Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
37
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2017
Two later albums made after the release of the iconic 'Pet Sounds', when Brian Wilson was on the verge of madness or a complete breakdown because of all the hours spent in the recording studio seeking perfection (and rather a lot of 'pill popping' I would imagine). Other members of the Beach Boys themselves were also possessed with their own thoughts, prone to arguments and falling out, but out came this little lot -- perhaps over produced in places, but none the less still the work of a genius. Loved to hear 'You're Welcome' (once a 'B' side) again in the Bonus tracks -- how to make an anthem out of just a two word lyric! Altogether a nice album (or two) to have, especially as 'Wild Honey' very nearly didn't get released at all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
top music from a top group 1st clas seller you can't go wrong also fast delivery what are you waiting for ?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
I have always enjoyed the music of the Beach Boys and do have a lot of their music. I even have Brian Wilson's Smile, so though I didn't know this one I decided to buy it and its fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
REALLY GREAT VALUE SWIFT DELIVERY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
Ordered Saturday delivered Sunday - brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2001
I think it's a shame that Smiley's Smile is on the cover of this CD...Wild Honey is the better of the two albums. It's first rate pop...very soul influenced. Some great,catchy,up-beat songs...and some stinkers...but the good stuff is very,very good. By no means as clever and as creative as Pet Sounds...but I don't care I love it.
22 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
xlnt
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2000
What happened after 'Pet Sounds'? Certainly Brian was under tremendous pressure from all sides, internal factors within the band and record company pressure in the wake of 'disappointing' sales of 'Pet Sounds'. This pressure helped create 'Good Vibrations', then and even now a landmark release and the bands first ever million selling single. Expectation was therefore sky high for 'Smile', the album which was to have contained such songs as 'Surfs Up', the legendary 'Elements Suite', 'Wonderful' and a seven minute 'Heroes And Villains'. For reasons too complex to mention here it was never released. What we have instead is 'Smiley Smile', not exactly the same thing. It's a pleasing record listened to some 30 odd years on, though at the time it very nearly finished the groups career. It was quickly followed by 'Wild Honey', a bizarre move into soul and rhythm and blues music. Some great songs, a couple of stinkers too - though it's an enjoyable little record, unique and brave.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The reaction you will have to these albums will depend on the type of Beach Boys music you prefer. Smiley Smile, the last-minute substitute for Smile (many say Smile would have been the greatest album ever) is....interesting. Songs like "She's Goin' Bald" and "Little Pad" demonstrate what happens to the human mind when drugs are introduced to it. "Good Vibrations" and "Heroes and Villains" demonstrate what happens when a musical genius is introduced to a recording studio and allowed complete artistic freedom.
Wild Honey is a great, although quite short album. It appears that Brian Wilson gave up trying to produce great songs, and instead the group made decent songs. The difference is clear if you compare Wild Honey with Pet Sounds. On Pet Sounds, Wilson used a lot of studio musicians to capture the sounds he heard in his head. On the other hand, on Wild Honey, it appears the band just tried to do the best they could - on their own. The results are good, but not excellent.
I recommend this album because it symbolizes the musical fork in the road that the Beach Boys faced in the late '60's. Did they choose the right path? I don't know.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.70

Need customer service? Click here