Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2017
I am new to Journey - only recently got Eclipse, and then Revelation, and loved them both to bits. What a voice Arnel has! I was unsure about going further back with Journey since they seemed to sound different before Arnel, and more dated. He gave them a sound like a new and brilliant band. I thought I'd give Arrival a go because I saw a very cheap copy. But after 3 listens it just isnt doing anything for me, I'm afraid. Maybe because I'm comparing to the aforementioned two albums that leap out at you with their melody and strength. While Steve Augeri has a decent voice, and the songs are ok, there's just nothing that makes me want to keep playing this, unlike the other 2 which I can't stop listening to. Nothing stands out, nothing is really memorable. (Whereas Resonate and Chain of Love, for instance, have lodged in my brain.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2001
As a lifelong Journey and Steve Perry fan I was genuinely surprised at the quality of this record. New singer Steve Augeri has been practising those Steve Perry impressions and delivers many memorable moments on this great album. Opener "Higher Place" is as good a song as you will ever hear from any band, a great hook, vocals to-die-for and some sublime guitar from the criminally underated Neal Schon. This guy can really play and on the next song "All the way" with it's classic Journey hooklines and lyrics Schon again plays a wonderful solo. "All the things" for me is the standout track on the album Schon's searing fretwork and Augeri's brilliant vocals make this a track to remember. Throughout the album though Jonathan Cain's influence is clear for all to hear, this man is a songwriting genius and his piano and keyboard skills are second-to-none. I really thought that this type of music was dead and gone with so many of today's bands writing far less melodic, (but nevertheless good!!) tunes. The album never really lets up with quality throughout. If you buy one album this year buy this one.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2004
Boy! this is a good cd, I hold my hands up and say "This is the best Journey cd" if you love melodic rock then get this cd its a masterpiece, I truly feel sorry for people who havent heard the song 'All The Way' and 'Higher Place' rocks like anything, they should be a hits everywhere, the music busness is in a truly sorry state if a cd of this quality can go un-noted, and the record company drop them, absolute madness. ceck out Augery's previous band 'Tall Stories' to.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2001
If you're reading this then you've no doubt read the number of 5-star reviews above. I've been a Journey fan ever since, at the age of 14 in 1987, I was seduced by the heart-rending chords of Open Arms, & then spent the next 3 weeks desperately trying to find out who sang it.
Arrival is overdue but does not disappoint. To be honest, I prefer Perry as a vocalist; he has a unique talent & whilst there are a few sound-a-likes, I think we've already heard the best. Augeri, however, is a quality replacement. Depending upon the song being sung, he has this ability to sound uncannily like Perry, or like himself. Either way, he sounds Journey.
His vocals perfectly complement the immaculate musicianship of Schon, Cain & co. The tracks are undeniably Journey & you'll no doubt recognise flavours from the past. There are sound-a-likes of Separate Ways, Who's Cryin' Now & others, but these are new songs in their own right & Journey fans will love them.
Despite being a great admirer of both Cain & Schon's solo stuff (if you ain't heard One & Only, Send Me An Angel or From Wings of Love, I suggest you catch a snippit of them from this site) I was concerned that the talents of these great musicians would no longer have a vocal form. Perry may be gone, but believe me, you won't miss him.
Augeri's the man. The Journey continues. 5-stars & no contest.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2001
When I saw Q magazine give this 1-star, I thought twice about getting it, particularly with Steve Perry's departure. Boy, am I pleased I thought twice and then took the plunge! This is quite clearly drive time/AOR rock music and, if that is your thing, it is a very good example of that genre.
This is a very consistent album for all of its 70 minutes. Whilst I can't say there is a standout track, there ain't no donkies either. It is full of strong melodies, whether the style is driving rock or power ballad. Steve Augeri's vocal style is less histrionic than Steve Perry's which makes the slow romantic stuff sound less cloying and slushy and, in general, there is a natural easy balance between voice and instruments. Neither one is fighting for supremacy.
It is really very good and I find it is fast becoming addictive. It stands comparison with Escape, Raised on Radio and Trial By Fire and I'm actually beginning to wonder whether it is better than any of them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2001
Having been a long term Journey fan I was sceptical of the new lead singer. After just one listen to the album this scepticism was blown to pieces.Fantastic songwriting emerges on the first track where Steve Augeri's excellent voice (reminiscint of Steve Perry but sublety different)hooks you straight away. 'Signs of Life' and my personal favourite 'Loved by You' show an excellent vocal range and compassion. 'All the Things' and 'To be Alive Again' show Neil Schon to still be an excellent guitarist and Jonathan Caine's keyboards interlace all the tracks. Pure heaven for any Journey fan !!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2002
Their first studio album in nearly five years, it's well worth the wait, with all the quality and musicianship that we have come to expect, and equal measure rockers & power ballads, all there in spades.
This is a superb follow up to the awesome (and highly recommended) "Trial by Fire".
And the great news for guitar players is that the contribution from Neal Schon is increased on this album compared to previous releases, with clear influences from his (well worth checking out) solo work coming through.
He's on fire as well. New singer Steve Augeri sounds uncannily like "Steve Perry" but even better, he doesn't have that ability to annoy you by "over acting".
Stand out tracks would have to be the rocker "Higher place" ,and the ballad "Loved by you". Journey have proven themselves the masters of catchy, powerful, emotional, high energy rock. The are songs hear tear rend the heart, soothe the soul and celebrate life itself. And the playing, at all times, is exceptional.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
With their new singer Journey have managed to move the group into fresh areas without losing the trademark sound that has set them apart from other bands. As with all great acts the core to their success lies in superb song writing , coupled to an amazing vein of talent and the ability to capture these elements in the studio. Just hope they decide to perform in the UK and have faith in their UK fanbase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2010
I was very dubious as to whether this would be any good, knowing that it is the first 'new' Journey album without Perry and in the new millenium. From first listen it is clear that the old Journey are dead, but that's not a bad thing as I was not wholly impressed with their last effort (a few tracks withstanding).

'Higher Place' is the perfect opener for the new Journey ensemble. As much of a classic as 'Don't Stop Believin' only in a very different way. Other excellent tracks are: 'Signs of Life', 'All the Things', 'World Gone Wild', 'I Got A Reason', 'Lifetime of Dreams', 'Live and Breath', 'Nothin' Comes Close', 'To be Alive Again' and 'We Will Meet Again'. They are all worthy of the highest praise and range between good old-fashioned power ballads and foot-tapping rockers that put a smile on your face.

There are the obligatory fillers of course, but even they are not as bad as the dross that filled the last half of 'Trial By Fire'. 'All the Way' I found a bit boring but it's a perfectly acceptable number. 'Livin to do' is good but goes on far too long. 'Loved By You', 'With Your Love' and 'Kiss Me Softly' are ordinary ballads that just are not as good as the rest of the material on here.

But, overall, a standard effort. Far better than Generations and Revelations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2001
How many bands, that reached the peak of their success during the '80s, have been able to continuously defy time by repeatedly capturing the magic in their souls and producing the songs that grab a hold of the listener and won't let go? The Journeymen are the masters of catchy, powerful, musical compositions and the emotionally touching lyrics that head straight for our hearts. "Arrival" is solid proof that each band member has stopped the hands of time and continues to be the best at what he does best. This CD is overflowing with high energy, an exotic appeal, profound lyrics and musical seduction. There are songs that tear the heart into shreds, ones that warm and soothe the soul, and others that scream out with an appreciation for life. Steve Augeri's vocal ability to caress the ballads with his soft and sensitive touch, and also make a strong statement as he handles the rockers with complete confidence and ease, have renewed the fans unyielding admiration and respect for this timeless, legendary band. In my opinion, "Arrival" is truly a gift that captures the magic in these outstanding men's hearts of gold and the immense pride they feel as members of Journey. I thank God for shining his incessant, creative light on each one of their gracious souls.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)