Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

You may not have heard the voice, but you will certainly have heard some Eric Bogle songs, without even being aware of who the man is. "And the Band Played Waltzing Matilda" ans "No Man's Land" are 2 of the greatest anti-war songs ever written, and have been covered countless times. To hear Eric singing them for himself, with real feeling and sorrow, is a pleasure. The haunting "Glasgow Lullaby" leaves you speechless. However, Eric's tremendous humour is also found in "He's Nobody's Moggy Now" (sorry cat lovers) and "Silly Slang Song". Even if you do not normally think about folk music, add this to your collection. A truly memorable album.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
There are some brillian Eric Bogle classics on this album but every now and again there are tracks which feel like they were added to fill up the disk such as Santa Bloody Claus and Big in a Small Way.

Still well worth the money!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
For many years I have admired the work of Eric Bogle but never owned any of his CD's. This one, ordered and delivered perfectly from Amazon, is a real treat, the best ever collection, wonderful songs and singing and all the favourites on one CD. Brilliant performance and such telling songs that all the folk world know. Shame the rest of the world are still in the dark. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2011
Great album! Recommend it to all. Wish there were more singers of Eric's calibre. What a wordsmith! He simply paints pictures with his lyrics.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
I love this CD so much! It has all the greats from Eric Bogle in one neat little CD - I'd definitely recommend if you don't know what album of his to buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
Some amazing tracks on this CD serving to remind me what a superb songwriter and performer Eric Bogle is.Just one track seems
out of place in this collection but his classic songs still bring a lump or two to the throat. If you don't know of him and/or wish for some WW1 reflection in song then this is a great introduction. Some of the scenes pictured in song are really haunting and testify to Bogle's poetic brilliance and imagination.
..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
a superb collection by my favourite Adelaide musician. The range of his talent is so good. Much brings tears to my eyes A good introduction if you only know his work through others covers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
We have a couple of old Eric Bogle albums and thought that we would update with this one but we don't enjoy this as much. Eric has rerecorded the tracks and we don't think that they have been improved.Also there are one or two tracks that we don't really fit in with the rest of the album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
This man is sexy, his voice is sexy, his humour is sexy and he looks sexy....what more do I have to add?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
Very good , band played waltzing Matilda is great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.84

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)