effect on me. Utterly wonderful interpretations and performances with the orchestra and chorus performing out of their skins.

You simply must not miss the experience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2016
Hear we have a great requiem, skilfully interpreted by a much celebrated conductor and played by a world class orchestra and as a bonus we have the 'Te Deum' thrown in, all at a budget price. Maybe it is a little dated now as it was performed in 1970.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
Excellent for giving a proper impression of the scale and sound density of the piece. Great performances and recording quality. I am using it to aid my preparation of it with Hutton and Shenfield Choral Society on 24 March at Brentwood Centre, Essex.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
at last I bought the recording of the masters performance,
I never bought it on vinyl,
so just bought it on cd for the first time as a tribute to the late great colin davis
what a performance great in every way,
he captures the great epic quality of the work,
stirring stuff a classic in every way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
Perfect condition so a real bargain vs. the brand-new price. Chuffed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2016
Just what I need to perform the work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
magnificent works
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
Really enjoyed this music , particularly the choir.
Excellent value for a double disc set.
If you are pondering about purchase and have got this far do not hesitate.
Buy and be transported.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)