Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
58
4.6 out of 5 stars
The Replacements [DVD] [2000]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£15.02+ £1.26 shipping


on 4 May 2017
Good movie and entertaining well acted and good script I don't like the game as it is very dangerous for players but movie is a good watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2017
Yes it's dated, yes it could be done better although as a lovely easy watch film this is great. The humor is light and memorable and it portrays that being humble and non aggressive holds so much more strength than being the opposite of that. Do yourself a favour and watch as there is so much to be taken from the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
feel good film. nothing special not terrible either
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2017
rare early Keanu comedy sports movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Brilliant, funny feel good film about second chances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2017
Fast and good quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
One of my favourite film of all time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2002
This is a typical American feelgood type film (apparently based on a real incident in the 1970s). It stars Keanu Reeves as a retired pro and Gene Hackman as a retired coach, both of whom are cajoled into action. Brooke Langton provides Keanu's love interest and Brits will recognise Rhys Ifans from "Notting Hill".
This film is good fun even if you've never seen American Football - you don't need to understand the rules to follow the plot. It appeals to all age groups (including my 80 year old father). The accompanying soundtrack is a mixture of 70s classics (Queen, Gary Glitter, Rolling Stones) and rap.
All-in-all, highly recommended.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2005
Have you ever wished that you had a second chance at becoming the sporting hero you always wanted to be!? Well these few men in the 'Replacements' had that chance. The film is about an american football team based in washington, and there top professional players going on strike because of there poor pay. Thats when old coach Jimmy McGinty (Gene Hackman)and flopped quarterback Shane Falco (Keanu Reeves) try and lead washington to the play-offs. This film is a great film with laughs,sport and a few good looking girls- a perfect blokes movie! This film may be a little unoriginal but does everything right. It has a good cast and doesn't concentrate wholely on American Football, as some other films do. A good alround film you could watch again and again!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2011
I cannot tell you how much you need to see this film!
I am a non-sport playing/watching female and I loved it, it should never have gone straight to video, its a classic,
It is hilarious in parts, cheerleading try-outs & locker room scenes are some of my many favourite parts of this film, the romance side of it is played out perfectly,the charactors are believable and real, you really find yourself rooting for them all.
You dont need to have even the slightest understanding of American Football just an appreciation for a fantastic film.
I was beside myself when it came out on DVD (I had it originally on VHS)and have recommended it and lent it out on a fair few occasions now and I have yet to hear anything less that "Brilliant, loved it" from anyone how has seen it!

Watch it, its worth it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)