Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2002
I had great expectations for this CD and it certainly didn't disappoint, i would go so far to say that this is his best work yet, he uses a perfect blend if belearic, uplifting and dark techno trance to make this CD my favourite at the minute. As a DJ myself i know that you can't just play fast uplifting trance for the whole set. Mr. Verwest includes songs like 'Lost Vagueness' and 'Innocente' as subtle trancers and then builds up to all out flying trance with 'Open our eyes' and 'Cried to dream' whilst he also includes 'wasteland' (one of his own) and 'castle rock' which are really dark and trancey. I would certainly recommend this CD to people who like Ferry Corsten or Armin Van Buuren. If you liked Tiesto:Live at Innercities then you will love this, the good thing about it is that there aren't too many old or commercial choons on it. It certainly gets the thumbs up from me and if you like a bit of trance then this will definately be your cup of tea
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2003
Revolution is the Tiesto compilation to buy if you're new to his sound or if you just want some great trancey tunes.Less mellow than his "In Search of Sunrise" series without going into overdrive,this is a solid selection of prime trance cuts.
We have CD 1-Darkside,and then the second,Brightside.These titles are a little misleading as the tracks on the first cd aren't all deep,dark and progressive and vice versa.There is an overlap of styles on both discs which is great,though,as it keeps things interesting.
Mixingwise the album is solid apart from a really bad mix out of Agnelli & Nelson's 'Vegas' where he mixes beats over the break-the best part of the track.This is very poorly done for a DJ of this calibre.
That apart,however,the other mixes are fluent and the strong tune selection makes up for any technical flaws.
Highlights for me included "People want to be needed","Golden Desert Part 2" and "Riva-Stringer".
This cd does exactly what it says on the tin and if you like uplifting progressive music,you'll definitely find it here.
Excellent stuff.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2001
I went to Gatecrasher earlier this year and heard Tiesto and Scott Bond back to back. Some of the tunes I had not heard before and noted them in my head at the time thinking they were awesome. I was very happy when many of them appeared on this compilation. 4 and 7 on Brightside are particularly good. I would also agree with another review that you certainly don't need to be in a club to enjoy this compilation; just crank it up loud in yer motor. Just goes to show there is life in trance beyond the mighty anthem that was Silence!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2001
This one is Tiesto's best to date. The first disc has a teasing, provocative mood throughout. Dark, but not as dark and dirty as say a Seb Fontaine "Prototype" mix. But a slight transition from Tiesto's usual style. The second cd is a shot of pure adrenaline. This one has so much soul, with fantastic tunes like Goldenscan's "Sunrise", Insigma's "Open Your Eyes", Tiesto's "Flight 643", and Planisphere's "Moonshine". Tiesto has set the standard in quality progressive music here. Every track is put there for a purpose and has ample time to progress and mature. Nothing like a Ministry of Sound compilation full of 2 minute progressions. Tiesto has "Opened My Eyes" once again. Don't pass this one up. The man just keeps getting better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
DJ Tiesto continues to prove why he is so highly rated on the club scene, once again he tops all others with this latest release. Obviousely the mixing is flawless, as are the choices of tracks. This just gets my vote over Progressive Euphoria by '00' Fleming as the best trance release this year. Standout tracks are hard to pick in such a good bunch, but the obvious ones like Wasteland, Cried To Dream, Sunset On Ibiza, and the Awesome Flesh by Jan Johnson will keep these to CD's revolving in your player for months to come. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK TIESTO.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2001
As anyone would I cued up darkside first. Initially I was disappointed. The first five tracks is really not that good, and it seems to set the standard for a disappointing double CD. I thought damn, I wasted my money- I expected better from Tiesto. Then it started to pick up with some nice deep tunes. The album progresses all the way from track 6 (darkside) to the end of brightside. Brightside is my favourite of the two CD's- it's takes on a journey through brilliant tracks with exellent mixing.Apart from the shady first 5 tracks on darkside, it is still brilliant compilation. The mixing is supurb. Tiesto is not in a hurry to let the outgoing somg fade. He creates a joyous inification when he brings the tracks in. Brilliant DJ-ing from Tiesto. As someone who lives in South Africa, when is he coming our way?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2007
While there are more seamless compilations in this magnificent person's catalogue (ISOS 1 and 2 can be joined at the hip and played together for a single dancy party), I believe these are the pinnacle of artistic expression in trance. This is Tiesto's "Symphony" if you will, in two profound movements. It has an extended climax, from "Sunrise at Palamos" which is perhaps the most wonderful trance anthem almost nobody has heard, to "Strange World," so wonderful each time I listen I scream to Tiesto "why couldn't you let this run on a bit longer" .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2001
A truly epic affair from the UK's favourite Dutch-man. Yet again he manages to cast a spell of never ending melody and pounding basslines that paint memories of many a great night out.
Mixing effortlessly current hits with forthcoming anthems from his record box!!!
If you like uplifting and progressive trance, you'll love this mix.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2001
Another mix-cd by DJ Tiesto, I'm from Holland and there he's also very very popular. About his cd, from trancy to banging progressive a really good cd from the MASTER. Watch out for some of these tracks: Planisphere - Moonshine, DJ Dazzle - From Within, Yahel - Voyage and his own Flight 643 !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2001
This mix CD has been lovingly put together by the number 1 DJ of the moment.Its uplifting, head blowing ups and ups typify his DJ style. This is the CD to play in your car on the way to this years summer festivals, a must buy for the trance heads out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)