Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
8
3.1 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.87+ £2.03 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2001
Paris Dakar - great race, exciting, dangerous, plenty of diversity, a fantastic idea for a game. Unfortunately the makers don't seem to have capitalised on any of this, they have instead turned out a game which even the first Colin McRae game makes a farce of. Playability-wise and graphically. Yes the graphics are pathetic, the same flat sprite scenario goes by a million times and the whole thing seems to potter along at less than 30 frames a second. The cars have no reflections and light doesn't seem to affect them at all. If only the graphics were the problem then maybe it would be forgivable... The car skates around as if it were on ice continually, varying terrain making no difference to the horrible control, going in a straight line can be achieved by accident sometimes ( if your wheels don't fall off from going over unmanagable jumps) Finally, there is no two player mode, no replays, no technical stuff and basically none of the things we've come to expect from next gen racing games ( even old gen racing games) Avoid this at all costs. You have been warned.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2002
My first impression of this game was that it was hard to control the vehicle and keep it on the course. but i decided to have a few more goes and it was well worthwhile as it wasnt long before i was playing the game non stop. it has good graphics and challenging circuits and once you get used to realistic handling this has to be one of the most underated games for the ps2. The option of driving a buggy, 4x4, bike or car separates this title from other racing games which become repetitive and boring.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2008
As the title suggests, there are way too many glitches for this game to be fun:
most trees are white and two-dimesional,
you can go though things,
if you fall off your bike, the computer does nothing,
you stick your foot into the ground when you turn...the list is just endless...

Okay, to explain them in more detail:
though the trees problem is more of a graphical problem than a glitch it isn't necessary being a PlayStation 2 title.
When I say you goes though things, I really mean it! The are blob of foliage which look like big squares. If you hit one, you fall of your bike...but you still just go straight through it! You fly though the air, land, roll over several times (half going into the ground in doing so)!

There are also strange films in the background of the menus which have nothing to do with the game: some african people clapping, then you see a little boy running. My first was that these were people watching the rally but then I remembered, "it's PARIS Dakar Rally"!

It's just really, really weird and uncalled-for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2001
What a great idea, a real long distance racing game with varied terrain, cars, bikes and trucks and a real challange.
It's just a shame that this is not what we have here. No control, no "feel", graphics worse than the early PSX games, no multi player, nothing.
Avoid at all costs unless you have money to burn.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
Ordered in error - no issues with Amazon, my mistake when ordering as didn't realise it was for ps2 when needed for ps3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
what a great game to play plenty of cars,bikes and buggies and plenty of tracks the best on playstation 2
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
very good son loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2001
this game involves you from start to finish. the graphics are very advaced and are quick and sleak. the different modes keep the game life span and enjoyment in it, if you have the money spare buy it
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)