Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's Learn more

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
16
4.1 out of 5 stars
Butterworth - Banks of Green Willow, etc
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 August 2001
This wonderful collection of songs and orchestral pieces may have connotations of an idealistic English pastoral arcadia, but, ultimately, refuse this appropriation. The melancholy of A.E. Housman's poetry and the tragic end of Butterworth on the battle fields of the Somme make this reflective but worthwhile listening.
The simplicity of piano and voice used in the "Shropshire Lad" songs contrast effectively with three of Butterworth's best known orchestral works at the end, which display his influence by the English folk tradition. The final work is almost inevitably, but rightly, "The Banks of Green Willow" with its enduringly beautiful clarinet introduction. A wise investment for admirers of this composer's brief musical career.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2006
There is no doubt that the musical quality on these recordings are supurb. I will not go further into this, as it is extensivly covered in others reviews.
The sound quality however is so bad that it should have been noted on the cover. This sounds like an old, very scratched, vinyl album. If you are not able to ignore the noise, avoid this CD.
22 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2011
Butterworth is one of my all time favourite composers. I bought the CD because it gave a good, almost perfect rendition of his work "A Shropshire Lad", a haunting account of young man walking into one of Englands' most beautiful counties. I was not disappointed and the track is better than the other two versions in my collection.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2008
George Butterworth is my favourite English composer with Malcolm Arnold getting close behind. A complete Butterworth disc is very much needed, but there are problems with this one. To begin with the conductor pulls "A Shropshire Lad" out of shape, losing control of the structure a bit, and the recordings of the orchestral works were made in a church, so that there is some loss in woodwind colours, which is disastrous with Butterworth. Finally (though this isn't the fault of Decca now) Butterworth's short orchestral song cycle isn't included, so it is not completely complete. The record is not as bad as I might have put it (the church recording is not as colourless or harsh as they usually are) and until there is decent competition it is worth having for the music.
22 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
Like so many ordinary people, George Butterworth was a national treasure lost to the First World War. I bought this CD purely for the orchestral peices, A Shropshire Lad, On the Banks of Green Willow and Two English Idylls.The peices hark back to a time when Britain was at peace with the world, and one can imagine strolling through English medaows on a beautiful summers day in a bygone era whilst listening to the glorious structure of the peices. Butterworth captures England perfectly. One can only wonder of what greatness this man would have acheived had he survived the horrors of the Somme.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
A stunning recording for spending a "Quiet Time"; "Banks of green willow" breathes English countryside. I recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
A beautiful recording of the most moving music written in the early 20th century, which captures the spirit of the age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2009
Butterworth, "Banks of Green Willow" is a must have for all music lovers.
The tragedy of his untimely death on the battlefield is so 'under rated'.
Even as a memorial to this fine young man, everyone should have this...but not only sad sentiment, there is what he left... lovely, idyllic melody for all time!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2016
I feel his voice is too "big" for these songs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
Another musical talent lost to WW1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)