Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 5 December 2011
I got this CD to help complete my collection of soul music from Kent Records. I knew the few legendary tracks by the artist and had the first 'The Greatest' release by him on Kent. However this CD instantly blew me away, it is absolutely brilliant soul music moving from uptempo soulful stompers to heart rending ballads. Indeed although this period of the artist's work is almost entirely ignored it far surpasses most of the original early 1960s music he is known for. He was having lots of personal problems during these sporadic recordings but such is the quality and cohesion of production that the listener would never know.

As we know CDs from Kent speak for themselves to soul fans anyway, but I just wanted to say not to overlook this one. There are no big hits or dancefloor favourites here, but the performances, the instrumentation, songs and production are perfect. It's an easy CD to ignore so all the more surprising when heard. A CD that will be treasured and listened to long after tonight is all over.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2016

“The Monument Years” by Arthur Alexander, released by Ace Records in 2001, is a single CD with 28 songs while he was with Monument and Sound Stage labels. I have compiled a detailed song listing (including label & number, date of release):

01 (BABY) FOR YOU (Sound Stage 7 45-2556)(uncharted a-side, January 1966)*stereo
02 THE OTHER WOMAN (IN MY LIFE)(Sound Stage 7 45-2556)(b-side, January 1966)*stereo
03 STAY BY ME*stereo; previously unreleased
04 ME AND MINE*stereo; previously unreleased
05 SHOW ME THE ROAD (Sound Stage 7 45-2572)(uncharted a-side, October 1966)*stereo
06 TURN AROUND (AND TRY ME)(Sound Stage 7 45-2572)(b-side, October 1966)*stereo
07 BABY THIS, BABY THAT*stereo; previously unreleased
08 BABY I LOVE YOU*stereo; previously unreleased
09 IN MY SORROW*stereo; previously unreleased
10 I WANT TO MARRY YOU*stereo; previously unreleased
11 IN MY BABY’S EYES*stereo; previously unreleased
12 LOVE’S WHERE LIFE BEGINS (Sound Stage 7 SS7-2619)(b-side, October 1968)*stereo
13 MILES AND MILES FROM NOWHERE*stereo; previously unreleased
14 YOU DON’T LOVE ME (YOU DON’T CARE)*stereo; previously unreleased
15 I NEED YOU BABY (Monument 45-1060)(uncharted a-side, March 1968)*stereo
16 WE’RE GONNA HATE OURSELVES (IN THE MORNING)*stereo; previously unreleased
17 SPANISH HARLEM (Monument 45-1060)(b-side, March 1960)*mono
18 CONCRETE JUNGLE*stereo; previously unreleased
19 TAKING CARE OF A WOMAN*stereo; previously unreleased
20 SET ME FREE (Sound Stage 7 SS7-2619)(uncharted a-side, October 1968)*stereo
21 BYE BYE LOVE (Sound Stage 7 SS7-2626)(uncharted a-side, February 1969)*stereo
22 ANOTHER PLACE, ANOTHER TIME (Sound Stage 7 SS7-2626)(b-side, February 1969)*stereo
23 CRY LIKE A BABY (Sound Stage 7 SS7-2652)(uncharted a-side, January 1970)*mono
24 GLORY ROAD (Sound Stage 7 SS7-2652)(b-side, January 1970)*mono
25 CALL ME HONEY*stereo; previously unreleased
26 THE MIGRANT*stereo; previously unreleased
27 LOVER PLEASE*stereo; previously unreleased
28 IN THE MIDDLE OF IT ALL*stereo; previously unreleased


1 This is a fantastic set covering his era on Sound Stage and Monument (1966 – 1970), following his charting era on Dot. All the singles As & Bs are included, together with many previously unreleased rare gems. As noted above, many of the songs are in stereo.
2 The sound is very well remastered.
3 There is a 12-page booklet, with an informative essay by Richard Younger. A deailed discography was included. There are also pictures of his 45 rpm singles labels. Good job!
4 28 songs. Good value!


1 The songs are not sequenced chronologically.


Arthur Alexander was born on May 10, 1940 in Florence, Alabama. Besides having a great charting career, he was the only rock artist to have his compositions recorded by the Beatles, the Rolling Stones and Bob Dylan. His labels are (1) Judd (1960), (2) Dot (1961 – 1965), (3) Sound Stage 7 (1966 – 1970), (4) Monument (1968), (5) Warner (1972 – 1973), (6) Buddah (1975 – 1978). He died of a heart attack on June 9, 1993 (age 53).

If you are looking for his greatest hits with his charted singles, I would recommend “Lay Down Your Arms” (Jasmine, 1CD, 2016, 27 songs). This current set brings to light an important period of his career, unheard for decades. During this difficult time, he kept searching for expression and salvation. The many treasures found in these long-lost recordings prove that his struggles were not in vain. This set is recommended to all Arthur Alexander’s fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I purchased this cd six years ago, having seen there is only one other review for such a great compilation I felt compelled to put that right. These are the 'Monument/sound stage 7' recordings from 1965-72. If you have 'Ace' records other Arthur Alexander compilation 'The greatest' you will enjoy this cd very much. It's not cram packed full of top class material like 'The Greatest' cd (which rarely goes below 10/10), sure there are more than a handful of fantastic tracks. Many tracks are simply good, they will grow on you slowly and become old friends. One thing is for certain these tracks are sung with heartbreaking pain by the GREATEST southern soul singer ever. Overall there are 28 tracks, 16 of them are previously unissued. Great stuff, ENJOY.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2009
Great soul music from a voice i had not heard back in the sixty's get this you will enjoy.The Monument Years
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)