Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
25
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 19 August 2007
Given the bewildering number of US tours TYA did, it's surprising that they had enough time to come up with so many good albums. Of the several I've heard (not all, admittedly) this one stands out. The production strikes the perfect balance between bringing out the quality of the individual performers and the energy of the whole. Alvin Lee was clearly on a creative high with his writing and all facets of the band's roots are explored here. Blues, jazz, rockabilly and hard rocking (not heavy metal) are all on show, all superbly done. There's even a fine, gentle, melodic song featuring acoustic guitar ('Circles'). A seven-minute version of their sole UK hit, 'Love Like A Man' is the centrepiece and Leo Lyons' bass playing is especially imaginative on this. The exhilarating workout, 'Working On The Road' is another highlight. I started my TYA collection with this album and I'd recommend anyone else to do the same.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2002
Cricklewood Green,offers the finest example of an explosive late sixties British blues band making the transision to middle seventies ephemeral rock,
just as frontman Alvin Lee was inspired by the likes of John Mayall,Eric Clapton etc. many artists for years to come,would take their cue from this timeless and pivitol collection.Containing blues,hard driving and space exploring guitar solos,through to melodic,
soulsearching acoustic work.It even boasts a Sfi-Fi number(listen carefully,you will hear some of the most wonderfully played acoustic solos you are ever ilkely to come across!),the first one of it's kind I do believe!
To any kind of listener who loves being awestruck
by the power and honesty of blues/rock take my words for it,this album does not dissapoint.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
This is just one of those albums that lasts. Yes, it is of it's period, but like good music doesn't become discarded as things move on. The magic of Alvin Lee is present in both his guitar work and his voice. In the background, you can sense that the creative powers are there. But contributions from all four of the band are worthy of mention. Listen for some telling bass guitar work on many tracks by Leo Lyons.

The amazing thing is the variety of the music, dipping into all the band's influences and beyond, including nods to the past, the (then) present and future. Ranging from the blues, which underpins much, through definitive late sixties riffs, to a gentle acoustic ballad full of feeling to even echoes of skiffle and to finish some psychedelic overtones. This might sound like a disparate jumble, but not a bit. It all sounds fresh and gels well together, to the point that as one track ends, you eagerly anticipate the coming sound of the next.

This, for me was Ten Years After at their best. There's quite a few other albums that are pretty darned good, but if you only have one of their albums, this is the one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Reckon this must be their defining album, I'm sure that if they hadn't have toured the US as much as they did they would have been a bigger band than they were. Alvin Lee is as good (was should say as he died a couple of years back) as Eric Clapton or any of the contemporaries of the time. Had the vinyl LP and wore that out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a great album from TYA. I keep listening to it again and again. For some reason the music still sounds fresh no matter how many times I hear it. Alvin Lee has a great voice and I feel is one of the unsung masters of the riff. 50,000 miles beneath my brain shows him off to the best, though all the songs will stand repeated listening.
If you like good sixties or seventies 'stomp' music then get this, put it on the CD player, turn the lava lamp on and just chill out with your favourite vice.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2015
From het first album on Ten Years After embraced all kinds of music and while touring all over the world, especially the U.S. and Europe (as is documented on :Live at the Fillmore West, which includes several tracks from Cricklewood Green and the later Recorded Live) they kept experimenting in the studio. After the brilliant Sssssh album they went back to record a new album and had an astonishing output. Not only Cricklewood Green but in the same year 1970 they released the album Watt. They delivered so many songs that some of them could not be placed on the restricted vinyl album with a maximum of 20 minutes per side. Sourly missed out are the also excellent Warm Sun and To No One, now available a bonus tracks (on the 2002 CD only). But besides that this album stands out as a real classic, with hard rock/blues cuts like Love Like A Man, Working On The Road, 50.000 Miles Beneath My Brain. Further the gentle acoustic Circles. Terrific! Now 45 years later is has easyly stand the time en stays a great listen. It was one of the biggest efforts of mrs. Alvin and Ric Lee on vocals/guitar and drums, Leo Lyons on bass and Chuck Churchill on keyboards.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
For Alvin, I just recently heard that you passed over and for all of us who have been with you since the Sixties, Thank you Just Thank you so much for all you gave us, You have touched us all with your unique style of playing, Your speed & your ability to take us on a Mystical,Magical,Musical Journey into the wondrous world of "Imagination."

Cricklewood Green which is an album on vinyl that I bought when it first came out and which I still have was just a Masterpiece of Music, However if you were to ask me which was your best, I could not say anything more than All of Them.

Where would we be without England? Some of the best Bands & Musicians came out of England, Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck, The Beatles, Gentle Giant, Super-Tramp, Pink Floyd, Rupert Hines, The Sixties were the most Musical,Magical,Mystical Times in the history of Mankind.

Thank you ALVIN LEE for being here in this Dark World of Money, Machines & Madness, Musicians like you Alvin are cracks of Light who come into our world from Eternity and Like Bob Marley...You light up the darkness.

The Sixties aren't over, Let some Alchemists start manufacturing Pharmaceutical quality LSD and it'll happen all over again.

Pinealdoorway
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
One of my favourites which I had almost forgotten as the years have gone by as the record collection gathers dust somewhere in the loft. Originally released in 1970 it was a classic of the time and I am delighted to have rediscovered it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
This was one of my prized albums in the 70's. when I found it on Amazon as MP3 It was a no brainer. fab Alvin Lee at his best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2011
this was birthday gift for my dad. he is enjoying this a lot. was great price too and quick delivery
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£5.50
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)