Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

  • Rio
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
101
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2017
Love it all tracks sound just the same as ever !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
Reliving my youth fantastic record and quality sound
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Superb album USA remixes very good just adds to original album recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Excellent CD, would recommend for all Duran fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Brilliant! Brings back some great memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2009
So, Duran Duran's classic Rio gets the executive make-over treatment in this deluxe 2CD release, and most pleasing it is too. The Album is presented similar to some other deluxe titles i've recently purchased, i.e hard back book style. The artwork is faithful to the original album sleeve, and its even textured like the original LP cover. The book is 52 pages long, with colour photos from the Rio era, lyrics, track info, and an an essay about the album's conception, with some quotes from the band members. Physically, my only dislike with the release is the CD sleeves, open ended and rather tricky to get the CD's out, the kind of thing that will wear over time, and the CD's will probably end up falling out the bottom !

Tracklisting - CD1
------------------
Tracks 1-9 - Original album release
Track 10 - Rio (US Album Remix) - 5:24
Track 11 - My Own Way (Carnival Remix) - 4:29
Track 12 - Lonely In Your Nightmare (US Album Remix) - 4:52
Track 13 - Hungry Like The Wolf (US Album Remix) - 4:02
Track 14 - Hold Back The Rain (US Album Remix) - 6:20

Tracklisting - CD2
------------------
Track 1 - Last Chance On The Stairway - 5:04
Track 2 - My Own Way - 4:38
Track 3 - New Religion - 5:32
Track 4 - Like An Angel - 4:59
(Tracks 1-4 - Manchester Square Demos)
Track 5 - My Own Way (Orignal 7" Mix) - 3:39
Track 6 - Like An Angel - 4:41
Track 7 - Careless Memories (Live) - 4:11
Track 8 - The Chauffeur (Blue Silver) 3:53
(Tracks 5-8 - Non Album Singles & B Sides)
Track 9 - My Own Way (Night Version) - 6:31
Track 10 - Hungry Like The Wolf (Night Version) - 5:11
Track 11 - Rio (Night Version) - 6:39
Track 12 - New Religion (Carnival Remix) - 5:13
Track 13 - Hold Back The Rain (Carnival Remix) - 7:00

As you can see, the album has quite a lot of alternate versions and oddities; the Manchester Square Demos were of particular interest for me. Some of the other tracks have appeared on CD before; in the Singles Box Set 81-85 and the Strange Behaviour 12" Mixes album, but there are a few here for the first time i think. My only disappointment was i was hoping for them to do an audio release of the video version of Save A Prayer which is over 6 mins, and this seemed like a good release for it, but never mind, its still a pretty awesome package. Sound quality is excellent. Well recommended.
22 Comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
The quintessential Duran Duran album featuring three of their very best singles - Hungry Like The Wolf, Save A Prayer & Rio. My Own Way is re-recorded & drastically re-arranged version of their single from the previous year (1981). There are no filler tracks here. The Chauffeur is one of Duran Duran's finest moments with New Religion not too far behind. Hold Back The Rain is instantly appealing and Lonely In Your Nightmare & Last Chance On The Stairway add more reflective textures to this album. A coherent album of varying styles brimming with energy.

This is the album that all subsequent Duran Duran albums have been compared to.

There are several version to chose from -

1. The 2001 remaster of the original UK 9 track album on an enhanced CD featuring HLTW, SAP & Rio videos
2. The 2009 Double disc Limited Edition
3. The 2015 reissue of the above
4. The 2015 single disc with the original UK 9 tracks plus the 5 US album remix of the first five tracks.

Which version to buy? The sound quality/ re-mastering is good on all the different CD versions. I would suggest casual fans opt for option 4 but for those with a greater interest the double disc is tops with B-side, demo versions & extended versions.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2016
Love it thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As a teenager in the early-mid 80s I abhorred Duran Duran, seeing them as the archetypal boy band (my older sister naturally had all their cassettes) and therefore something that all teenage boys ought to despise. As the years rolled on and the band re-appeared in the mid 90s with the affecting 'The Wedding Album', I was prompted to reassess their back catalogue, and soon realised how good their music actually was! In recent years the band has taken on a mantle of influential older statesmen (our generation's Rolling Stones I guess), and the technical excellence and sheer joie de vivre of well-worn tracks such as Hungry Like the Wolf and the title track, the haunting Save a Prayer, and underrated (even by the band apparently) spiky new wave of forgotten single My Own Way, are realised in all their glory here.

However, it's the album tracks that really impress - final song 'The Chauffeur', with its metronomic bassline and atmospheric lyrics is the great Duran single that never was, whilst New Religion and Hold Back the Rain are both outstanding pop songs in their own right. Superb album that proves the much maligned and supposedly throwaway 1980s pop scene actually deserves to be viewed as the most influential and artistically diverse decade of them all.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here