Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
71
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Paulie takes as its starting point the loyalty of parrots which are apparently very affectionate towards their owners. This one remembers his for decades, it seems ... the film has some sad moments but a lot of sparky comedy too, and the different episodes turn it into a kind of rites of passage movie for the parrot who gets involved in some pretty illegal goings-on, escaping from this into further exploitation - it's a bit like a feathered version of an 18th century novel. Jay Mohr deserves special credit for voicing the parrot so brilliantly, while also taking a role as a most unsavoury criminal. The film doesn't make it clear that it is the same person, as he obviously does a different more parrot-like voice. The idea that parrots can speak for real is not entirely fictitious - I recently read an article about a bird in America that could do just that, and put verbs into the past tense - and it was a teaching book, so presumably quite reliable in its sources. Gena Rowlands also lends a special feeling to the film and the moment when Paulie brings her comb to her - her sight is failing at this point - is a moment of grace it is wonderful to see in a children's film, as I'm sure many would respond to it, and that it would tap into their own sense of kindness. It really is one of a kind!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
Wonderful film whatever your age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Great cheesy movie especially if you are an animal communicator!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
Absolutely brilliant film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2003
A wonderful childrens adventure about Paulie the talking parrot.
I was laughing and crying at this sad tale with a happy ending.
My 10 year old loves it and so do I.
Paulie`s life is riddled with heart ache and let downs but like all good weepies he gets the girl in the end.
A beautifully made colourful, honest and homely tale for all the family to enjoy
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2002
A super feel good movie, ideal for Sunday afternoons or when you're feeling a bit down and in need of a lift. Paulie, a wise cracking parrot is seperated from his young owner. His motor mouth gets him into bags of trouble and he ends up in the basement of a research establishment, forgotten. That is until a new janitor finds him and Paulie tells his tail (tale). Needless to say a happy ending ensues - one great little film.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2005
Lovely DVD! One for the whole family to enjoy. I'm happy enough for my kids to watch the latest blockbuster action movie with its inevitable violence, but it's great to find gems like this that they can also enjoy - films which are just, well, nice!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2009
I know this is a children's film but, I love this heartfelt story about a parrot named Paulie.
Paulie tells the tale from the parrots point of view, telling the caretaker and you the viewer on why he is the way he is.
I loved every minute of this film. Jay Mohr is the voice of Paulie who plays his voice talents very well. Tony Shalhoub plays the caretaker who listens to Paulie's fantastic story.
The story really moved me and why shouldn't it? You get a talking parrot, a caretaker who listens to Paulie's story and fantastic supporting cast like Gena Rowlands, Jay Mohr and Tony Shalhoub.
I give this film 10/10 as you really should listen to what Paulie has to say.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2010
I'm almost embarrassed to say this:

This is one of my all time favourite movies.

I don't even have the excuse of having a child to watch it with! You'll enjoy this as much as the daughter you bought it for but be aware that your eyes may start leaking at some stage through this movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here