Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
7
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Coming from the much-coveted Detroit scene, and championed by the ring leaders The White Stripes, The Dirtbombs album 'Ultraglide In Black' manages to fuse Soulful vocals with bluesy-rock fuzz guitars...with some extremely pleasing results.
The band cover such soul classics as Stevie Wonder's 'Livin' for the City' and 'Kung Fu' by Curtis Mayfield, but in their own original style.
Well worth checking out, especially if you are a fan of other Detroit rockers The White Stripes or The Von Bondies.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2002
OK it helps that the songs are all stone cold soul classics (plus an awesome cover of Thin Lizzys 'Ode To A Black Man') but this is quite simply the best rock and roll party album made in years.
Relax with your poison of choice, stick this on, and wonder what the fuss about the Hives and the White Stripes
is all about.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
Play loud!
Play very loud!
Storming album - my favourite is Underdog a cover of the Sly and the Family Stone song.
The band brings an extra dimension to some songs but I was always more into rock than soul. Love that scuzzy guitar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2008
Along with the first 2 Black Keys albums, this effort got me back into rock music again 5 years ago. It's absolutely brilliant stuff, an album of garage rock covers of (mainly) old soul/funk tunes and it's unbelievable. It's gritty, raw and funky and has the most fantastic riffs. I can honestly say that when you hear an album like this and the band still remains largely unknown, then you have to despair at the modern music industry. I still listen to this regularly after owning if for a loooong time. Oh, if you can sit still during their version of Phil Lynott's 'Ode to a Black Man' (better than the original-not that I knew it until I heard the Dirtbombs rip it up) then you probably don't have a pulse.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2007
This is a true undiscovered gem. I'm a fickle soul, always trying the newest bands, but this one hasn't left my CD player for two years. It is a great, high energy rock n soul album - by far their best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2013
I'd been meaning to buy this album for ages, as I'd heard and enjoyed their versions of Underdog and Chains of Love about 10 years ago, but Mick Collins' voice really leaves a lot to be desired on the other tracks, especially Got to Give It Up. It would be fine if he was trying for something different, vocally, to the originals, but it's hard to come off well playing Marvin Gaye or Stevie Wonder at their own games.

It's like a friend has taken you to see his middling pub band (Livin' for the City is particularly guilty for turning crisp, driving funk into plodding pub dirge), but you can at least compliment his choice of songs. Change the subject tacfully if he asks you how well they played them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
At around the same time that the new garage rock scene of the early 00’s was being hyped and bands like White Stripes and Von Bondies plastered over magazine covers another Detroit band – born and happy to stay in the garage – The Dirtbombs put out this an album of covers (with one original) of sixties and seventies soul classics given a fuzzed up reinterpretation. Among the artists tackled are Barry White, Phil Lynott, Smokey Robinson, Parliament and Curtis Mayfield and all exude a tremendous sense of fun with the production clear but oh so warm, Jim Diamond's bass never afraid to take over and the vocals of big Mick Collins stand up well against the icons he’s covering. The stand out are a busy, effervesent take on Stevie Wonder’s “Livin’ For The City” and”Got To Give It Up” by Marvin Gaye which will have you reaching for the original that you’d never quite appreciated before now. Playing it simple and uncomplicated never sounded so good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.00
£12.57

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)