Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
20
4.4 out of 5 stars
Ten Great Songs And An Ok Voice
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 August 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2005
The idea of creating an album of cover versions but making them different from their more well known interpretations so you have what seems to be an album of original material has now been undertaken by more than one other artists, both Alison Moyet and The Beautiful South spring to mind, but Jimmy Nail's attempt is as good as any and is well worth a discovery trip.
Certainly Jimmy makes a great effort to cover many and varied styles within the ten songs and manages a pretty good job. In fact this for me is the only real problem with the album as sometimes it has a slightly contrived feel, as if they all sat down around a table with a list of song styles and tried to cover as many as possible.
Highlights of the album include a lovely Country and Western version of "Overjoyed", the Lindisfarne classic "Clear White Light" (probably the song most like its original), the big band sound of "Walking on the Moon" and the upbeat rock of "Once in a Lifetime"
Songs that don't quite do it for me are the acappella of "Love me like a Rock" and the almost gothic spooky classic version of "House of the Rising Sun" - as I say these just didn't ring me bell but at the very least these are brave versions.
Standout track is the brass band of "Something" which is just sweet.
If you like Jimmy Nail then this unique album will go down very nicely, personally I prefer his other original studio albums, but I can well understand the attraction of this offering.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
This was the last of Jimmy's albums which was released on a small independent label, hence the lack of commercial success.

It is a very good set of recordings and fresh interpretations of old classics in Jimmy's distinctive style - that Geordie voice is unmistakeable.

Easy listening, unchallenging and extremely pleasant - give it a go if you likes his other albums.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
This was the last of Jimmy's albums which was released on a small independent label, hence the lack of commercial success.

It is a very good set of recordings and fresh interpretations of old classics in Jimmy's distinctive style - that Geordie voice is unmistakeable.

Easy listening, unchallenging and extremely pleasant - give it a go if you likes his other albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
I bought this 13 years after it came out on a bit of a whim. I have all of Jimmy Nail's other albums and realised that he had released an album that I had never heard of at the time of release.

Jimmy Nail does covers well - think "Love don't live here anymore" - and he has a great voice (despite the Album title). I've played it a few times now and it has grown on me.

I feel that that it would have been a better album if he had chosen somewhat less well known songs to cover. When you have heard a big hit many times it becomes the definitive version and there are so many very well known songs on here that he covered and it is hard to get the original out of your head sometimes.

If you like Jimmy Nail's voice you should buy this album.

Finally, if Jimmy ever reads this review - please find the time to record and release something new. Here is one fan at least who will buy it - if I get to know that it has actually been released of course.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2009
just what it says on the cover, except the voice is much better than OK. Great to hear Jimmy singing songs he admires and adapting them to his particular voice. Clear White Light is one of my all-time favourites, and Jimmy just does it perfectly
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
i have got the nail file which is basically the best of the crocodile shoes albums
having watched a couple of episodes of that again recently
I thought I'd see if there were any more vocal pleasures
this is not going to set the world alight, it was not intended to
I like the songs so I'm pleased to add it to my varied collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2016
Jimmy Nail has indeed got an OK voice. This album isn't hard going and it does showcase Jimmy's own particular sound. I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2001
Loved the different styles, the brass band rendition of 'Something' , the haunting sound of 'The Last Time',to the sheer longing of 'Overjoyed'. Mr Nails vocal versitality is shown in every track, an album to cover all moods.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
Really enjoyed all the tracks and I really like Jimmy Nail's voice so - Ten great songs and a great voice!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)