Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
44
4.6 out of 5 stars
This Is Where I Came in
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 December 2002
At long last, the Brothers Gibb have crafted an album that surpasses all their earlier efforts. The sound is more basic (less synthesizer) and more mature (simplifying all their talents). The range is varied, but always maintains an upbeat, rock filled tempo. "She Keeps On Coming" and "Voice In The Wilderness" are amazing surprises of excellent R & B rock. Is this the Bee Gees? Even the ballads are mainstream upbeat, such as, "Wedding Day", "Embrace" and the oddly named, "Loose Talk, Costs Lives". Although, the title track has been chosen as the first single (in the rest of the World), any track could make it, (save for "Technicolor Dreams", which is a pleasant, but odd novelty song). Maurice even tops himself with the Beach Boys styled "Man In The Middle" and "Walking On Air". There are lots of surprises here and there is absolutely no way to try and pick which songs will be chosen for air-play. They are all that good.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Bee Gees at their best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Nice combination of stunning tracks. A great listen. A great chapter in there careers as brothers, and of course as committed musicians in there own right. They ruled the world, and filled stadiums across the European and Natural world. There repertoire will forever live on for ever. Would recommend this record to any lifelong Bee Gees fan. Awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2001
What an incredible album! Most of the songs are up tempo, harmony packed and manage to lift your spirits up every time you hear them. My favourites are Walking on air, excellent soaring vocals for with an infectious chorus, Deja Vu, dancy immediatley catchy, and Embrace, a multi levelled dancy pop song with amazing interweaving harmonies. I loved Embrace in particular because though its catchy, the structure of the song is very unpredictable, and harmonies, choruses and bridges soar out of nowhere - especially at the halfway mark when the song really steps into a gear. A great album overall. Only 2 dud tracks: wedding day and loose talk. I think the bee gees lost their ballad-writing skills after For Whom the Bell Tolls. These two tracks are just plain dreary. I must stress though, they're not representative of the album in general. Overall its a great album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2001
Forget the hairy chests and the silly madallions. Forget the often embarrassingly high-pitched vocals of the Saturday Night Fever period. Forget the daft blow-dried hairstyles of their "kings of the disco" days.
The Bee Gees deserve our respect if only because they produced some of the most achingly beautiful pop music of the 1960s - First of May, Don't Forget To Remember, Gotta Get A Message To You, and many many more.
Their gorgeous melodies and sweeping harmonies continued to characterise their records well into the seventies and beyond.
That this latest offering - This Is Where I Came In - should be so very fine is something of a surprise to me only in so far as many a band of this vintage would have given up as a creative force a long time ago.
The title track along with songs like Wedding Day and The Extra Mile are simply 'classic Bee Gees'.
It is a much better album than we had a right to expect from these aging millionaires. They truly are wonderful songwriters. Decades after they first burst onto the scene, Robert Stigwood's answer to The Beatles continue to make their mark.
PS - For new Bee Gees fans, might I also recommend Life In A Tin Can from 1973?
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Along with some other Bee Gee Albums, this shows us that these chaps can do a lot more than disco.
There are songs on this with great passion and heartfelt love. Strong songs that many would not associate with this band, even though one must not forget their early releases were in the realms of sixties Phycodelic. Mature singing performance from all of the guy's, just makes one stay to listen to the next treat on the CD.
You can count on one hand how many bands made it through the sixties and we're going into the 21st century, with new sounds and keeping an audience with new people,and not just their fan base.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2001
TIWICI is fresh, rockin, back to their roots kind of music. The brothers are in fine form and harmonies. They just keep re-inventing themselves. They are probably the best songwriters to have ever lived bar none! I can't get enough of these guys - they keep surprising me - and I keep tapping my feet. It's a must have for all Bee Gee collectors and a must have for everyone else too!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2002
I purchased this CD when it came out last year. This is a great album if you enjoy hearing both the Bee Gees group efforts and those done individually. Quite interesting.
I dropped my original CD and ruined it, so I decided to purchase the UK version. I was delighted to hear the additional two cuts that were not on the American version. One of them, "Promise the Earth" was recorded in England by Robin, according to the CD insert. The cut seems very different than the combined efforts of the brothers and quite frankly, I enjoyed it emmensely although as a group they are unique as well.
I am a Bee Gees fan from back in the sixties and grew up listening to their music....like everyone else. Quite unlike many fans, I do enjoy the different transitions that they have gone through and look forward to hearing more. And, solo efforts as well. Thus, I truly like this album and play it often.
Incidently, I heard through the grapevine that Robin is going to be releasing a solo album soon. I think it will be successful, particularly in Britain. I'm looking forward to hearing it. He has a voice that, apart from being sexy, has sustained throughout the years because of it being so unique.
I wish you great success Robin.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2001
This cd is really different in style to normal but it is really wonderful! - Songs like Sacred trust, Wedding Day, and She keeps on coming - will surely be classics of the future! Man in the middle really will be appreciated by Maurice's fan's!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2001
As a long time fan of The Bee Gees, I looked forward to the new release with interest but, after their somewhat predictable albums of the last decade, some trepidation. However, I was pleasantly surprised. Although there is some wishy-washy balladry and some unwise attempts at a couple of rockier efforts, there are some very fine tracks on this new effort. Not least of these is the new single, the title track, a very bluesy affair. However, at least as enjoyable are "Technicolor Dreams", which, believe it or not, has a 1920s feel, the highly infectious "Sacred Trust",which must be the next single, the surprisingly impressive "Walking On Air", featuring Maurice on lead vocal, the soulful, elegant "Loose Talk Costs Lives" and the energetic closer, "Promise The Earth", with a more modern-sounding production.
What definitely comes across with this album is that the Gibbs have at least decided to take a few chances in their fifth decade at the top, a refreshing move.
Listen and enjoy. A return to form!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)